PDA

View Full Version : 6970 or 560....


Pages : [1] 2

Roliath
02-10-11, 02:40 PM
Ordering next friday, 6970 or 560 (xfire/sli) I play everything at 2560x1600 and I have the screens for nv surround or eyefinity.
discuss

bob saget
02-10-11, 02:49 PM
as a single card, 6970 seems very slightly faster

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/40119-nvidia-geforce-gtx-560-ti-1gb-review-9.html

this is crossfire/sli

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1488/15/

http://www.legitreviews.com/images/reviews/1488/heaven.jpg

Redeemed
02-10-11, 02:54 PM
Well, I've heard so many bad things about CrossFire. Single card for AMD seems fine, but CrossFire seems 50/50. Some folk like Roadhog don't have any major issues. Other's have problems left and right. I know many of the problems are likely ignorance/user error. Some, however, are legitimate. And I've never used CrossFire myself but have used SLi quite a bit. So I voted for dual 560s.

HOWEVER, I'd imagine the 6970s would offer greater performance. So if you aren't opposed to CrossFire I'd say 6970s. Honestly, if I had the money to spend I'd do 6970s just to give it a go. If they worked well and didn't give me any issues I'd keep the setup. If they did give me issues I'd sell 'em and go 560 SLi.

So I guess in short this isn't much help. :p I'd say 6970 CrossFire would offer better performance, and potentially run cooler while consuming less power. But YMMV with CrossFire is what I'd say. SLi seems to be a more solid, refined multi-card solution so you'd probably encounter less issues.

Eh, don't think I helped any. :p :o :lol:

Roliath
02-10-11, 02:57 PM
lol
thanks though!

Roliath
02-10-11, 03:02 PM
Why slawter?

Redeemed
02-10-11, 03:09 PM
Why slawter?

Drivers. That's what I was referrin' to. Some people such as Roadhog don't have any issues, others encounter them left and right. I think if you only play mainstream and newer games you'll probably not encounter any problems. Usually it's the less popular or older titles that encounter issues.

I myself ran into a rather frustrating problem. CoD (the original) and MoH:AA won't play on any drivers other than the Cat 10.4s- any newer version and the game errors out when I go to play 'em. Only two titles I've encountered an issue with. I actually started playing many older DOS based games via DOSBox and they all play fine, even older one that support 3D accelleration.

Granted I'm only running single card, and that seems to be on par with nVidia in most cases regarding drivers.

Madpistol
02-10-11, 04:06 PM
Dual GTX 560's will cost less, and you'll probably have less issues with them as well. The HD 6970's would be faster and last longer though (once they work right). There's no doubt about that.

Roadhog
02-10-11, 04:28 PM
stop talking about me behind my back guys... :p

I pre-order most of my games, and even play betas... So to say I never play any games right when they are released is just wrong. Lol. All of my cards before my 5870s were nvidia, except for a 9700 pro so I can't say that I ever tried any if those games people have claimed not to work with ati. All I do know is that they do work currently. So there is no need to bring up old issues like that.

yeah, ati drivers used to be ****, key word, used to. Right now you get whql divers monthly, hotfixes when needed, and regular app profiles.

Look at the one person who just bought sli 570s, and is already having issues. Yet just before that they were having issues with ati too. Obviously it want an ati problem. LOL And it probably isn't an nvidia issue either.

Also, I find it hilarious you guys are recommending a 1gb card over a 2gb card for 2560x1600 multi monitors... Fanboys much?

Roliath
02-10-11, 04:32 PM
My qualms with SLI are this, when I have all 4 screens hooked up (three 2007's and one single 2560) the driver itself will crash or cause a bsod at times depending on what i'm doing graphically. Hence why I want to go to ATI or at least may go ATI to see how well they handle multimonitor setups.
I could go into detail, but can't at the moment as i'm getting ready for work.
Keep in mind before you respond, my rig is stable as hell when using the single 30inch dell; its only when I have the 2007's enabled when I see any sort of trouble and its rare, but it does happen.

