PDA

View Full Version : WD hard drives performance problem?


ElderDruid
07-20-03, 08:15 AM
I have 3 hard drives in my A7N8X-based machine. The first is a 120GB WD 8MB drive by itself on the first IDE controller. The second is an 80GB WD 8MB drive as the master on the second controller. The third is a lowly 30GB Quantum slave drive on IDE2. The problem I'm seeing is that Sandra is only reporting benchmarks for my two WD drives of around 20,000. I believe I should be getting around 50% higher than that. What could the problem be?

Thanks!

Riptide
07-20-03, 08:41 AM
I wouldn't worry to much about sandra... Try ATTO instead. Sandra has a reputation for being a little inconsistent sometimes. I think ATTO is a better throughput benchmark anyway (just MHO).

ElderDruid
07-20-03, 09:47 AM
Thanks!

I've attached a pic of the results from my 120GB 8MB drive. Do these look normal to you?

ElderDruid
07-27-03, 11:19 AM
For those of you who have WD Special Edition drives, can you please post your Sandra and/or HDTach scores so that I can compare them to mine. I still think that something is misconfigured in my machine and not allowing me to take full advantage of my WD drives. Thanks!

Dazz
07-27-03, 11:27 AM
Where can i get this program from?

Dazz
07-27-03, 11:29 AM
Originally posted by ElderDruid
For those of you who have WD Special Edition drives, can you please post your Sandra and/or HDTach scores so that I can compare them to mine. I still think that something is misconfigured in my machine and not allowing me to take full advantage of my WD drives. Thanks! The lack of nVIDIA IDE drivers lol there some beta's about and they show a noticeble gain in IDE performance :)

ElderDruid
07-27-03, 11:54 AM
Originally posted by Dazz
The lack of nVIDIA IDE drivers lol there some beta's about and they show a noticeble gain in IDE performance :)

You may have a point there. I never installed the nVidia IDE drivers because I've heard they suck.

Sandra is here (http://download.guru3d.com/pafiledb.php?action=license&id=5&file=177).

HDTach is here (http://www.tcdlabs.com/htach261.exe).

Dazz
07-27-03, 03:04 PM
But try these ones, they are working perfect for me :)
3.44 driver http://www.motherboardfaqs.com/
Sweeet HDTach is 100% useless to me as you have register in order for it to run on a NT platform lol what a jip :D

I get just over 28,100KB. So my score is a little low and yours is pretty low. From what i heard installing the new IDE drivers gives about 4000KB/sec extra. From what i can tell the drivers don't instll the IDE for you, you have to do it yourself.