PDA

View Full Version : Post your air cooling


grey_1
09-03-10, 09:50 AM
Just curious what setups and results folks have. I'm looking for cool + silent and am mainly looking for possible cooling upgrades (Air only) for my rig.

In a CM HAF922 I have -

-CPU - CM Hyper212 plus with CM 120mm case fan
-120mm exhaust - Antec red LED set on low
-200mm Antec side intake set on low
-CM 120mm mounted on the bottom as intake
-CM 140mm front intake
-CM 120mm front intake
-CM 230mm top exhaust on low

Ambient temp is 72f, and this is the rig in my sig.

Idle temps CPU and GPU

http://img832.imageshack.us/img832/3839/occtidle.th.jpg (http://img832.imageshack.us/i/occtidle.jpg/)http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/3778/480idle.th.jpg (http://img651.imageshack.us/i/480idle.jpg/)

Load temps - OCCT temp stayed stable after a couple of minutes = close enough for this thread, GPU is after a round of Metro 2033. I preferred 'real world' on the GPU vs Furmark.

http://img810.imageshack.us/img810/6290/100burn.th.jpg (http://img810.imageshack.us/i/100burn.jpg/)http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/149/480metro.th.jpg (http://img15.imageshack.us/i/480metro.jpg/)

Thanks :)

bob saget
09-03-10, 12:03 PM
Under gaming, GPU hits 65, not sure about CPU. Will report back later.

Including the CPU heasink, I have 6 fans, but no filters, so I get tons of dust :(

Redeemed
09-03-10, 04:51 PM
Ooooh... I like this thread. :D

Since my rig is "under construction" wouldn't be accurate to post anything now. But I'm expecting the rest of my parts to arrive first part of next week so I should have some results by then. :)

Also, I'm gonna' see if I can get internet out to my trailer by this weekend, so I'll be able to fully update ya'll if that happens. :)

Bearclaw
09-03-10, 05:20 PM
Not on air but the H50 setup but I just checked my temps with the program Grey was using and the temps shown on the mobo were WAY off from the program. :(

grey_1
09-03-10, 05:53 PM
Not on air but the H50 setup but I just checked my temps with the program Grey was using and the temps shown on the mobo were WAY off from the program. :(

What were you getting for load temps Bc?

Just curious -- I don't know that OCCT is the best prog to use for stress/load temps, but it seems to be fairly popular.

JasonPC
09-03-10, 06:00 PM
I believe the mobo cpu temp uses a different sensor. Core temps are the best to go by for the CPU.

grey_1
09-03-10, 06:13 PM
I believe the mobo cpu temp uses a different sensor. Core temps are the best to go by for the CPU.

True, what do you (or anyone else) use for load testing a cpu and measuring temps? Is coretemp (http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/) considered accurate?

Redeemed
09-04-10, 12:08 AM
True, what do you (or anyone else) use for load testing a cpu and measuring temps? Is coretemp (http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/) considered accurate?

I used to own everest ultimate... but it gets so confusing knowing which program is accurate and which isn't- I just gave up. :o

sammy sung
09-04-10, 12:39 AM
I have a Antec 1200 with 3x120mm intake fans,1x120mm side intake at the gfx card,2x120mm rear exhuast fans and 1 top 140mm exhuast fan.Theyre all at low or medium speed.

Idles at 33c and loads at 67c with the fan at a constant 60% and a small overclock.


http://i358.photobucket.com/albums/oo24/sammsung/miff.jpg
http://i358.photobucket.com/albums/oo24/sammsung/cpu-1.jpg

Cpu idle(@3.6ghz)

http://i358.photobucket.com/albums/oo24/sammsung/idle.jpg

Load

http://i358.photobucket.com/albums/oo24/sammsung/load.jpg

grey_1
09-04-10, 08:42 AM
Sammy - what prog is that you're using to monitor your temps/volts/fan speeds?

Thanks.

sammy sung
09-04-10, 09:13 AM
Sammy - what prog is that you're using to monitor your temps/volts/fan speeds?

Thanks.

Its an ASUS utility called Probe,Gigabyte might have something similar.Have you checked your motherboard cd's/dvd ?

Edit:They have something called easytune 6 that apparenty has hardware monitoring functions,if you can't find it try here : http://majorgeeks.com/EasyTune_6_d6118.html

grey_1
09-04-10, 09:21 AM
Its an ASUS utility called Probe,Gigabyte might have something similar.Have you checked your motherboard cd's/dvd ?

Edit:They have something called easytune 6 that apparenty has hardware monitoring functions,if you can't find it try here : http://majorgeeks.com/EasyTune_6_d6118.html

Heh! I never even checked easytune :o

The last version I used was just bulky, ugly as heck - I'll give this one a go though, thanks. :)

Maverick123w
09-04-10, 09:52 AM
Coolermaster CM 690 II Advanced

1x 140mm Front Intake
1x 140mm Hard drive bay Intake
1x 140mm Side Intake
1x 140mm Bottom Intake
2x 120mm Rear Exhaust (on h50)
2x 140mm Top Exhaust

Everything in my system is nice and chilly for air cooling.

Raptorman
09-05-10, 06:59 AM
http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/ab99/RaptormanPL/cpu1.jpg
http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/ab99/RaptormanPL/cpu2.jpg
I'm using an Apevia full-tower case (which is actually kind of small), with (3) 120mm fans, and my CPU cooler is a Coolermaster V8.

grey_1
09-05-10, 05:46 PM
You guys have some good cooling, thanks for posting it.

I think it's time I get some fine grit and lap this CM hyper....I've read it can be good for several c at load on this cooler.

Cheers :)

Bearclaw
09-05-10, 06:12 PM
Sidetrack -

Raptorman - Just got an HP printer. Have the same icon on my desktop. :bleh: Mine didn't come with the girl though.


/sidetrack