PDA

View Full Version : Nvidia Quadro 258.49 WHQL


mailman2
06-17-10, 09:44 AM
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=323756

WeReWoLf
06-18-10, 12:46 AM
Using these drivers now. No stuttering whatsoever using GTX280's in SLI. Even when using them in Fallout 3 looking at the ground then at the sky. Performance is the same as the 257.21's.

nekrosoft13
06-18-10, 08:42 AM
so far i'm liking this driver, just a note this driver doesn't include physx, so if you uninstall it before installing new driver set, make sure you install it after

mailman2
06-18-10, 10:51 AM
Did anyone get this to work with GTX 480? When I tried to install it with the modified .inf the screen went nuts and the machine hung. When I rebooted it gave me multiple NV file errors. I just rolled back to 275.21. On Guru3d I noticed other people couldnt get them to install with a GTX 480 either.

I've read they are smoother, faster, have better IQ so I'd really like to get them installed.

nekrosoft13
06-18-10, 10:58 AM
480+modded inf+win7_64bit no issues

Skinner
06-18-10, 11:22 AM
Hmm, the metioned better IQ is probably a placebo effect. SS's to compare please :)

WeReWoLf
06-18-10, 11:24 AM
Played all of my installed games, no stuttering, IQ is great. Getting a bit better performance than the 257.21's. No problems with Hardware Polling. SLI downclocking working properly as well, wasn't for the 257.21's. One of the best drivers I've installed.

mailman2
06-18-10, 01:47 PM
480+modded inf+win7_64bit no issues

Which modded inf, the one from guru3d thread? Wonder if its an issue with 120hz and these drivers then. Using Win7 64 here and used the modded inf from the thread.

Also, has anyone tried BF BC2 with these? This guy says they are worse - http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=3614048&postcount=98

mailman2
06-18-10, 02:09 PM
just tried again with another .inf same thing. Screen goes all pink and psychedelic then freezes. They wont install for me on Win7 x64.

I'll try changing to 60hz on the desktop then doing it again. EDIT: Nope, same thing. Oh well these just dont work for me.

A few other people have the exact same problem with GTX 480 / Win7 x64:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=3612926&postcount=27
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=3613080&postcount=48

JohnDio
06-18-10, 06:42 PM
Some benchies:

Intel QuadCore 6600 (3.02Ghz), GTX295 (690/1150) , ForceWare 257.15, Windows 7

3D Mark Vantage: Performance Test = P21144
The Last Remnant: 2048x1536 + 16xAF = 102.32
SF4: 2048x1536 + Max Settings + 16xCQAA = 87.73
Cryostasis TechDemo: 1920x1440 + High settings = Minimum 23.6fps / Average 47.0fps
Unigine Benchmark version2: 1600x1200 + 4xFSAA + 16xAF = 72.1fps
Resident Evil 5: 1600x1200 + 8XFSAA + Max Details + High HDR = 74.3fps
PT Boats Knights Of The Sea: 1600x1200 + Max Details + 8xFSAA = 50.1/26.5
STALKER Call Of Pripyat: 1920x1440 + Ultra preset + Enhanced full dynamic lighting (DX10) = 61.7/61.1/63.3/27.9

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Intel QuadCore 6600 (3.02Ghz), GTX295 (690/1150) , ForceWare 258.49 Quadro with modded .INF, Windows 7

3D Mark Vantage: Performance Test = P21475
The Last Remnant: 2048x1536 + 16xAF = 106.32
SF4: 2048x1536 + Max Settings + 16xCQAA = 88.15
Cryostasis TechDemo: 1920x1440 + High settings = Minimum 25.0fps / Average 47.8fps
Unigine Benchmark version2: 1600x1200 + 4xFSAA + 16xAF = 72.1fps
Resident Evil 5: 1600x1200 + 8XFSAA + Max Details + High HDR = 76.6fps
PT Boats Knights Of The Sea: 1600x1200 + Max Details + 8xFSAA = 50.4/28.2
STALKER Call Of Pripyat: 1920x1440 + Ultra preset + Enhanced full dynamic lighting (DX10) = 65.6/62.9/65.3/28.4

ragingWS6
06-18-10, 09:15 PM
Installed these on my 260 SLI box. Started up BC2. GPU usage went up from 50% for each card in SLI to a consistant 60% for each card. I had a minimum of 55FPS and was maxing out around 80FPS. Best drivers I've run BC2 with so far. I'll try MW2 later tonight and see how that plays.

mailman2
06-19-10, 01:17 AM
Got them to install, had to re-run the install and second time it went through. It installed the driver files the first time, just not the CP files. Dunno, but its working now

AngelGraves13
06-19-10, 05:33 PM
I'll wait for the new Geforce release, as they probably don't work with the previous 3D Vision driver.

mailman2
06-19-10, 06:24 PM
yea I went back to WHQL too. These were too tough to install... something is probably not working right anyways.

wheeljack12
06-19-10, 06:46 PM
I'll wait for the new Geforce release, as they probably don't work with the previous 3D Vision driver.

I have mixed and matched geforce and 3d vision drivers and for the most part, everything is fine. There was only one time when I tried a ION only driver set and 3d vision testing during install was backwards. That was the only time though. All that happens is the 3d vision driver warns you about different versions between geforce and 3d vision drivers when you install. When this happens all you do is overwrite the geforce 3d drivers when prompted with the actual 3d vision drivers. But I understand your hassle with so. More manual labour than necessary.

nekrosoft13
06-19-10, 09:05 PM
I'll wait for the new Geforce release, as they probably don't work with the previous 3D Vision driver.

these include 3dvision driver in the package.

and so far i had zero issues with this driver, for me at least these are perfect

WeReWoLf
06-19-10, 09:54 PM
I'm with you on that one Nekro.

wheeljack12
06-19-10, 11:35 PM
these include 3dvision driver in the package.

and so far i had zero issues with this driver, for me at least these are perfect

I do like the drivers too. But the 3d vision driver is for I think using the 3d vision discover glasses (the old red and blue style ones). Because it does not install the usb driver for the reciever. That's why it's mix and match when you go above the recommended geforce driver for 3d vision.

AngelGraves13
06-20-10, 01:15 AM
these include 3dvision driver in the package.

and so far i had zero issues with this driver, for me at least these are perfect

Every new Geforce driver contains 3D Vision Discover, but they do not install the 3D Vision drivers for the NVIDIA 3D Vision receiver that work with the glasses.

XxDeadlyxX
06-20-10, 08:18 PM
After reading some of the comments on Guru3D I Think I'll stick with 257.21.....

Lfctony
06-20-10, 11:46 PM
These gave me what I can only characterize as a "brightness" bug in Crysis. So I'm back to the 257.21s...

grey_1
06-21-10, 01:23 PM
Anyone else playing Metro 2033 with these notice a huge drop in quality of the AA regardless of how it's implemented?

All the performance hit is there, as in going from AAA to MSAA4x, but it doesn't look any better.

Using the nvcp to enhance it doesn't seem to do anything at all.