PDA

View Full Version : geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...


nvserge
08-04-10, 05:01 PM
Hey guys... my rig specs are in my sig...

things running pretty smoothly until I got a third monitor to get the surround temptation out of the way...

Now I can see things are starting to look a bit taxed at 5760/1080 with 3 monitors. I mean... borderline great with a bit of choppiness...

Would it be overkill to get 2 480's considering my specs? Not sure if I can budget an i7 at this time...

Looking for guidance to either trigger a guilt ridden purchase or to stop my hand from twitching around my wallet!

Thanks!

wheeljack12
08-05-10, 11:58 PM
well, at 1200 watts, the psu is there for 480 sli. And it depends on what you consider guilt ridden. I mean if the budget money is there and you aren't spending against monthly bills, why are you feeling guilty?

nvserge
08-06-10, 10:19 AM
nice specs you got there.... drool worthy hehe... Never spent against the bills money, have plenty of unused credit and some spare cash... my guilt would just be based off the lack of benefit from moving up this year... I was hoping that someone that moved up to the 480's from 280's or 275's or 285's for that matter would say "wow rock solid performance increase!"... I see you got 24 gb of ram there, what is the benefit for that level of ram? i have yet to run out of memory on 64 bit win 7 with 4 gb of ram, even though at times I have 6-7 visual studio 2010 windows running + possibly 10-20 SQL Server query windows opened?

Muppet
08-06-10, 06:18 PM
Go for it. SLI 480's scale extremely well and 3 monitor gaming is pretty taxing on a system.

saturnotaku
08-06-10, 06:53 PM
I have an eVGA GTX 480 I'm selling if you're on the fence about price.

Link (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=152670)

Burnt_Ram
08-07-10, 08:42 AM
Hey guys... my rig specs are in my sig...

things running pretty smoothly until I got a third monitor to get the surround temptation out of the way...

Now I can see things are starting to look a bit taxed at 5760/1080 with 3 monitors. I mean... borderline great with a bit of choppiness...

Would it be overkill to get 2 480's considering my specs? Not sure if I can budget an i7 at this time...

Looking for guidance to either trigger a guilt ridden purchase or to stop my hand from twitching around my wallet!

Thanks!

i would go for a cpu upgrade first. my cpu (like yours) bottlenecks my cards a LOT! i put them in my other machine that has an i5 750 @ 3.6 and they where very happy ;) MUCH better performance. especially in Bad Company 2!

john19055
08-07-10, 10:05 AM
I would agree that a CPU and motherboard and memory would be the first thing to do .The
i7-920 0r i7-930 scales better then the core2 Quad in SLI .I would upgrade to a i7-920 or
i7-930 and a new motherboard and DDR3 memory first and then get new video cards .

Burnt_Ram
08-07-10, 10:32 AM
I would agree that a CPU and motherboard and memory would be the first thing to do .The
i7-920 0r i7-930 scales better then the core2 Quad in SLI .I would upgrade to a i7-920 or
i7-930 and a new motherboard and DDR3 memory first and then get new video cards .

no disrespect John, but even an i5 750 would suffice, and be alot less to upgrade. i went through the whole i5 vs i7 debate, and couldnt justify the bigger expense. but yea clock for clock i5-i7 easily beats a core 2 quad. hell even at stock clocks my i5 beats my C2Q at 3.6 by a bit ...

Bah!
08-07-10, 11:16 AM
If he were running a single monitor, I'd agree that 480's in SLI are too much for his current rig. But 3 monitors with a resolution that high are a different story, you'll get more performance out of the cards than than a CPU upgrade.

Burnt_Ram
08-07-10, 12:48 PM
If he were running a single monitor, I'd agree that 480's in SLI are too much for his current rig. But 3 monitors with a resolution that high are a different story, you'll get more performance out of the cards than than a CPU upgrade.

even with my overclocked i5 and max settings i havent bugun to use my second 260. with the right cpu a 260/275/280 is plently @ 1080p. now if your gaming at 2560 or whatever i can see a second 400 series being usefull, but other that that one 480 is plenty IMO. unless your playing Crysis, and even 3x480 barely cuts it ...

Bah!
08-07-10, 01:40 PM
even with my overclocked i5 and max settings i havent bugun to use my second 260. with the right cpu a 260/275/280 is plently @ 1080p. now if your gaming at 2560 or whatever i can see a second 400 series being usefull, but other that that one 480 is plenty IMO. unless your playing Crysis, and even 3x480 barely cuts it ...

Ok.

Now read the OP again. :rolleyes2

Burnt_Ram
08-07-10, 02:45 PM
Ok.

