PDA

View Full Version : First BSOD


Pages : [1] 2 3

Albo
06-27-10, 03:21 PM
After having Windows 7 on this PC for more than 6 months, I have my first BSOD. I don't know where to start. This is the first time I have ever had a BSOD. It occured twice, and both times I was playing Counter Strike: Source. In the middle of the game, the screen goes blue and text appears, and my PC restarts.
The first time it happened, yesterday, when it started up, Kaspersky told me the databases are corrupted, and it updated and that fixed it.
Then today when it BSOD' again, it didn't do anything, just restarted, then Windows 7 told me Windows recovered from an unexpected shutdown.
I really have no idea where to start. I scanned with Malwarebytes, and that found nothing. I have no idea how this could occur. I haven't been torrenting in almost 2 months. No downloads since then as well. No bad sites. I've tried to keep my PC clean for a while.

So where do I start so that this doesn't happen again?

Also, I have no idea if this is related, but when I play TF2, or CSS, the game crashes sometimes and all it tells me is hl2.exe has stopped responding.

ViN86
06-27-10, 04:23 PM
After having Windows 7 on this PC for more than 6 months, I have my first BSOD. I don't know where to start. This is the first time I have ever had a BSOD. It occured twice, and both times I was playing Counter Strike: Source. In the middle of the game, the screen goes blue and text appears, and my PC restarts.
The first time it happened, yesterday, when it started up, Kaspersky told me the databases are corrupted, and it updated and that fixed it.
Then today when it BSOD' again, it didn't do anything, just restarted, then Windows 7 told me Windows recovered from an unexpected shutdown.
I really have no idea where to start. I scanned with Malwarebytes, and that found nothing. I have no idea how this could occur. I haven't been torrenting in almost 2 months. No downloads since then as well. No bad sites. I've tried to keep my PC clean for a while.

So where do I start so that this doesn't happen again?

Also, I have no idea if this is related, but when I play TF2, or CSS, the game crashes sometimes and all it tells me is hl2.exe has stopped responding.

Ahh to be young and never have used Windows ME.

Check your Event Viewer in Administrative Tools in your Control Panel. See what the error says. Also test your memory with Memtest86. Make sure all your hardware is properly seated (make sure your video card is pushed in all the way and didn't come loose, etc.).

Post the error from the Event Viewer here. It should be in the System or Applications menu and will have a red flag next to it. Have you changed drivers recently?

nekrosoft13
06-27-10, 04:37 PM
win95 was even more fun ;)

ViN86
06-27-10, 04:52 PM
win95 was even more fun ;)

LOL yea, when they didn't have any error handling at all and any error just defaulted to BSOD. Good times :lol:

Albo
06-27-10, 05:00 PM
Ok, so I'm in event viewer, and it is saying there have been 2 the past week. And there have, and it corresponds to the time when the BSOD's occured. Here is what they say, I'm not sure if this is what you mean.

- System

- Provider

[ Name] Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
[ Guid] {331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}

EventID 41

Version 2

Level 1

Task 63

Opcode 0

Keywords 0x8000000000000002

- TimeCreated

[ SystemTime] 2010-06-27T19:04:38.796018000Z

EventRecordID 65777

Correlation

- Execution

[ ProcessID] 4
[ ThreadID] 8

Channel System

Computer OG-PC

- Security

[ UserID] S-1-5-18


- EventData

BugcheckCode 10
BugcheckParameter1 0x90000c2d
BugcheckParameter2 0xa
BugcheckParameter3 0x1
BugcheckParameter4 0x82c86e08
SleepInProgress false
PowerButtonTimestamp 0


Also, I looked around that time period, and it is saying another thing. It said "Error - BugCheck" The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x0000000a (0x90000c2d, 0x0000000a, 0x00000001, 0x82c86e08). A dump was saved in: C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP. Report Id: 062710-19968-01.
- System

- Provider

[ Name] Microsoft-Windows-WER-SystemErrorReporting
[ Guid] {ABCE23E7-DE45-4366-8631-84FA6C525952}
[ EventSourceName] BugCheck

- EventID 1001

[ Qualifiers] 16384

Version 0

Level 2

Task 0

Opcode 0

Keywords 0x80000000000000

- TimeCreated

[ SystemTime] 2010-06-27T19:04:56.000000000Z

EventRecordID 65823

Correlation

- Execution

[ ProcessID] 0
[ ThreadID] 0

Channel System

Computer OG-PC

Security


- EventData

param1 0x0000000a (0x90000c2d, 0x0000000a, 0x00000001, 0x82c86e08)
param2 C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP
param3 062710-19968-01


Also, unrelated, but I have used Windows 2000, I actually still use it in one of my PC's, that has never BSOD'd.

Albo
06-27-10, 05:08 PM
Also, no I haven't updated drivers lately either.

AthlonXP1800
06-27-10, 05:10 PM
Hmmm after almost a year with Windows 7 on both my desktop PC and laptop never had a single BSOD. :captnkill:

Do you have Realtek audio? If so try download latest driver, it may fix the issue.

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itproperf/thread/9e71f600-7c62-4869-8236-964e93d17936

t3hl33td4rg0n
06-27-10, 05:45 PM
I started getting BSOD's about a week ago, computer would shut down after about 10 minutes.

Turns out it was my water pump, it died.


I suspect the issue could be hardware related.

Also test your memory with Memtest86.This.

grey_1
06-27-10, 07:12 PM
Whocrashed (http://www.resplendence.com/whocrashed)

One of the guys here referred me to this crash dump analyzer - turned out to be Afterburner for me.

Drolfrawd
06-27-10, 07:17 PM
That sounds a very useful tool in my line of work. I usualy just try to best guess the dump files.
If this tool works it is a step
forward for me . thanks grey

grey_1
06-27-10, 07:22 PM
That sounds a very useful tool in my line of work. I usualy just try to best guess the dump files.
If this tool works it is a step
forward for me . thanks grey

yw Bro - I think it was Toss3 maybe?? Anyway, it narrowed down my crashes to "Nvidia driver 'or' a related piece of software...so it was pretty spot on.

Albo
06-27-10, 07:43 PM
Ok, so memtest86+. It's telling me *****Pass complete, no errors, press Esc to exit*****

But that's only after 1 pass, so I'm going to let it go a bit more, or do you think that's enough? Time - 27 minutes, pass - 1, errors - 0, Test 6(it's been going test 4 and 6 back and forth)

grey_1
06-27-10, 08:10 PM
Ok, so memtest86+. It's telling me

But that's only after 1 pass, so I'm going to let it go a bit more, or do you think that's enough? Time - 27 minutes, pass - 1, errors - 0, Test 6(it's been going test 4 and 6 back and forth)

Why don't you try that tool I posted for you? It takes about 30 seconds to run it.

Albo
06-27-10, 08:29 PM
Alright, after using it, I get this.

On Sun 6/27/2010 7:04:56 PM your computer crashed
This was likely caused by the following module: sptd.sys
Bugcheck code: 0xA (0x90000C2D, 0xA, 0x1, 0x82C86E08)
Error: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
Dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\062710-19968-01.dmp
file path: C:\Windows\system32\drivers\sptd.sys

I don't think that's right because it didn't crash at 7, it crashed at 3 PM.

Also, I looked up sptd, and its a file for Daemon tools, which is what I installed at that time, so that I could run the memtest86, but that didn't work, so I burned the memtest86 and ran from CD.

And then it posted info on the crash yesterday.

On Sat 6/26/2010 5:41:07 PM your computer crashed
This was likely caused by the following module: fltmgr.sys
Bugcheck code: 0x1000008E (0xC0000005, 0x88EB8E2A, 0xB4721A64, 0x0)
Error: KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M
Dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\062610-27424-01.dmp
file path: C:\Windows\system32\drivers\fltmgr.sys
product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
company: Microsoft Corporation
description: Microsoft Filesystem Filter Manager
The crash took place in a standard Microsoft module. Your system configuration may be incorrect, possibly the culprit is in another driver on your system which cannot be identified at this time.

nekrosoft13
06-27-10, 10:34 PM
sptd.sys

uninstall Deamon Tools and SPTD component

Albo
06-27-10, 10:39 PM
sptd.sys

uninstall Deamon Tools and SPTD component

Why?
The program was wrong, because I didn't have Deamon Tools installed at the time of any of the crashes. I installed it 4 hours after, and there was no crash. The program was reporting a false crash, I was at my PC the whole time, I know there was no BSOD after 3 PM. I installed Deamon Tools at 7PM.

ViN86
06-28-10, 02:23 AM
I'd listen to nekro.

Besides, maybe that error isn't the one that corresponds to the BSOD, in which case SPTD will cause errors in the future. Ever consider that?

bob saget
06-28-10, 03:19 AM
I used to get tons of BSODs on my old AMD 4400x2 machine, and it had all to do with the memory. 4 gigs of ram would make the machine go haywire, ESPECIALLY with CS:S or TF2.

Albo
06-28-10, 11:12 AM
Alright, now what?

ViN86
06-28-10, 11:15 AM
I used to get tons of BSODs on my old AMD 4400x2 machine, and it had all to do with the memory. 4 gigs of ram would make the machine go haywire, ESPECIALLY with CS:S or TF2.

Sounds like you had bad memory or bad memory slot(s) on the board. Same thing used to happen to me and it turns out that one of my memory slots on my A8N-SLI Deluxe board was messed up.

ViN86
06-28-10, 11:16 AM
Alright, now what?

Now we wait til it happens again so we can try and diagnose it.

Bman212121
06-28-10, 04:15 PM
I used to get tons of BSODs on my old AMD 4400x2 machine, and it had all to do with the memory. 4 gigs of ram would make the machine go haywire, ESPECIALLY with CS:S or TF2.

Sounds like you had bad memory or bad memory slot(s) on the board. Same thing used to happen to me and it turns out that one of my memory slots on my A8N-SLI Deluxe board was messed up.

I think the first gen Althons just can't handle 4GB of ram... My 3800+ X2 will not even post with 4 x 1GB in a DFI lanparty board, and it will post on a gigabyte board, but it throws all kinds of errors. The same ram used on an A8N-SLI with an opty processor will run just fine. Could be the boards too I suppose, but you'd think the DFI expert should be able to handle it.

Bman212121
06-28-10, 04:18 PM
Alright, after using it, I get this.



I don't think that's right because it didn't crash at 7, it crashed at 3 PM.

Also, I looked up sptd, and its a file for Daemon tools, which is what I installed at that time, so that I could run the memtest86, but that didn't work, so I burned the memtest86 and ran from CD.

And then it posted info on the crash yesterday.

what's your time offset? It might be possible that it is displaying GMT time for some reason.

lduguay
06-28-10, 04:37 PM
Alright, now what?

Wait :headexplode:

Albo
06-28-10, 08:28 PM
what's your time offset? It might be possible that it is displaying GMT time for some reason.

Eastern, so -5.