PDA

View Full Version : can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?


Gitaroo
07-12-10, 03:34 PM
I am currently using a 8800 GT, E6600 and thinking about upgrading to a GTX 460.

XDanger
07-12-10, 03:38 PM
Maximum Graphics Card Power (W) 160 W
Minimum System Power Requirement (W) 450 W

I wouldn't

Madpistol
07-12-10, 03:39 PM
I wouldn't recommend it. The GTX 460 uses a fair bit more power than an 8800 GT.

john19055
07-12-10, 04:01 PM
I would not recomend either since it would be boderline and nvidia recomends 450watts with 24amps on the 12v rails and if you want to overclock I would get something bigger.You can get a coolerMaster 650 watts for $70 and it has 52amps on the 12v rail for future up grades .but they have some 500watts for around $50 that would do the job.The power supply is one of the most important compoents since it can cause BSOD and freezeing and out of the blue rebooting if it is not getting enough power.It might work as long as you don't overclock ,but I would recomend getting something bigger with more amps on the 12v rail.

AthlonXP1800
07-12-10, 06:59 PM
Nvidia's recommend power supply requirements most of times can be overstated. I remember G80 launch back in 2006 when Geforce 8800GTX released and people were worried that it would need a bigger new power supply 550W minimum with 32A +12V rail power supply Nvidia recommended and someone on Nvnews forum tested a Geforce 8800GTX with small 250W power supply with enough ample power and it ran games flawless. I was a bit worried it may not worked with my old 430W power supply with dual +12V 36A rail but it worked fine.

A GTX 460 card use 24A and old Geforce 8800GT card used bit more power 28A accorded to BFGTech, it should work fine as long your power supply can handle enough ample power. Few years ago my mate tried to ran Crysis and GTAIV with Geforce 8800GTS 320MB and the PC shutdown after 5 mins gaming, it turned out that his generic 400W power power supply only had combined dual +12V rails of 18A that not had the enough power to handle a Geforce 8800GTS 320MB which needed 28A. It worked fine when upgraded to new 550W Antec Neopower with triple +12V rails of 54A that had plenty of ample power.

KasuCode
07-12-10, 07:47 PM
I have a system running a quad core @ 3.6Ghz 8GB memory 4 fans a harddrive and an 8800GTX with just a 6 year old antec 400Watt supply. (temp) been working for a month so far. plays games 10 hours a day for other people never an issue.



I think you will be fine If you have a decent supply pushing.

Gitaroo
07-14-10, 03:38 AM
cool, so the 460 require 2X +12 v 24A?

john19055
07-14-10, 07:52 PM
The GTX 460 draws around 13.5 amps or 160 watts just by it self on the 12v rail,according to nvidia and then you have to add what the rest of your system that draws on the 12v rail,Like your CPU ,DVD dives ,harddrives and fans .The 8800GT draws around 9 amps or 105 watts on the 12v rail.What kind of power supply do you have and how many amps does it put out on the 12v rail.

Gitaroo
07-16-10, 07:41 PM
mine came with the case, a 430 watts PSU.

http://dongara2006.cocolog-nifty.com/.shared/image.html?/photos/uncategorized/su43002max.jpg

Gitaroo
07-17-10, 11:46 PM
I have a E6600 stock, 2 gig DDR2, 1 X-fi sound card, 2 HDD and a DVD driver, should the PSU provide enough power? Thanks for all the help btw.

AthlonXP1800
07-18-10, 02:58 AM
I have a E6600 stock, 2 gig DDR2, 1 X-fi sound card, 2 HDD and a DVD driver, should the PSU provide enough power? Thanks for all the help btw.

E6600 65W 5.4A
2GB DDR2 1 stick 10W 0.8A
X-Fi soundcard 10W 0.8A
2 HDD (10W each) 20W 1.6A
DVD drive 10W 0.8A

Total 9.4A

I found Geforce 8800GT used up to maximum of 105W on Nvidia site so that is 8.75A.

Your PC with Geforce 8800GT used 18.15A then if you upgrade to GTX 460 150W 12.5A and it will give 21.9A total ampage power.

Gitaroo
07-18-10, 02:20 PM
what about at max load condition? And if I get a super clocked 460, it would draw more power too right? My current 8800 GT is also a super clocked. CPU isnt over clocked however.