Now read the OP again. :rolleyes2 i completely skipped the fact he's using multiple moitors :o maybe dual 400 series might be needed afterall. gotta quit skimming ;)

Bah!
08-07-10, 03:14 PM
i completely skipped the fact he's using multiple moitors :o maybe dual 400 series might be needed afterall. gotta quit skimming ;)

It happens. :p

Maverickman
08-22-10, 10:20 PM
I'm running a Core i7 @ 3.25GHz, and I still feel I am not getting the most from my GTX 470s.

john19055
08-23-10, 09:07 PM
I don't disagree that a i5 will do the job just as good as a i7 ,I was just thinking that the i7 socket 1366 has more life to it if the 6 core ever come down enough to buy one.I don't think there are plans to make a 6 core socket 1156,if they do then my reason for sugesting a i7 will become mute.But if you don't want to spend a lot of money then the i5 would be a good choice ,plus a pair of GTX 470's in SLI.I went from GTX 280's to HD5870's to GTX 470's and notice a big difference .The HD5870's were good cards ,I just like nvidia little extras better and I like there control pannel better.

john19055
08-23-10, 10:23 PM
Want that i7-940 go higher then 3.25g to get those GTX 470 to go higher .I have my i7-920 at 4.2g at 1.325v and it makes a difference.

nvserge
09-17-10, 03:28 PM
I bit the bullet and bought 2 EVGA Geforce GTX 480 Superclocked edition, the 725 Mhz ones, and a OCZ Agility 2 120 GB Sandforce SSD drive too boot my system on... I have decided to skip the cpu+mobo+memory upgrade for the time being... My current setup gets about 22500 3DMark Vantage score with the 280's... I am supposed to get the parts today!!! Awesome weekend project, will bench it and post results! Thanks everyone for the feedback!

v3rninater
09-17-10, 04:11 PM
Nice brotha, I just got a 1TB HD with a stick of patriot 8gb flash for ready boost. I was really thinking about getting a SSD, probably when I get the 480 refresh, then I will.

Burnt_Ram
09-17-10, 07:47 PM
Want that i7-940 go higher then 3.25g to get those GTX 470 to go higher .I have my i7-920 at 4.2g at 1.325v and it makes a difference.this i5 started out at 3.3, and then i added a second 260 and noticed not much of a gain at all. once i hit 3.6 they really started to perform, so ya, he needs to overclock that puppy a bit more.

nvserge
09-17-10, 10:49 PM
Okie, dokie... I guess i just bought myself 5000 3dmark Vantage points for $1k... Hehe, not that great of a deal i guess... Curiously, my CPU score in 3DMARK Vantage went up, even though everything was exactly the same!!! Makes one wonder...

I have only swapped the video cards, and reinstalled the same exact driver... 258.96

Here is a capture at the end of 3dmark vantage using my 280's ...

http://www.beingenis.com/3dmark_08292010.JPG

Here is a capture at the end of 3dmark vantage using my 480's...

http://www.beingenis.com/3dmark_09172010.JPG

I plan on reinstalling windows from scratch on the OCZ SSD drive I got... tweak it a little bit then bench it again...

Any feedback is appreciated!

wheeljack12
09-18-10, 04:52 PM
I would definitely put that OS onto the ssd. Also, if there is still affordability, I would sell off your 780i mb, cpu and ram and gtx 280's. Get a i7-950 (about the same price as a 930 now), 6gb of ddr-3 ram and a asus p6x58d-e (it's the cheapest of the newest) mb's. Then you will see the score fly on a overclock.

nvserge
09-18-10, 06:38 PM
Hey Thanks wheeljack... I was actually considering it... Saw that mobo on newegg... I guess I could spend another $600 roughly and pimp up a little bit... Will try to sell my old parts on ebay i guess...

nvserge
09-25-10, 06:33 PM
Hey Wheeljack... I moved up to an i7 950 processor, running on a Asus Sabertooth X58 mobo with 6 GB of Corsair Dominator memory... Including the previous purchase, I spent a total of $1915 for the entire setup (I have already sold my old Q9550 for $200 on ebay, waiting for the rest of my old stuff to sell - hope to net at least $800 from this to help pay off the new purchase). I have been able to easily OC this puppy to 3.6 Ghz on air (using Prolimatech Megahalems rev. B cooler). My idle temps are around 40C for the CPU running up to about low-mid 50's on load... not bad...
Here is my new 3dmark Vantage score...

http://www.beingenis.com/3dmark_09252010.jpg

Thanks for all your advice...

wheeljack12
09-26-10, 02:06 AM
your welcome. good to see the score up more.