PDA

View Full Version : BF 1942 Performance


CaptNKILL
08-04-03, 06:01 PM
Im hoping to get some input on this one.

Ive been playing a lot of Desert Combat for BF1942 and since ive been using this older mobo (see sig) ive noticed AWEFULL performance drops when a lot is happening on screen. Im not talking 20fps im talking 1-10fps when lots of vehicles\aircraft are firing. This happens in normal (unmodded) BF1942 as well.

Here are my Fraps results, and they are accurate (which I didnt think they would be after seeing other people's recorded framerates in this game).
2003-08-05 04:44:38 - bf1942
Frames: 41151 - Time: 736920ms - Avg: 55.841 - Min: 19 - Max: 101

2003-08-05 05:05:45 - bf1942
Frames: 29103 - Time: 689762ms - Avg: 42.192 - Min: 4 - Max: 81

2003-08-05 05:27:34 - bf1942
Frames: 48160 - Time: 999057ms - Avg: 48.205 - Min: 1 - Max: 101

3 different test, all running the same settings, but on different maps at different times, all on the same server, playing with anywhere from 15 people (first test) to over 30 (second and third tests).

1024x768, all settings totaly maxed ingame (even texture detail at 100% because of my 256Mb card). No AF, NO AA, Application setting.

The game runs VERY smooth most of the time, but when the rockets\bullets start flying, I get the framerates above. Its BEYOND unplayable, its actually hard to LOOK AT because its so choppy. I'll also add that the texture filtering "bugs" with these drivers and this card make the game look freaking horrible. Everything is all shimmery, yet blurry at the same time. Enabling AF sharpes things up, but the shimmering is still there and its very annoying.

I'll do some tests now with AA\AF to see if there is any difference. I have a feeling there isnt going to be.

I dont recall ever EVER having these horrible slow downs before, but all that has really changed since ive noticed them is a slower motherboard (from KT333 and Nforce2 mobos to SIS735 with 266Mhz BUS\RAM). I wish I knew what was causing this.

Also, Id really appreciate it if anyone with Fraps and BF1942 (preferebly Desert Combat) could do some similar tests and post the results.

Thanks guys.

CaptNKILL
08-04-03, 07:07 PM
Well here are my results with 4x AF and 2x AA:

2003-08-05 06:06:19 - BF1942
Frames: 19735 - Time: 576269ms - Avg: 34.246 - Min: 1 - Max: 71

Keep in mind that this was on a different map than the other tests (an unofficial map). But there were about the same amount of people playing.

Im pretty impressed with the overall performance when using AA\AF, I just wish I knew why the hell the game drops below 10fps... let alone 1fps! Thats completely rediculous.

CaptNKILL
08-04-03, 07:57 PM
Here is 4x AA and -1.0 MipBias, with all details on lowest with full draw distance at 1024x768:
2003-08-05 07:28:35 - bf1942
Frames: 72897 - Time: 1552893ms - Avg: 46.942 - Min: 1 - Max: 101

Almost the same as before, so its not too many polygons or textures (turned the settings to lowest).

Im stumped :(

CaptNKILL
08-04-03, 09:02 PM
Here we are again with all details maxed and 4x AF:
2003-08-05 08:10:37 - BF1942
Frames: 11006 - Time: 226787ms - Avg: 48.530 - Min: 25 - Max: 87

2003-08-05 08:14:25 - BF1942
Frames: 67508 - Time: 1251269ms - Avg: 53.951 - Min: 16 - Max: 97

What was different to give better minimum frame rates? HARDWARE SOUND ENABLED.

It turns out that the Turtle Beach Santa Cruz just sucks when hardware sound isnt enabled. Too bad when it IS enabled the game sounds horrible (most sounds dont even play).

I guess Im stuck with this crap until I get my Nforce 2 board back. Soundstorm stomps any other card ive used.

Also, im sure once I OC my CPU to 2Ghz, it'l speed things up as well. :D

CaptNKILL
08-05-03, 04:06 AM
Input please ;)

CaptNKILL
08-05-03, 05:10 AM
Hey Me, ive got another update! ;)

BF 1942 DC, 1024x768, full everything, hardware sound, 8x Application AF -1.5mip bias

2003-08-05 16:19:57 - BF1942
Frames: 68823 - Time: 1273161ms - Avg: 54.056 - Min: 22 - Max: 101

Server had about 20 people playing on Gazala. TOTALY PLAYABLE! I dont know why or how, but the only time I noticed significant slow downs was when there were lots of smoke clouds and explosions (as usual) and when zooming with scope\binocs. Even then, the lowest I saw (and recorded) was 22fps! DAMN! Im very impressed with this video card now. The AF performance is blowing me away for how crappy everyone thinks this thing is. My 4400 croaked BAD when I enabled 8x AF in this game.

This is sweet! I cant wait until I get my NF7-S back.... Abit recieved it on the 28th, so it should be ready pretty soon! That is, if they actually honor the "around 10 days" thing on their site.

