PDA

View Full Version : Any way to refresh "power" of my pc?


HiCZoK4
01-15-11, 09:08 AM
Hi guys! I guess the anserw is a big no but anyway.
I am mostly playing on 360 but lack of antyaliasing and low res in couple of games are unbearable... :bleh:

My pc isnt all that bad, even though Its almost 4 years old (gpu 3yo) but it hadnt failed on me and its still going quite strong;)
My friend got new pc last week. i3 3,06, 4gb kingston, gt240 1gb and he scores 8k in 3dmark 2006 while I do 10k :lol:
I did tried unigine heaven demo and its 20 fpsish 1680x1050 high on dx10 (8800 dont have dx11)

Maybe oc cpu a little more? Or maybe oc my 8800gt inno3d(which is already stock oc edition)
about 50 C degress on both cpu cores and 50-60 gpu btw.
My spec is in the sig. I am using 7 32bit with all the latest drivers.

Maverick123w
01-15-11, 09:53 AM
I'm a little confused by your post. I'm assuming you want to get more performance out of your rig?

I'd start by upgrading that chip. It's a first gen C2D and while it was amazing when it came out it's nothing now.

If your boards supports it one of these would be a huge increase in performance for little cash...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116367&cm_re=pentium_dual_core-_-19-116-367-_-Product

One of these would be a nice jump over you 8800gt without breaking the bank as well
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130573&cm_re=nvidia_450-_-14-130-573-_-Product

HiCZoK4
01-15-11, 11:18 AM
Yes. I want to get more performance out of my CURRENT rig, but I don't want to buy anything yet until year or so

Maverick123w
01-15-11, 11:19 AM
Yes. I want to get more performance out of my CURRENT rig, but I don't want to buy anything yet until year or so

Well you're probably at around the max OC you could reasonably expect out of that chip :(

HiCZoK4
01-15-11, 11:31 AM
I did reached 2.8 and was using it for some time but it was unstable so I switched back to 2,45

nekrosoft13
01-15-11, 11:56 AM
I did reached 2.8 and was using it for some time but it was unstable so I switched back to 2,45

then you already answered your own question.

elithawilliam
02-08-11, 03:46 AM
The best way round is to do the market survey in the computer hardware industry. KVM switch (http://www.kvmstuff.com/server-management/kvm-switches.html)

bob saget
02-08-11, 04:09 AM
reported ^