PDA

View Full Version : Asus Xonar DX

Pages : [1] 2

CaptNKILL
06-10-10, 11:28 PM
I just picked one of these up for a very nice price from Dell. I got it for $63 shipped after a coupon and if the mail in rebate works I should get this card for $43 when all is said and done.

For that price I was willing to finally take the chance and swap out my X-Fi Xtrememusic which I've been using for about 4 1/2 years. I was satisfied with my X-Fi but installing or updating drivers tended to be like playing Russian Roulette. On top of that, they don't make all of the driver components available for download with updates so doing a clean install requires fiddling with a few hundred MB of bloatware downloaded from various questionable sources. I'd also had some random bugs such as screwed up digital output at random (I had to pay $5 to get the live encoding too) and strangeness with EQ settings. Aside from this, I had very few complaints about the card. The analog sound quality was good, especially with a touch of Crystalizer effects turned on. When games used EAX HD the effects were pretty impressive. But the card itself covers up at least half of my GTX 470's fan because of the placement of my PCI slots, so I really wanted to move to a PCI-E sound card. ;)

So, I bought the card and it arrived in about 36 hours because it shipped from within my state. I was very impressed. ;) I downloaded the latest driver and was amazed to find that it was only 11Mb in a .rar file and 27Mb expanded. I uninstalled all of Creative's software and put the card in my PC. Luckily, my wiring did allow the the Xonar's floppy power connector to be plugged in without having to reroute any power cables. I booted up the PC, installed the driver, rebooted and everything was already working.