PDA

View Full Version : GTX 460 Power Req.


Cabs21
08-11-10, 11:12 AM
Hi, I recently received Starcraft 2 and would like to see some of the detail and effort put into the graphics. My laptop does not handle well at the lowest setting and looking to upgrade to a GTX 460 with 1GB and some overclocking for my desktop. I am all ready to purchase but getting worried about power supply requirements. I have a OCZ 700W supply (GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI-B)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341034

I am not sure the 12v rails will output enough AMPs. I have seen people say yes and no and would like a more straight forward answer. I know the specs for the GTX 460 call for 24 AMPs at 12V but my supply only says 18 AMPs on 12V. Can I combined two unused rails to crate over 30 AMPs at 12V or am I going to need a new supply.

Thanks for your input.

bob saget
08-11-10, 11:45 AM
I think you would be fine. In my experience, OCZ do not make the best power supplies, but you should be ok.

Eltigre88
08-11-10, 11:46 AM
12.2 GIGAWATTS!!!!

Cabs21
08-11-10, 11:48 AM
I only bought the power supply since it was on sale and needed one for a home network, was planning on putting many hard drives in and needed one with lots of rails and Watts. I did find out that the PCIe rails are not shared but two separate 12V rails if that will make any difference.

Madpistol
08-11-10, 11:56 AM
That PSU will run a GTX 460 no problem. I'm using a 5870, which uses a fair bit more power compared to the GTX 460, and I had the exact same PSU as you've got for 5 years before now. It worked just fine.

Bear in mind, the fan on the PSU can get loud under load, and it will probably die after a while. That PSU got to the point where it was finicky about when it would turn the computer on. That did it for me, so I replaced it with an awesome 750-watt corsair unit.


Hopefully you'll have better luck than I did. :)

Cabs21
08-11-10, 11:58 AM
That PSU will run a GTX 460 no problem. I'm using a 5870, which uses a fair bit more power compared to the GTX 460, and I had the exact same PSU as you've got for 5 years before now. It worked just fine.

Bear in mind, the fan on the PSU can get loud under load, and it will probably die after a while. That PSU got to the point where it was finicky about when it would turn the computer on. That did it for me, so I replaced it with an awesome 750-watt corsair unit.


Hopefully you'll have better luck than I did. :)

Thanks a lot. Will post how it goes when I get the GTX 460.

stncttr908
08-11-10, 01:24 PM
You'll be good to go. The 12V rails are solid, and I can tell you my system pulls ~ 300W under full load with this card and the rest of the system you see in my signature.

I'm even probably going to try and eek out a GTX 460 SLI setup from this PSU when I upgrade.

fugu_fish
08-19-10, 02:58 PM
Hi, I recently received Starcraft 2 and would like to see some of the detail and effort put into the graphics. My laptop does not handle well at the lowest setting and looking to upgrade to a GTX 460 with 1GB and some overclocking for my desktop. I am all ready to purchase but getting worried about power supply requirements. I have a OCZ 700W supply (GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI-B)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341034

I am not sure the 12v rails will output enough AMPs. I have seen people say yes and no and would like a more straight forward answer. I know the specs for the GTX 460 call for 24 AMPs at 12V but my supply only says 18 AMPs on 12V. Can I combined two unused rails to crate over 30 AMPs at 12V or am I going to need a new supply.

Thanks for your input.

I have the same PSU and it handled 1 GTX-460 1GB just fine. I used the 2 PCIe power connectors. (It also handled my old GTX-285 just fine)

It would not handle 2 however and wouldn't even power the system on. Replaced it with a Corsair TX850 for about $100.

stncttr908
08-19-10, 11:40 PM
Oof, that's a bit of a hit to my hopes of using my 620W in SLI haha!

Madpistol
08-20-10, 06:03 AM
Oof, that's a bit of a hit to my hopes of using my 620W in SLI haha!

If you get a high quality Corsair 620-watt PSU, you should be able to do SLI GTX 460's. However, to be on the safe side, I would recommend at least a 700-watt unit with 4 pci-e power connectors.

john19055
08-23-10, 11:24 PM
You should have no problems running a GTX 460 1gig with that power supply.

stncttr908
08-24-10, 09:31 AM
If you get a high quality Corsair 620-watt PSU, you should be able to do SLI GTX 460's. However, to be on the safe side, I would recommend at least a 700-watt unit with 4 pci-e power connectors.
It will be worth a shot!