PDA

View Full Version : How does this build sound for a first-timer?

NWCook
11-07-10, 09:06 AM
I was wondering if you guys could give some insight about this gaming PC. I have never built a computer before and am a bit apprehensive. I don't plan to overclock.

CPU: Intel Core i7 950 (3.06GHz 8MB L3) using stock fan
Motherboard: Intel Extreme X58 DX58SO
Memory: Corsair XMS3 6GB (3x2GB) PC3-12800 1600MHz
Video Card: Geforce GTX 470
SSD: Intel X25M 160GB
Case: Antec 902
PSU: Antec TP Quattro 1000W
DVD Drive: Samsung

Monitor: Samsung PX2370 23" 1920x1080
Speakers: Altec Lansing VS2621 (not much of an audiophile)
KB + Mouse: Logitech Wireless

Anything else I need? Also could you recommend any good websites to help a first-time PC builder? Thanks.

ragejg
11-07-10, 09:51 AM
Hi NWCook. As NV News Editor In Chief and a moderator of these forums, I am very much a proponent of the NV News community as a means to get great PC building/maintenance advice. :)

It looks to me like you're building a fairly high-end system, with quality components that will last a while, especially if you cool it correctly.

If I were you I'd get this system together, post some pics, spend some time in our benchmarking forums and assess your system's performance, and enjoy the community here! :)

Vardant
11-07-10, 10:02 AM
Monitor: Samsung PX2370 23" 1920x1080

I think this would be a better choice - http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/products/Displays/productdetail.aspx?c=usl=en&cs=19&sku=320-9270

Btw. you're only getting the SSD?

bob saget
11-07-10, 12:33 PM
i think he should get something other than the stock cooler.
Corsair H50 or any number of air coolers.

Drolfrawd
11-07-10, 01:02 PM
Welcome any questions........... just ask me ..no problem

Madpistol
11-07-10, 01:03 PM
www.newegg.com is one of the best, if not the best place to get parts for a new computer. That only applies if your in the United States, though.