PDA

View Full Version : Motherboards: ASUS vs. GIGABYTE


Pages : [1] 2 3

Kain
08-31-10, 03:54 PM
How do "equivalent" ASUS and GIGABYTE motherboards compare? It is simply preference between these two brands or is one brand truly better than the other?

Maverick123w
08-31-10, 05:41 PM
I prefer Asus. Last 2 gigabyte boards I've had (1 AM3, 1 1156) have been less than stellar. This Asus board is a breath of fresh air.

HYBRID
08-31-10, 08:22 PM
Asus ftw

mullet
08-31-10, 10:28 PM
ASUS!

Bearclaw
08-31-10, 10:39 PM
ASUS. No contest. This is my first build I didn't use ASUS. And it was simply a price matter.

bob saget
09-01-10, 12:37 AM
Gigabyte. That is all.

supra
09-01-10, 01:44 AM
+1 for asus

crainger
09-01-10, 02:07 AM
ABit.

Muppet
09-01-10, 02:13 AM
Both Asus and Gigabyte make high quality boards. You can't go wrong with either. I myself have owned several of both and have never had any issues.

wysiwyg
09-01-10, 04:35 AM
i had 2 DOA asus boards last week

+1 for Gigabyte

nekrosoft13
09-01-10, 07:21 AM
Gigabyte, after few Asus boards, I had enough.

mcolbourn
09-01-10, 08:34 AM
Personally I would go for Gigabyte but Asus do make really good boards too

MaXThReAT
09-01-10, 08:41 AM
Gigabyte, after few Asus boards, I had enough.

+1

Kain
09-01-10, 09:53 AM
What if I throw EVGA into the mix?

Logical
09-01-10, 01:43 PM
Gigabyte..

Asus are overated and over priced with usually bad customer support.

DiscipleDOC
09-01-10, 03:12 PM
Asus ftw

+1

Drolfrawd
09-01-10, 03:25 PM
+1

First Gigabyte here, no problems

grey_1
09-01-10, 05:46 PM
Loved my Asus P5E and P5K-SE + my experience with an RMA on the latter was excellent. Both boards are still in the family and doing just fine.

Also running a Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H AM3 for my main rig, no issues and solid performance. Don't know about their customer service yet, which is a good thing. :lol:

fasedww
09-01-10, 07:22 PM
Asus, Rampage 3 is the best X58 motherboard out there.:D

mullet
09-01-10, 07:25 PM
Built systems with ASUS since the AMD k6-300 with win 95A. Never had to RMA one.

Shamrock
09-01-10, 09:20 PM
Gigabyte. Had 3, no problems. Had 2 Asus, while none went bad, it had a bad layout. IDE cables UNDER the video card? really?

Kain
09-01-10, 10:16 PM
Gigabyte. Had 3, no problems. Had 2 Asus, while none went bad, it had a bad layout. IDE cables UNDER the video card? really? Something like this? :p

http://www.gigabyte.com/fileupload/product/2/3237/1240.jpg

supra
09-01-10, 10:52 PM
lol

wheeljack12
09-02-10, 05:03 PM
gigabyte and asus have great boards. But for what my current MB offers over the rest of the 7 pci-e slot mb's, I have to go with gigabyte.

Shamrock
09-02-10, 09:38 PM
Something like this? :p

http://www.gigabyte.com/fileupload/product/2/3237/1240.jpg

Nope, not even close. Move that IDE plug down under the PCI slot about an inch then add another one, it had 2 ide. That was Asus.