PDA

View Full Version : Starcraft 2 - No AA Support, but 3D Support yes!


K007
07-04-10, 12:49 AM
Blizzard is jumping on the 3D bandwagon, as StarCraft 2 production director Chris Sigaty has revealed a patch will be issued for the game soon after its release that'll at 3D for those who can take advantage of it.
"We will be releasing 3D in the first few months, for those Nvidia cards and screens that support it," Sigaty told IGN (via VG247). And despite Nvidia being name-dropped specifically (and despite the fact Nvidia had a presence at the StarCraft 2 event in Seoul, South Korea where the interview was taking place), Sigaty also assured that they're "optimizing for all systems."


Sigaty also confirmed StarCraft 2 won't support anti-aliasing (a technique used to smooth out the rough edges in 3D graphics)

Pretty disappointing that 3D is a high priority for Blizzard over AA/Chat Rooms and Cross Region play.

Viral
07-04-10, 02:01 AM
Hopefully there is a workaround to get AA working. I guess it's not as bad on an RTS but whatever, I want AA!

K007
07-04-10, 02:26 AM
u can get aa on nvidia cards...just not on ati

lumpyhed
07-04-10, 06:07 AM
Still doesn't make it worth 35 to me >_<

Sean_W
07-04-10, 07:51 AM
No AA. WTF? This is 2010. Does the game support that cool new feature called texture mapping?

nutcrackr
07-04-10, 08:40 AM
I find your lack of AA disturbing.

Vardant
07-04-10, 09:38 AM
I didn't even notice that, so I don't care.

|MaguS|
07-04-10, 09:59 AM
What?? Oh that's crap. The original needed AA so bad, the lack of AA in it made it unplayable.

Viral
07-04-10, 08:50 PM
u can get aa on nvidia cards...just not on ati

Sound like Blizzard have been convinced by Nvidia or something. Are we going to see a TWIMTBP logo when we fire up SC2? They always used to be very ATi friendly, now this.

Zelda_fan
07-04-10, 09:07 PM
That article is a total crock. I played the beta and you can force AA. It's just not supported in the in game menu.

six_storm
07-04-10, 09:10 PM
3D is stupid anyways. Dunno why anyone would like that crap.

Viral
07-04-10, 10:16 PM
3D is stupid anyways. Dunno why anyone would like that crap.

*waits for DB to show up and defend 3D*............;)

MowTin
07-05-10, 01:37 AM
After COH and Supreme Commander why does anyone want to play SC2? It just seems that the gameplay is dated and doesn't bring anything new to the table other than improved graphics.

NarcissistZero
07-05-10, 02:17 AM
After COH and Supreme Commander why does anyone want to play SC2? It just seems that the gameplay is dated and doesn't bring anything new to the table other than improved graphics.

People like that gameplay, "dated" though it may be.

I would kill ten orphans for a shooter like Quake 2 with modern graphics... no RPG elements, checkpoint saves or bull**** regenerating health.

nutcrackr
07-05-10, 05:16 AM
After COH and Supreme Commander why does anyone want to play SC2? It just seems that the gameplay is dated and doesn't bring anything new to the table other than improved graphics.
Supreme Commander hardly capitalized on the old style gameplay and CoH has been widely touted as the best RTS in a long long time? I think Starcraft 2 will show the whole industry how to do it right.

I look across at CnC 4 and feel sick at what they've done to the franchise. In some ways its sad developers feel like they need to change things.

K007
07-05-10, 05:22 AM
After COH and Supreme Commander why does anyone want to play SC2? It just seems that the gameplay is dated and doesn't bring anything new to the table other than improved graphics.

I would bet that SC1 is still probably more played than any other RTS game out...

CoH/Supreme Commander didn't really attract me for multiplayer, and CnC3 started to get worse and worse with each expan..

& CnC4...was so bad...first CnC game that is related to the Tiberium universe i didn't buy....not worth it even for the singleplayer...they crucified the game...

K007
07-05-10, 06:37 AM
http://www.goear.com/listen/37e809d/Torn-%28Bnet2.0%29-Smix

this = wow!!!!