Behemoth
08-05-03, 11:27 PM
i am still new to b1942. so i dont know which map is desert combat :P, i also dont have the guts to go online yet :) so i loaded ELE ALAMEIN in instant action and messing around and got this fraps result:

2003-08-06 10:57:59 - BF1942
Frames: 15098 - Time: 360250ms - Avg: 41.909 - Min: 18 - Max: 56

my system/setting: p4 1.7/fx5800 @ 500/900, 1024x768 no AA/AF, max video settings, hardware sound.

when there is not much happening around, the framerate can be as high as steady 50ish fps, on the other hand, when lots of combat happening the framerate can just drop to as low as 4 fps :o

these are first few maps results from single player mode:

setting: 1024x768 no AA/AF
2003-08-06 00:08:39 - BF1942
Frames: 10760 - Time: 518296ms - Avg: 20.760 - Min: 4 - Max: 59

setting: 1024x768 4xAA/8xAF
2003-08-06 00:21:35 - BF1942
Frames: 2073 - Time: 89188ms - Avg: 23.243 - Min: 12 - Max: 47

setting: 640x480 4xAA/8xAF
2003-08-06 00:26:29 - BF1942
Frames: 9407 - Time: 499453ms - Avg: 18.834 - Min: 7 - Max: 62

the framerates really depend on the random in-game actions for the most part. i think :D

CaptNKILL
08-06-03, 12:40 AM
How much ram do you have? Those results seem a little low. Although Im sure it runs slower for you because there are bots (fake players). Are CPUs are probably similar in speed for this game (1.7Ghz and 1700+... right? ;) )

And Desert Combat isnt a map :p its a mod that takes place in Desert Storm, its very popular, you should try it out!

Behemoth
08-06-03, 01:03 AM
i got 1G ram. dunno why my rig is so slow :p , can you fraps the first few maps in single player mode if you have time ;). i am thinking of upgrading my system and probably will try AMD processor if that is the cause of my slow performance :D

Behemoth
08-06-03, 01:13 PM
just finished this map called "operation market garden", its rather smooth!!! :D
@ 1024x768 4xAA/8xAF, performance mode, cant notice mipmap boundaries @ 8xAF honestly, there is a good reason why there is a performance mode. the game is beautiful with AA and AF on ;).

2003-08-06 10:57:59 - BF1942
Frames: 15098 - Time: 360250ms - Avg: 41.909 - Min: 18 - Max: 56

CaptNKILL
08-06-03, 10:34 PM
Originally posted by Behemoth
just finished this map called "operation market garden", its rather smooth!!! :D
@ 1024x768 4xAA/8xAF, performance mode, cant notice mipmap boundaries @ 8xAF honestly, there is a good reason why there is a performance mode. the game is beautiful with AA and AF on ;).

2003-08-06 10:57:59 - BF1942
Frames: 15098 - Time: 360250ms - Avg: 41.909 - Min: 18 - Max: 56
nice, if I get some time, I'll try the same things you did in single player.

I hate having this crummy little 1.466Ghz behind my 5600 tho. My CPU intensive tests are going to crawl. I cant wait until my NF7-S comes back from RMA, Im going to OC this baby to like 1.9 or 2 Ghz with 166fsb. I just wish I could keep it a tad cooler because at 2Ghz its just a LITTLE too hot. Around 55C load. I need more fans in my case or something. I guess I cant complain too much, 2Ghz is a whole 533Mhz higher than default! And this thing only cost me $50 a few months back :D

EDIT: Woohoo! My new board shipped out yesterday!! My UPS tracking number doesnt work (what a surprise :rolleyes:) but im pretty sure I wont get it until next week... damn slow UPS ;)

Behemoth
08-06-03, 11:54 PM
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
nice, if I get some time, I'll try the same things you did in single player.

I hate having this crummy little 1.466Ghz behind my 5600 tho. My CPU intensive tests are going to crawl. I cant wait until my NF7-S comes back from RMA, Im going to OC this baby to like 1.9 or 2 Ghz with 166fsb. I just wish I could keep it a tad cooler because at 2Ghz its just a LITTLE too hot. Around 55C load. I need more fans in my case or something. I guess I cant complain too much, 2Ghz is a whole 533Mhz higher than default! And this thing only cost me $50 a few months back :D

EDIT: Woohoo! My new board shipped out yesterday!! My UPS tracking number doesnt work (what a surprise :rolleyes:) but im pretty sure I wont get it until next week... damn slow UPS ;)
congrats on your new board started shipping :).
i cant stand my p4 1.7 for too long either. p4's FSB800 and hyper threading look very competent. i really want to upgrade to p4 3.2 at least, but its still not very good of the price/Hz ratio. i may need to wait until next price cut or i am thinking of getting p4 2.8 that reviews say it OC to 3.2 easily on stock cooling, tempting....:drooling: