PDA

View Full Version : Not sure what Nforce 2 based motherboard to get next


b5fan
07-22-03, 08:55 AM
hi,
Not sure what based Nforce 2 board to get next.

whats puzzling me is the Nforce 2 onboard audio chip as theres 2 versions of the nforce 2 southbridge called MCP and MCP-T.

I know the MCP-T is the Soundstorm version with the Dolby digital built in decoder.

The MCP hasnt got it built in so does this still have the Nforce Audio ACP built in still and only uses the Realtec ALC650 for decoding the sound from the MCP chip to speakers or is that the Sound chip for the board ?

thats whats puzzling me

can someone clear this up for me as theres about £30 difference between the boards im looking at.
Im not bothered about Serial ATA and firewire at moment as theres nothing i use that uses these and by time i do i new a new motherboard as i be getting a Athlon XP 64bit processor next year.

Thank you for any info as it will help

SavagePaladin
07-23-03, 05:12 AM
In an MCP solution, you only get software audio (as in that Realtek chip)

The Baron
07-23-03, 08:38 AM
what boards are you looking at?

NF7-S 2.0 = the win.

|JuiceZ|
07-23-03, 11:10 AM
NF7s 2.0 nuff said.

The Baron
07-23-03, 11:16 AM
Originally posted by |JuiceZ|
NF7s 2.0 nuff said.
tru dat!™

|JuiceZ|
07-23-03, 12:16 PM
Originally posted by The Baron
tru dat!™

Hey thats copyright infringement!! :p

SavagePaladin
07-23-03, 12:57 PM
I like the DFI board meself :)

ricercar
07-23-03, 03:37 PM
The MCP hasnt got it built in so does this still have the Nforce Audio ACP built in still and only uses the Realtec ALC650 for decoding the sound from the MCP chip to speakers or is that the Sound chip for the board ?[/B]
All nForce southbridges--"all" meaning exactly all: MCP, MCPD, MCP2, and MCP2T--all require external hardware support (a codec such as the RealTec 650. Chaintech uses a different codec.) All nForce MCPs include AC97 and APU.

Only nForce1 MCPD and nForce2 MCP2T include a Dolby Digital Encoder.

The nForce2 MCP2T includes an NVIDIA MAC as well as the MAC licensed from 3COM. All MACs require external hardware support (a PHY).

The nForce2 MCP2T includes FireWire, which requires external hardware support (a PHY).

Only nForce2 MCP2T boards are eligable for NVIDIA Soundstorm™ certification. With nForce1 "Soundstorm" used to be a buzzword but now with nForce2 the word includes certification from Dolby labs. Only three boards have this certiifcation:
- MSI K7N2G-ILSR
- Shuttle SN41G2 *
- ABIT NF7-S
It has been said that the ASUS A7N8X Deluxe has all the required Soundstorm hardware, but has not completed the red tape to get official certification. The ASUS A7N8X Deluxe documentation and boxes were printed before NVIDIA required certification to use the word.

stncttr908
07-23-03, 09:28 PM
Check the sig, you'll see the answer. Runs damn cool too, I recommend a Vantec Aeroflow highly.

PenguinJim
07-23-03, 10:56 PM
Originally posted by The Baron
tru dat!™

Hey! I ™ed the use of alt-0153! :P

prodikal
07-23-03, 11:17 PM
NF7-S is schweet but i have an A7N8X deluxe rev2 and it does 200fsb as soon as i hooked it up with my barton ;)

The Baron
07-23-03, 11:18 PM
Originally posted by prodikal
NF7-S is schweet but i have an A7N8X deluxe rev2 and it does 200fsb as soon as i hooked it up with my barton ;)
Can't use an SLK900U with an A7N8X.

prodikal
07-26-03, 08:06 PM
I think you can use the 900A. Also you CAN use the 900U on the A7N9X Deluxe 2.0 but you need to bend the capacitors jsut a lil.