PDA

View Full Version : GTX 480 voltages


grey_1
11-18-10, 05:06 PM
Not sure if this should be here or in the overclocking forum as I only want advice on safe voltages...sorry if it's in the wrong forum.

Anyway, browsing XS it seems most folks rely on GPU-Z rather than Afterburner for accurate voltage readings. Here's my current readings.

http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/126/voltages.jpg (http://img268.imageshack.us/i/voltages.jpg/)

My question is, AB always shows a constant voltage reading while gpu-z shows min/max and average ( at min obviously in the screen capture) and my target is 800mhz at the moment, but I'm nervous about bumping the voltage because of the differing readings and wanted some input from folks here.

fwiw, there doesn't seem to be a "default" voltage that applies to all cards. Every post I could find stated differing voltages.

Sooo...just looking for a little help/guidance please?

TIA :)

Maverick123w
11-18-10, 05:54 PM
My 470 could hit 800 with less voltage than you have applied to your 480. Have u just tried ramping up the clocks and seeing if it's stable there?

Blacklash
11-18-10, 06:20 PM
Hmm not sure.

A friend of mine has a vanilla EVGA 480 that does 850 on the core via Precision with no voltage increases. He has to volt it up with Afterburner if he wants to do 900. I haven't asked him by how much. He's tried around 930 and it wasn't stable.

grey_1
11-18-10, 06:31 PM
My 470 could hit 800 with less voltage than you have applied to your 480. Have u just tried ramping up the clocks and seeing if it's stable there?
That voltage showing in AB is after I lowered it LOL! Default showing when I unlocked monitoring in ab was 1113. :o
Hmm not sure.

A friend of mine has a vanilla EVGA 480 that does 850 on the core via Precision with no voltage increases. He has to volt it up with Afterburner if he wants to do 900. I haven't asked him by how much. He's tried around 930 and it wasn't stable.

The 765 showing is the max I know for sure is stable. I thought I had 785 stable, but it crashed in a mess of artifacts playing L4D. Survived furmark and OCCT just fine, which is what prompted this.

I don't know exactly what the issue may be, unless I just got an extremely poor chip for overclocking.

Redeemed
11-18-10, 06:35 PM
That voltage showing in AB is after I lowered it LOL! Default showing when I unlocked monitoring in ab was 1113. :o


The 765 showing is the max I know for sure is stable. I thought I had 785 stable, but it crashed in a mess of artifacts playing L4D. Survived furmark and OCCT just fine, which is what prompted this.

I don't know exactly what the issue may be, unless I just got an extremely poor chip for overclocking.

I think you just need a beefier power supply. :bleh:

Seriously though, been so long since I oc'd a video card. No idea, but from what I'm gathering you should be able to hit 800 without much difficulty. :o

WeReWoLf
11-18-10, 11:32 PM
My card easily hits 850 @ 1012 voltage. I haven't tried pushing it further than that yet, but I dare say I probably could.

Muppet
11-19-10, 01:54 AM
I run both my cards at 800 on the core and memory at 2000. That is on stock volts.

grey_1
11-19-10, 05:28 AM
My card easily hits 850 @ 1012 voltage. I haven't tried pushing it further than that yet, but I dare say I probably could.

I run both my cards at 800 on the core and memory at 2000. That is on stock volts.

I think you just need a beefier power supply. :bleh:

Seriously though, been so long since I oc'd a video card. No idea, but from what I'm gathering you should be able to hit 800 without much difficulty. :o

Thanks guys, I'm having a hard time believing my chip is that lousy given the easy overclocks so many others are getting..

Maybe I will get a beefier PSU after all. Asus' PSU calculator linked on Nvidia's site says mine is the "minimum" recommended for my configuration. Heh.

Thanks guys

Maverick123w
11-19-10, 09:28 AM
Try lowering the voltage. Maybe you are applying too much? It's worth a shot. I'd try 800mhz right around 1000mv

grey_1
11-19-10, 09:34 AM
Try lowering the voltage. Maybe you are applying too much? It's worth a shot. I'd try 800mhz right around 1000mv

It can't hurt to try. It bothers me that the default is set so high though. According to some of the guys at XS, the lower the default voltage, the better overclocker it will be, or so they seem to think...I don't know.

Why can't it just be easy? :o :lol:

Redeemed
11-19-10, 10:46 AM
Thanks guys, I'm having a hard time believing my chip is that lousy given the easy overclocks so many others are getting..

Maybe I will get a beefier PSU after all. Asus' PSU calculator linked on Nvidia's site says mine is the "minimum" recommended for my configuration. Heh.

Thanks guys

Bro- you know I was joking with that PSU comment, right? :o Not so sure that's what's holding you back. :lol: :)

grey_1
11-19-10, 10:51 AM
Bro- you know I was joking with that PSU comment, right? :o Not so sure that's what's holding you back. :lol: :)

I know :)

I just don't like not knowing for sure, and with both cpu and gpu overclocked it could well be pushing it, especially if it's a defective PSU, but the issue doesn't show except for when it's under a heavy amp draw, which the 480 does excel at :lol:

I did take 5 fans out of my rig this morning including a 230mm, a 140mm and 3 120s - that should give a little relief :lol:

Blacklash
11-19-10, 08:18 PM
If you manage to get your 480 to do 821 on the core it looks like you'd be about 4% slower on average than a stock 580 @ 1920x.

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Gigabyte/GeForce_GTX_480_SOC/27.html

People with 480s that do 850 on the core are probably close to dead even with a stock 580 or possibly a little a head. Of course the 580 will OC too, and people with those cards that OC decently will easily pull away from an OCed 480.

IMO an OCed 480 is still a viable card and I wouldn't buy one over a 580. I might hold onto one I already had that OCs well though.