PDA

View Full Version : Might get an OCZ Solid 30gb SSD... is it enough for Vista + 1 game?


ragejg
08-30-10, 07:39 PM
I might end up with the OCZ Solid Series OCZSSD2-1SLD30G...

Would I be able to fit.... say, Vista x64 + Bad Company 2? I wouldn't mind other games running off HDD because I think my secondary setup will be two WD Caviar Blues.

saturnotaku
08-30-10, 08:29 PM
It would be plenty as long as you disable hibernation and either move to a mechanical or disable your page file. However, you really should use Windows 7 if you are planning to go SSD. Lack if TRIM support could lead to performance problems down the road.

Maverick123w
08-30-10, 08:50 PM
Vista???

ragejg
08-31-10, 12:10 PM
Meh.

:(

Idk what to do. I thought I'd wait a while before getting Win7, as I've figured out how to optimize Vista nicely WRT services and such.

I might try this out, but if I do, I'll do what I can to get Win7 as soon as I can afford it.

Roadhog
08-31-10, 12:44 PM
you don't need trim, OCZ drives have garbage collection. It works just as well.

Though, 30gb is not much, and a full SSD is a sad SSD.

ragejg
08-31-10, 12:47 PM
Well, if I get it, maybe for now I'll just put OS on it. Maybe I'll get a second one and do RAID 0 later on or I'll sell it for a larger unit when the time comes.

Bman212121
08-31-10, 12:52 PM
I don't think it's going to fit. After all of the pointers and what not I've seen my vista install showing ~25GB. Tack on that a swap file at the root of the drive, and you'll be out of space before you can even get a game on it.

Redeemed
08-31-10, 12:52 PM
Well, if I get it, maybe for now I'll just put OS on it. Maybe I'll get a second one and do RAID 0 later on or I'll sell it for a larger unit when the time comes.

Just being honest- but it sounds to me like you're really trying hard to justify the purchase.

I say if you want it that bad, get it. Even when full, the SSD will outperform your HDD. :) I'm using a 30GB Kingston SSD for my OS, have a 64GB Kingston SSD where I have an 8GB pagefile (I only have 4GB of RAM), a 320 and 500GB HDD for my docs and apps.

My 30GB SSD is about 73% full and still the system is far snappier than with an HDD. If you have the money, go for it. :)

Bearclaw
08-31-10, 12:55 PM
Newegg has a Kingston SSD for $99 today.

ragejg
08-31-10, 12:58 PM
I'm only interested because it's $50 as part of a hardware trade package with a mod over @ [H]. Kinda hard to pass up at that price.

Redeemed
08-31-10, 01:30 PM
I'm only interested because it's $50 as part of a hardware trade package with a mod over @ [H]. Kinda hard to pass up at that price.

So what's stoppin' ya'? :D

Buy it already. :)

Bearclaw
08-31-10, 01:41 PM
Eh, spend the $50 for an hour with DD. He has TRIM also. :bleh: