PDA

View Full Version : Is the XP 3200+ the last of the 32-bit?


TheTaz
08-04-03, 12:31 PM
I read from some user comment on a sale website (like newegg) that the XP 3200+ is the LAST 32-bit chip AMD is going to make.

Is this true?

If this is true... I'm prolly just gonna get an Athlon XP 2600+ for my nForce 1 board, and wait until I see an nForce 3 or nForce 4(?) product that I want. So far, nForce 3's don't have all the bells and whistsles (Primarily the audio).

At this point... I'm not totally sold on the Athlon 64, and was looking to buy an Nforce 2 motherboard.

But if I can't upgrade past the XP 3200+ at a later date... that makes an nforce 2 worthless, IMO.

The only other 400MHz Barton is the XP 3000+ and they are very limited, in supply, though they cost quite a bit less. (Most are the 333MHz Bartons).

Any info / confirmation would be appreciated.

Regards,

Taz

Dazz
08-04-03, 02:49 PM
Pretty much, but i think it will go upto 3800+ aka 2.4GHz.

TheTaz
08-06-03, 02:39 PM
Originally posted by Dazz
Pretty much, but i think it will go upto 3800+ aka 2.4GHz.

Well... that sucks. :(

Guess I'll buy an Athlon XP 2600+ 266MHz for my nForce 1 board.

Any overclocking guides for an ASUS A7N266-C with Kingston PC2100 @ CL2, and the XP 2600+?

Or will I have to get faster RAM, too?

thanks,

Taz

Dazz
08-06-03, 07:24 PM
If you drop your CL down to 2.5/3/3 then it go as far as your processor can handle.

TheTaz
08-06-03, 07:33 PM
Originally posted by Dazz
If you drop your CL down to 2.5/3/3 then it go as far as your processor can handle.

That's just the FSB adjustment tho... whattabout farting around with unlocking the processor and tinkering with the multiplier?

Then the voltage settings?

Dazz
08-07-03, 08:00 AM
I think the wire trick works for the VIA/older nForce boards.