PDA

View Full Version : Server 2008 slow upload speed!!


KasuCode
10-18-10, 01:52 AM
I have Fios 35/35


My windows 7 Desktop gets
http://www.speedtest.net/result/994245721.png

My Windows Server 2008 gets
http://www.speedtest.net/result/994659801.png

Is there a setting I can adjust somewhere in Server 2008? all my other computers get 30ish MB upload too.

I know this is more software then hardware. But I need some answers :X

Roliath
10-18-10, 02:32 PM
its subjective, i wouldn't worry about it. do you get 35mb upload to other places/peers?

I wouldn't trust a speed site.

What kind of nics are you running? Not that it would make a huge difference at 35mb

KasuCode
10-18-10, 04:25 PM
I get that same 8-15MB upload on any speedtest. and it effects utorrent too.


I reset my modem recently because of some other issues i think that's the cause. I think it might have something to do with how the static ip is setup on the router. I have a friend remote into the server fixing it for me. (its part his server too)

using the onboard nics its just a file server. its a Realtek TRL8168C/8111C Gigabit adapter

bacon12
10-18-10, 04:29 PM
You should throw a $30 intel nic in there.

KasuCode
10-18-10, 04:44 PM
think its really worth it? like i said it was working fine just recently the uploads started messing up. ive always used onboard nics


I have this all also hooked up to a gig switch and trying to move over a large file I get around 95-120mb a second. to and from my server

bacon12
10-18-10, 04:51 PM
For lan transfers for sure. Your bandwidth won't come close to taxing it most likely. Stability is the main reason I would suggest it.

KasuCode
10-18-10, 05:00 PM
For lan transfers for sure. Your bandwidth won't come close to taxing it most likely. Stability is the main reason I would suggest it.

I might consider it if it keeps acting up. thanks :D

mullet
10-18-10, 06:18 PM
I have Fios 35/35


My windows 7 Desktop gets
http://www.speedtest.net/result/994245721.png

My Windows Server 2008 gets
http://www.speedtest.net/result/994659801.png

Is there a setting I can adjust somewhere in Server 2008? all my other computers get 30ish MB upload too.

I know this is more software then hardware. But I need some answers :X

TF2 server or I don't know you. :afro:

KasuCode
10-18-10, 06:50 PM
TF2 server or I don't know you. :afro:

It would make a good TF2 server. But it wouldn't be 24/7 because I'm constantly torrenting.

mullet
10-18-10, 10:12 PM
It would make a good TF2 server. But it wouldn't be 24/7 because I'm constantly torrenting.

(omg)

nekrosoft13
10-19-10, 07:13 AM
my server 2008 build hates realtek NICs, I had 2 boards with realtek NIC on the same install of 2008 R2 server and there were network issues, intel gigabit pro nic fixed it all up.

and when you mean 2008 server, do you mean 2008 server (vista based) or do you mean 2008 R2 server (win7 based)

KasuCode
10-19-10, 09:44 AM
win 7 R2 I might have to get a nice nic then

Bman212121
10-19-10, 10:08 AM
I can't remember the name of it right now, but it might have a feature enabled where it keeps the connection from being flooded.

If you look at the network graph you should see a steady curve upward for bandwidth. Using a longer upload test it will in fact reach the full speed, it just does it in small steps to try to keep you from sending too much data.

nekrosoft13
10-19-10, 10:23 AM
yap, I also turned that off on server, it has to be done by CMD, but i can't remember the name of it now.

mullet
10-19-10, 12:04 PM
necro, can you have one NIC receive and one NIC send data?