PDA

View Full Version : installed a X-fi HD


onmikesline
01-22-11, 05:56 PM
Hey guys, i installed a x-fi HD a few weeks ago and it seems that if you want to install can's for opamps the cover is not big enough, cant i just leave the shield off? maybe creative knows about it. seems like a faulty design

LydianKnight
01-23-11, 02:16 AM
Hey guys, i installed a x-fi HD a few weeks ago and it seems that if you want to install can's for opamps the cover is not big enough, cant i just leave the shield off? maybe creative knows about it. seems like a faulty design

Apart from (supposedly, but could be just Creative's product marketing bull$h1t) keeping a cleaner profile on the DAC/ADC, electromagnetically-wise, I don't see any use for it, so (in theory, that's it) you should be able to just remove it.

bacon12
01-23-11, 09:03 AM
Just wrap it in tin foil. :D

onmikesline
01-23-11, 09:06 AM
ill be drilling holes so that the can's can fit, thats the only thing that will stick out when im done

XDanger
01-23-11, 10:36 AM
Just wrap it in tin foil. :D
http://www.instawares.com/foil-laminated-board-lid-2047lhfa.2047lhfa.0.7.htm?LID=GRBR&srccode=cii_5784816&cpncode=25-21527207-2

Chinese food container lid ,foil on one side and card on the other.

My older Commodore 64's use a similar material.