PDA

View Full Version : CPU


Pages : [1] 2

dune44
02-06-11, 11:23 AM
What is a CPU that I could buy that would run the 500 series, ones that are not the i7 Series, because, I don't have alot of money, as well as I don't want to by another mother board.

Albo
02-06-11, 11:58 AM
All CPUs will run with all video cards.

What motherboard do you have now?

bob saget
02-06-11, 12:03 PM
yes, it would help if you told us what you have...:lol:

Bearclaw
02-06-11, 12:05 PM
:lol:

Any CPU.

Albo
02-06-11, 12:11 PM
This is wrong section, but anyways.

He has a 775 socket CPU.

There aren't many choices to go with that wouldn't hold back a 500 series GPU. That being said, your choices are between:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 Yorkfield 3.0GHz (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115130)

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115041)

Or anything on this page, if you don't like the ones above. http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007671%20600005851%20600030236&IsNodeId=1&name=Quad-Core&Order=BESTMATCH&Pagesize=20

dune44
02-06-11, 01:53 PM
Hello and sorry, I guess I should re phrase my question. Basically, I want to know what CPU I could buy that would be affordable and would run the full potential, of the 500 Series, that would work in a P5Q Motherboard.

Roadhog
02-06-11, 01:55 PM
Hello and sorry, I guess I should re phrase my question. Basically, I want to know what CPU I could buy that would be affordable and would run the full potential, of the 500 Series, that would work in a P5Q Motherboard.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115130

Albo
02-06-11, 02:27 PM
Hello and sorry, I guess I should re phrase my question. Basically, I want to know what CPU I could buy that would be affordable and would run the full potential, of the 500 Series, that would work in a P5Q Motherboard.

That is impossible.

You need to upgrade your MOBO as well. Every 775 CPU will hold back a 500 series card.

Roadhog
02-06-11, 02:49 PM
That is impossible.

You need to upgrade your MOBO as well. Every 775 CPU will hold back a 500 series card.

No it won't... A Q9650 is plenty fast for a 560/570...

dune44
02-06-11, 03:36 PM
No it won't... A Q9650 is plenty fast for a 560/570...

I assume that is the link you posted for me? Is this CPU alot better then the E8400?

Albo
02-06-11, 03:41 PM
No it won't... A Q9650 is plenty fast for a 560/570...

Is it? Nvm then.

dune44
02-06-11, 03:44 PM
This little hexacore costs $360. And it blows away that thing.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103849

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131402

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231225

Sorry for my Lack of Knowledge on the subject, but, if I can upgrade, all that, for the same price wouldn't it make more sense? As well as, would that motherboard support the I7 series?

Albo
02-06-11, 03:49 PM
Sorry for my Lack of Knowledge on the subject, but, if I can upgrade, all that, for the same price wouldn't it make more sense? As well as, would that motherboard support the I7 series?

if you can afford it, it generally is better. The CPUs are pretty equal, but the amd is slightly better. The AMD has 6 cores, which will help later on in games, and it allows you to upgrade later. 775 is almost dead now, there aren't many options now a days, and since its dying out most of the CPUs are expensive since there aren't that many being made.

It would not support the i7, because it's an AMD CPU compatible. Intel makes the i3/5/7 series.

dune44
02-06-11, 04:21 PM
I was satisfied with my E8400, but in your opinion, I should go with the AMD? Basically just get that whole package, for $350 Maybe $400. Then Get the 560 or 570.

P.S. I only have Windows Xp 32 Bit, I was considering 64 Bit, but I want to get Windows 7, as well, Would Windows 7 run all the XP stuff I have right now, programs, game, ect. I know ultimate should, but what about Professional.

(This is a bit off topic, but it's all works out in the end to help me get a 500 Series Card)

Madpistol
02-06-11, 04:29 PM
Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium is a fantastic OS. It has very few compatibility issues with games and other programs, so I wouldn't worry about it if I were you.

