PDA

View Full Version : A good wireless router


Pages : [1] 2

grey_1
07-20-10, 07:55 AM
Doc's switch thread reminded me...

I was thinking about this one.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833162031

I hear Buffalo tech is good. My needs are pretty simple.
<$100
10/100/1000
b/g/n which any newer router should have I think.

Also, can someone explain the significance of DDWRT to me? Feedback on this Buffalo says it's fantastic after DDWRT is in place.

Any good suggestions?

Thanks guys!

frenchy2k1
07-20-10, 12:35 PM
DDWRT is a custom firmware derived from an open-source Linksys.
It has evolved over the years as a full featured firmware (it's based on Linux) with professional-type features usually found in $300+ routers (like prioritization, wireless networks, routing...). It also let you control lots of parameters hidden in retail routers (transmission power, running software...).

So, if you have a bit of knowledge or are ready to spend the time to learn (they have a great forum), it can be very powerful. As it is free, it's a nice upgrade if available on your hardware.

grey_1
07-20-10, 01:34 PM
Ah, understood. Thanks for the explanation. I can obviously use some more knowledge about how to configure a router properly, I may give this a go.

Thanks again!

Drolfrawd
07-20-10, 02:07 PM
Bro, i use Buffalo for all my private customers, and have zero issues with them.
I use buffalo Nas Boxes at work and zero issues with them also.

However if you want to pay more , then i recommend this

http://www.transparent.uk.com/acatalog/DrayTekVigor2820n.html

sorry it's a uk site. You will likely be able to purchase this at better price than i can.

My company only uses these for corporate clients.

And .........I know how to work them :D

grey_1
07-20-10, 02:28 PM
Drol, that Draytek looks nice...a little pricey as you said though :lol:

Good to hear another endorsement for Buffalo though. I think I may go with that unless someone presents a better option.

Thanks Bro :)

Drolfrawd
07-20-10, 02:33 PM
^Welcome

saturnotaku
07-21-10, 03:50 PM
I use the Linksys WRT-320N with dd-wrt. I'm no networking wiz, but it wasn't terribly difficult to configure. Had it not been for a power outage last month, my router would be close to 6 months of uptime. I never had that with my old D-Link.

grey_1
07-21-10, 04:18 PM
I use the Linksys WRT-320N with dd-wrt. I'm no networking wiz, but it wasn't terribly difficult to configure. Had it not been for a power outage last month, my router would be close to 6 months of uptime. I never had that with my old D-Link.

I'd love to have a full week of uptime, can't remember what it's like lol.

Is this the one sat?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124332&cm_re=Linksys_WRT-320N-_-33-124-332-_-Product

I was just sitting down to order the Buffalo when I saw your post, now I have to make a decision...:lol:

Redeemed
07-21-10, 04:32 PM
Got my parents a Netgear RangeMax MIMO (http://www.netgear.com/Solutions/HomeNetworking/WirelessNetworking/RangeMax.aspx) about a year and a half ago- maybe even 2 years ago. Works great, and they have yet to call me complaining of *any* downtime. Also super easy to configure. Blocking MySpace, LimeWire, etc (as per my parents request) so lil' sis didn't get into trouble was a breeze.

Looking to get their Wireless-N RangeMax router once I'm settled here at my new home. :)

grey_1
07-21-10, 04:52 PM
Thanks Redeemed - not a huge fan of netgear though. I've heard a few too many complaints from clients about them.

So far the Linksys by Cisco or Buffalo seem to be the best choice for me.

Redeemed
07-21-10, 04:55 PM
Oh- I'm a Cisco/Linksys man by default. :lol: Netgear is just my second choice- and it was on sale uber cheap at the time I bought it. :lol:

First Netgear I've owned to be honest, just sharing my experience with it. If I can get a Cisco or Linksys around the same price then I'd get one. Otherwise Netgear is 2nd option. :) They're usually cheaper which is why I'm planning on getting their N router once I'm all moved in and settled at the new place.

grey_1
07-21-10, 04:59 PM
Understood. I'm obviously no I.T. or anything close, but I do work with them frequently and quite a few have mentioned exactly what you just said. Tight Budget = Netgear, but for a bit more the Linksys is better. Thing is the Buffalo I linked isn't shabby looking at all for $79 usd and have heard them highly recommended.

My guess is either/or would be just fine...I just like to know what I'm getting.

Redeemed
07-21-10, 05:01 PM
Yeah, I'm no networking junkie either. Really want to start learning about it though. My parents' netgear was super easy to configure so that's one reason I'm planning on purchasing their N-version.

From my readings though there's tons of guides and walk-throughs available for Linksys and Cisco routers, much more so than Netgear. So either way configuration should be a breeze to learn. :)

Or, that's how I see it. :o :lol:

betterdan
07-21-10, 05:53 PM
My Netgear wireless N gigabit WNR3500V2 router has worked flawlessly. The old Netgear wireless G router had a hard time getting it's signal upstairs but this new one is great. I can even go outside and get signal with my cell phone or my wife's laptop from it. Easy to set up and haven't had to reboot it at all like I started having to do with the old wireless G one I got back in 2003.
I would definately buy Netgear again.




