PDA

View Full Version : help pick some ram


Dirthead
08-28-10, 08:39 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148254

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226030

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145236

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104116

of the ones above which would you get,?

or if you have any others to suggestion that cost no more then the ones above cost please post

bob saget
08-28-10, 09:06 PM
their timings are slightly different, don't know if that makes a big deal for you. also, i haven't really heard tons of good things about kingston, but the other 3 brands are very well known to me in the overclocking communities.

sorry i cant be of more help. :) I am guessing this is for a X58-based computer.

Dirthead
08-28-10, 09:24 PM
your correct x58 evga board

If timings are so important then i think i go with the Mushkin. just looking for suggestions.
I like the Crucial Ballistix just not sure if they have an Intel xmp profile or if i have to manually set the times

Drolfrawd
08-28-10, 09:32 PM
Corsair ftw
/

bob saget
08-28-10, 09:39 PM
yea, corsair would be my number one choice, with Mushkin second. I am not sure how big of a difference XMP makes, but setting your own timings in bios is very very easy.

Dirthead
08-28-10, 09:42 PM
ya i had good luck with Corsair DDR memory so i might get that set

bob saget
08-28-10, 10:17 PM
post some pics when you done with your computer :)

Dirthead
08-28-10, 10:49 PM
:) system is built just needing to replace bad ram that im running now.

having one to many bsod,hangs,and overall sluggish PC performance, ran memtest86 and windows diagnostics tool both found problems.checked for viruses/spyware all looked clean.

Biggest concern is that its my mobo and not the ram. but i try ram 1st and hope that's the problem

bob saget
08-29-10, 01:16 AM
yea, also try with one stick of RAM.

Dirthead
08-29-10, 09:26 AM
Well i tested all three sticks by them self and sticks 1 and 3 loaded windows pretty fast for only being 2 GB. Stick number 2 took little longer and seemed slow. Now here the bad new's just using the windows memory tool it did not find any problems for all three sticks of ram.. but with all three sticks installed windows memory tool found problems.........I did not use memtest to test,So im not sure now :(


So now is it my motherboard that is bad or stick 2?

bob saget
08-29-10, 02:38 PM
Well i tested all three sticks by them self and sticks 1 and 3 loaded windows pretty fast for only being 2 GB. Stick number 2 took little longer and seemed slow. Now here the bad new's just using the windows memory tool it did not find any problems for all three sticks of ram.. but with all three sticks installed windows memory tool found problems.........I did not use memtest to test,So im not sure now :(


So now is it my motherboard that is bad or stick 2?

i am not sure. since you have an EVGA board, try posting on here, i know the guys there do a wonderful job and reply quickly.

http://www.evga.com/forums/default.aspx

Dirthead
08-29-10, 07:52 PM
ya i been there and tonight i was able to find the problem, DIMM 1 is bad on the mobo, So now the fun of getting an replacement.. never had to do this,so i hope its fairly painless.

thanks

bob saget
08-29-10, 09:06 PM
yea, imo EVGA do a wonderful job of keeping the customers happy.

Dirthead
08-29-10, 10:08 PM
yea, they want me to check the pins in the socket,. might be the problem, but i do not think it is,but they want me to check it so that's what im going to do