Your assessment sounds about right. Spend $50-100 on RAM (4 or 8GB), spend $100 on a nice motherboard, and spend $200 on a Phenom II X6 1090T. $400 will get you a lot right now. Couple that with a GTX 560 or 570, and you will be set. :)

dune44
02-06-11, 04:34 PM
All I needed to know, Thanks guys for all your help. One final Question, I'm from Canada, can I order from Newegg? Or do I have to go to Tiger Direct.

Albo
02-06-11, 04:43 PM
I was satisfied with my E8400, but in your opinion, I should go with the AMD? Basically just get that whole package, for $350 Maybe $400. Then Get the 560 or 570.

P.S. I only have Windows Xp 32 Bit, I was considering 64 Bit, but I want to get Windows 7, as well, Would Windows 7 run all the XP stuff I have right now, programs, game, ect. I know ultimate should, but what about Professional.

(This is a bit off topic, but it's all works out in the end to help me get a 500 Series Card)

I think the whole AMD upgrade/new build is the better way to go, not with the single CPU.

If you're willing to go $400, scrap that ram, and get this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231314

8 GB will be better than 6. Maybe not now, but later for sure.

Also, Windows 7 generally is more compatible with Xp than vista was. So definitely windows 7. There is also a thing called XP mode in certain Windows 7 versions. It is in the Pro and the Ultimate version. Basically XP virtualization. So get either the Pro or the Ultimate. And you HAVE to go with x64 because of the 6/8 GB or ram.

So yea. Should be a very nice upgrade from the e8400

Albo
02-06-11, 04:44 PM
All I needed to know, Thanks guys for all your help. One final Question, I'm from Canada, can I order from Newegg? Or do I have to go to Tiger Direct.

Yes, right here:

http://www.newegg.ca/

Damn, the prices seem to be more than the American version. The CPU is $40 more. That's not good. :/

Roadhog
02-06-11, 04:57 PM
Why not wait a month for sandy bridge to be fixed? Then just after that Bulldozer will be out. It's stupid to do an upgrade like that right now imo.

Albo
02-06-11, 05:02 PM
Why not wait a month for sandy bridge to be fixed? Then just after that Bulldozer will be out. It's stupid to do an upgrade like that right now imo.

^He's right.

Wait a bit, and get a Sandy Bridge.

dune44
02-06-11, 05:07 PM
Why not wait a month for sandy bridge to be fixed? Then just after that Bulldozer will be out. It's stupid to do an upgrade like that right now imo.

Well, Im at the pipelines right now, so I won't be home for another month and a half anyway. So, what would be the big deal about this Sandy Bridge, as well, as price wise.

Roadhog
02-06-11, 05:09 PM
Well, Im at the pipelines right now, so I won't be home for another month and a half anyway. So, what would be the big deal about this Sandy Bridge, as well, as price wise.

Well, the 2500K which is in the same price range as the 1090t is much, faster than it. Best bang for your buck right now.

Albo
02-06-11, 05:11 PM
Well, Im at the pipelines right now, so I won't be home for another month and a half anyway. So, what would be the big deal about this Sandy Bridge, as well, as price wise.

Well the 2500k would be the thing you buy, as that's the best value for the money. That is like $20 more than what the 1090T is. It is MUCH faster than the 1090T.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115072

With a different mobo as well. And RAM might have to change, depending on the Mobo type.

dune44
02-06-11, 05:11 PM
Well, the 2500K which is in the same price range as the 1090t is much, faster than it. Best bang for your buck right now.

Well that settles it, I'll just re price everything in a month or so from now. I'll be back! I'm going to assume you guys will be on in a month or so haha, with all your high post counts.

Albo
02-06-11, 05:13 PM
Well that settles it, I'll just re price everything in a month or so from now. I'll be back! I'm going to assume you guys will be on in a month or so haha, with all your high post counts.

No I'm leaving and never coming back after this post. Sorry. :(