AthlonXP1800
07-18-10, 09:03 PM
what about at max load condition? And if I get a super clocked 460, it would draw more power too right? My current 8800 GT is also a super clocked. CPU isnt over clocked however.

Your 430W PSU 12V max load is 384W. After read all GTX 460 reviews, yes a superclocked GTX 460 will draw around 25W by overclocked 100MHz from default 675MHz and if it can reach 875MHz with 200Mhz overclocked then it will need 50W. I read some GTX 460 1GB reviews with test setups with overclocked Core i7 920 4GHz and i 7 975 3.75GHz power consumption at full load consumed around 300W in gaming and 350W when stressed GPU to 100% in Furmark. So with your E6600 CPU at full load in gaming probably will use around 225W power.

Gitaroo
07-18-10, 11:50 PM
thanks man, very much appreciate the info.

artem
07-19-10, 01:51 PM
Try running FurMark for an hour - if you've got no freezes, reboots, slowdowns, etc. then stay with your current power supply, there's no need to listen to anyone's advice.

john19055
07-19-10, 02:01 PM
Does'nt a mother board draw any power.

AthlonXP1800
07-19-10, 05:30 PM
Does'nt a mother board draw any power.

Yes a motherboard is included as system's idle and full load power consumption. My PC idle is 100W and then I removed the idle power consumption of 40W memory, 10W CPU, 15W GPU, 10W hard drive, 10W DVDRW drive and 10W X-Fi sound card. That worked out 5W for the motherboard power.

AthlonXP1800
07-19-10, 05:36 PM
Try running FurMark for an hour - if you've got no freezes, reboots, slowdowns, etc. then stay with your current power supply, there's no need to listen to anyone's advice.

I would be really very uncomfortable to run Furmark, it not good idea to run it for 1 hour because it can cause damage to videocard's VRM after 1 hour. I searched internet about this and people are told not to dare run furmark for 1 hour.

artem
07-20-10, 10:18 AM
I would be really very uncomfortable to run Furmark, it not good idea to run it for 1 hour because it can cause damage to videocard's VRM after 1 hour. I searched internet about this and people are told not to dare run furmark for 1 hour.

Sorry, but this is the most stupid thing I've ever heard.

Under no circumstances an application which uses publicly available programming interfaces should damage your hardware and if it does, then your hardware is 100% faulty (except some very corner cases which are not relevant for this discussion, i.e. you can easily kill your HDD by making it start-stop every second for prolonged periods of time).

Any graphics card should sustain running Furmark during entire its lifetime in 7x24 mode, i.e. if you have a three years warranty for your GTX480, that means it's safe to assume that this GPU must tolerate running Furmark for three years in a non-stop mode.

AthlonXP1800
07-20-10, 03:26 PM
Sorry, but this is the most stupid thing I've ever heard.

Under no circumstances an application which uses publicly available programming interfaces should damage your hardware and if it does, then your hardware is 100% faulty (except some very corner cases which are not relevant for this discussion, i.e. you can easily kill your HDD by making it start-stop every second for prolonged periods of time).

Any graphics card should sustain running Furmark during entire its lifetime in 7x24 mode, i.e. if you have a three years warranty for your GTX480, that means it's safe to assume that this GPU must tolerate running Furmark for three years in a non-stop mode.

Sorry I have to disagree with you. Try tell that to EVGA and they will disagree with you too, they cant let their EVGA OC Scanner burn for 24/7, it only can allow to burn up to a maximum of 2 hours for safety reason.

artem
07-21-10, 02:29 AM
I don't care about EVGA opinion, really. They are wrong.

envirotech
08-02-10, 09:16 AM
When I had issues with a GT 220 from Zotac They actually told me to run it over night. So I did and it stayed at stable at 65C and did not lock up the system. So running it longer than an hour should not be a problem unless there is a hardware issue which is what you are looking for when you run this test. Run it for an Hour or 2 and if it is stable then you should be fine, if it is not and locks up then replace the Power supply.

john19055
08-03-10, 01:40 AM
If you have a 430watt and it has 32amps on the 12 rail you should be fine,with GTX 460.

Gitaroo
08-04-10, 03:26 PM
thanks guys, Im still waiting for my local store to get the card..............