PDA

View Full Version : Steam install - Dual boot?


GitDat
07-14-10, 06:45 PM
Windows 7 would be C:. Is it possible to install Steam in D:\Program Files\Steam where D: would be Windows Vista and then when booted to Vista install Steam in the same folder ( which would make it C:\Program Files\Steam) ?

I'm trying to make one big game repository that works out of the same folder on both OS'es in dual boot :)

ViN86
07-14-10, 06:47 PM
Why do you still boot Vista? :confused:

I don't know if it's possible. I think there are registry settings that Steam requires, and you'd have to install it in one OS, leaving the other without the keys.

You may be able to install Steam in both, then install the games you want in both, then delete the data in one and link it to the other directory using a symlink. But Vista and Win7 have permissions issues and you will have to reclaim ownership of the directory each time you use it (I believe).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS_symbolic_link

Redeemed
07-14-10, 06:48 PM
I don't know for sure but would imagine the answer is no.

Reason being is anytime you install something the registry gets modified. Thus when you re-install it to the same location but under windows vista it'll re-write those registry files and so when you go to access it in 7 it'll probably be a broken installation.

If that makes any sense. :o

GitDat
07-14-10, 06:52 PM
Well my Windows 7 hard drive is only a 150 GB Intel SSD. It's fast (and expensive :headexplode:) but not a lot of capacity. My Vista partition already has a ton of games installed and it's on a 300 GB Velociraptor (sloooww lol).

ViN86
07-14-10, 06:54 PM
Well my Windows 7 hard drive is only a 150 GB Intel SSD. It's fast (and expensive :headexplode:) but not a lot of capacity. My Vista partition already has a ton of games installed and it's on a 300 GB Velociraptor (sloooww lol).

Ahh so you just want to avoid having to re-install it all.

To be honest, I would just format the 300GB drive and install Steam on that. Then let your games install again overnight(s). :o

GitDat
07-14-10, 07:00 PM
Not a bad idea actually, lol. I don't really use Vista it's just that I have two 300 GB Velociraptors. One with XP and the other with Vista. So I have all 3 versions of Windows for compatibility sake :)

Between XP and Win 7 though I should be good. Vista is going DOOWWNN! :thumbdwn: lmao

ViN86
07-14-10, 07:05 PM
Not a bad idea actually, lol. I don't really use Vista it's just that I have two 300 GB Velociraptors. One with XP and the other with Vista. So I have all 3 versions of Windows for compatibility sake :)

Between XP and Win 7 though I should be good. Vista is going DOOWWNN! :thumbdwn: lmao

LOL yea that'd probably be the best option. There's practically nothing that works on just Vista and not Windows 7.

Kaguya
07-14-10, 08:17 PM
Ahh so you just want to avoid having to re-install it all.

To be honest, I would just format the 300GB drive and install Steam on that. Then let your games install again overnight(s). :o

If you can somehow keep your steamapps folder on an external drive, you can just copy it back into Steam and you won't need to redownload anything.

newparad1gm
07-14-10, 10:41 PM
You can try using symbolic links for the games in the Steam\steamapps\common folder so you can put games on a different hard drive from the Steam folder. Then you can have the Steam installation from both OS's have symbolic links that point to the same game folder so both Steam installs will be technically accessing the same game data.

Kaguya
07-14-10, 11:08 PM
You can try using symbolic links for the games in the Steam\steamapps\common folder so you can put games on a different hard drive from the Steam folder. Then you can have the Steam installation from both OS's have symbolic links that point to the same game folder so both Steam installs will be technically accessing the same game data.

I think that Steam would probably work without much issue on both OSes, but we'd just be helping him perpetuate a bigger issue - better he drop Vista and jut move on :)

ViN86
07-14-10, 11:09 PM
Why do you still boot Vista? :confused:

I don't know if it's possible. I think there are registry settings that Steam requires, and you'd have to install it in one OS, leaving the other without the keys.

You may be able to install Steam in both, then install the games you want in both, then delete the data in one and link it to the other directory using a symlink. But Vista and Win7 have permissions issues and you will have to reclaim ownership of the directory each time you use it (I believe).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS_symbolic_link

You can try using symbolic links for the games in the Steam\steamapps\common folder so you can put games on a different hard drive from the Steam folder. Then you can have the Steam installation from both OS's have symbolic links that point to the same game folder so both Steam installs will be technically accessing the same game data.

:bleh:

newparad1gm
07-14-10, 11:42 PM
Ha, that's what happens when you don't read the thread and just respond to the first post. I didn't know about the permissions issue though, but symbolic links are what I use right now to link my Steam install which is on my SSD to games on my RAID array.

ViN86
07-15-10, 01:04 AM
Ha, that's what happens when you don't read the thread and just respond to the first post. I didn't know about the permissions issue though, but symbolic links are what I use right now to link my Steam install which is on my SSD to games on my RAID array.

Hey man, great minds think alike. :)

kRogue
07-16-10, 04:13 AM
I have done a similar bit: a laptop with Vista on one harddrive and XP on the other, I installed steam to the XP drive and both Vista and XP can use it just fine. The only minor catch is that if you specify to save the log in credentials and switch OS's then you will need to resupply the login name and password. Also, for compatibility reasons, having the same steam visible from multiple OS's is reasonable... For example, Sacred 2 is particularly painful to get running under Windows 7 64bit (where as it is fine in Vista 32 bit).

shteve
07-17-10, 06:54 AM
My steam folder is on my D drive. To move it, delete clientregistry.blob, move the folder and then run steam.exe. I used to dual-boot xp and vista and shared my steam install with no issues.