Disclaimer: I do not work for Netgear I just like their stuff :bleh:

grey_1
07-21-10, 06:00 PM
My Netgear wireless N gigabit WNR3500V2 router has worked flawlessly. The old Netgear wireless G router had a hard time getting it's signal upstairs but this new one is great. I can even go outside and get signal with my cell phone or my wife's laptop from it. Easy to set up and haven't had to reboot it at all like I started having to do with the old wireless G one I got back in 2003.
I would definately buy Netgear again.




Disclaimer: I do not work for Netgear I just like their stuff :bleh:

LOl at the disclaimer :lol;

I'm hoping what ever I buy will make it upstairs as it's going on my telco panel in the basement and my office is 2nd floor. That and security are my biggest concerns..so I think I have some more reading up to do before I buy.

Just hope my old linksys doesn't die before I get one.

Drolfrawd
07-21-10, 06:14 PM
LOl at the disclaimer :lol;

I'm hoping what ever I buy will make it upstairs as it's going on my telco panel in the basement and my office is 2nd floor. That and security are my biggest concerns..so I think I have some more reading up to do before I buy.

Just hope my old linksys doesn't die before I get one.

Bro , most likely all of the routers mentioned here will make it up stairs, routers go through ceilings much better than walls.
Security make sure you set your encryption to wpa2 + tkip

long non dictionary pass phrase and you will be protected.
Also as some added protection you can set the router only to except connections from specified MAC address's. i.e. your pc's and devices.

ipconfig /all will show you this from a command prompt.

lastly once you are all set up and devices connected , go back to your router and hide your SSID from view.

There is much more that can be done to stealth your router, but if you do the above you should be pretty much bullet proof.

Also a good idea to change your lan ip address from , say 192.168.1.1 to something else , for example 10.10.90.1

betterdan
07-21-10, 06:38 PM
Good tips Drolfrawd so many people don't do these steps. I have someone in my area that has a wide open wireless network I found on my phone the other night while outside. If I knew who it was I would go let them know and show them how to enable some security on it. If they give a damn that is.

As for the signal going through the ceiling it depends on your house and what it is built out of. If you are putting it in the basement you will have a harder time than others getting a signal up through the floor and then through the ceiling. Also our house was built in 1910 with plaster walls so I've read it is harder for the signal to get through, no problem for the router we have though.

grey_1
07-21-10, 07:15 PM
Bro , most likely all of the routers mentioned here will make it up stairs, routers go through ceilings much better than walls.
Security make sure you set your encryption to wpa2 + tkip

long non dictionary pass phrase and you will be protected.
Also as some added protection you can set the router only to except connections from specified MAC address's. i.e. your pc's and devices.

ipconfig /all will show you this from a command prompt.

lastly once you are all set up and devices connected , go back to your router and hide your SSID from view.

There is much more that can be done to stealth your router, but if you do the above you should be pretty much bullet proof.

Also a good idea to change your lan ip address from , say 192.168.1.1 to something else , for example 10.10.90.1

COPIED AND PASTED!

Thanks Bro! That's my main concern, and this helps a lot.

Cheers! :)

saturnotaku
07-28-10, 04:47 AM
You can use this site (http://www.yellowpipe.com/yis/tools/WPA_key/generator.php) to generate a WPA key. Make sure you copy/paste it into a text document for easy access. You also might want to print out a hard copy and store it someplace safe.

grey_1
07-28-10, 11:21 AM
You can use this site (http://www.yellowpipe.com/yis/tools/WPA_key/generator.php) to generate a WPA key. Make sure you copy/paste it into a text document for easy access. You also might want to print out a hard copy and store it someplace safe.

Thanks sat - Do you use this? If so I'm going to use that as my key is probably rather weak. But what would be the difference between a, for example, 60 character key I made (mines not) and one they generate for you? Just the ease of not having to type it out?

Thanks

grey_1
07-29-10, 05:58 PM
Quick update - wound up getting a Netgear after all :lol: The WNR3500L (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122334)

Lots of well written help for it, easy to configure, although the login page threw me for a bit. Lots of options available.

Good deal.

Albo
07-29-10, 06:09 PM
Quick update - wound up getting a Netgear after all :lol: The WNR3500L (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122334)

Lots of well written help for it, easy to configure, although the login page threw me for a bit. Lots of options available.

Good deal.

A family friend has the exact same router. They told me to set it up. It was the hardest piece of **** to set up ever.

EDIT:
I can honestly say that I spent more than 6 hours setting it up.

But once you set it up, it's a FANTASTIC router. It had every feature I would ever want. I contemplated getting one, but the router I had was fine for then, and still is.

Anyways, good luck!

betterdan
07-29-10, 09:33 PM
:lol: I find Netgear routers extremely easy to set up.

Albo
07-29-10, 10:50 PM
:lol: I find Netgear routers extremely easy to set up.

Wow I seriously hope your kidding. I've installed a lot of other routers, but that one was a pain in the ass.

betterdan
07-29-10, 10:56 PM
Nope not kidding at all but I actually hope you are, because the Netgear routers I have set up were easier than Bigman.
In fact the very first router I ever even messed with was a Netgear and I had it setup in maybe 30-45 minutes.
What exactly was hard for you on it? If anyone ever spent 6 hours trying to set up a router they need to step away from the crack pipe or there was something wrong with the router.