EDIT: Also I don't like that I am limited to 3 screens in tri-sli which leaves my setup useless because I have to run one gpu as phsx to power the other two screens. (285 SLI powers a 30in and 20in dell, 1x 285 powers two 20in dells.)

Sazar
02-10-11, 04:51 PM
as a single card, 6970 seems very slightly faster

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/40119-nvidia-geforce-gtx-560-ti-1gb-review-9.html

this is crossfire/sli

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1488/15/

http://www.legitreviews.com/images/reviews/1488/heaven.jpg

Dude, that Unigine game is the dogs bollocks :bleh:

ViN86
02-10-11, 07:20 PM
Wish I could get my hands on another 560, then I'd let you know how they do. :o

bob saget
02-10-11, 07:45 PM
Dude, that Unigine game is the dogs bollocks :bleh:

i just picked a random graph :( so much hate...:(

Viral
02-11-11, 12:48 AM
Honestly from what I've seen I think ATI area ahead on the multi monitor front. I would have to recommend the 6970 just because of that alone.

Madpistol
02-11-11, 11:15 AM
Can you name an example please?

I think both companies are equal in that regard. nV Surround is even easier to set up.

nV Surround requires 2 cards. Eyefinity doesn't.

AMD/ATI claims the victory on the multi-monitor front.

Rollo
02-11-11, 12:35 PM
That's a superb feature for 2D multi-monitoring like those 3 or 6 screen setups for the financial sector.

For gaming, a single card doesn't really cut it in my opinion.

I agree with this.

However, I don't think you can do this with NVIDIA surround:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dv-system-requirements-surround-technology.html

Will the 2007s have the same sync polarity as the 3007? For sure they don't all have a common resolution.

I doubt this works with NVIDIA products, but will forward to them. If it does on a 6970, that would be the choice.

mizzer
02-11-11, 02:03 PM
Neither.

2x 570's in SLI.

http://www.buy.com/prod/pny-vcggtx570xpb-geforce-gtx-570-1gb-gddr5-video-card/q/loc/101/219054400.html

mcbacker
02-11-11, 02:08 PM
Neither.

2x 570's in SLI.

http://www.buy.com/prod/pny-vcggtx570xpb-geforce-gtx-570-1gb-gddr5-video-card/q/loc/101/219054400.html

Best cost-benefity ever and without CROSSFIRE issues! (nana2)

Roliath
02-11-11, 02:17 PM
I have a deal pending on 6970's right now, we shall see what happens.

I did set a budget this time around, I feel i'm growing old; And really Nvidia priced itself out of the competition imo (for me this go around at least).

Rollo
02-11-11, 06:04 PM
NVIDIA guys say they haven't tested this config, so no guarantees on it working.

I'm sticking to my 6970 recommendation for those who wish to span three 2007FPs in portrait with a 3008.

Redeemed
02-11-11, 10:00 PM
NVIDIA guys say they haven't tested this config, so no guarantees on it working.

I'm sticking to my 6970 recommendation for those who wish to span three 2007FPs in portrait with a 3008.

:bugeyes:










:wonder:


NO WAI!!!!!!


:lol:

Madpistol
02-11-11, 10:37 PM
:bugeyes:










:wonder:


NO WAI!!!!!!


:lol:

Cold day in hell, right? :lol:

Redeemed
02-11-11, 10:49 PM
Cold day in hell, right? :lol:

Precisely. :lol:

Roliath
02-15-11, 09:51 PM
Thanks guys, pending deal currently so hopefully I will get them early next week.

EDIT: 2/21 cards should be here thursday (two 6970s). Will post results comparing sli 285 and tri sli 285 vs xfire 6970's.

Roliath
02-23-11, 12:37 PM
Cards are in and installed, let me just say i'm frustrated and nvidia drivers so far are leaps and bounds ahead of the game.

Roliath
02-23-11, 01:29 PM
Sorry to hear that but I can't say I'm not surprised.
Hope you can iron out the problems soon!

I can't enable my 2, 3, or 4th monitor right now without kicking my dell 3008 offline.
In Xfire, none of my displays on the second card are detected. This was the same in SLI and I needed a third gpu to power up the last two displays.
The second LCD (dell 2007fp) on my primary gpu, once enabled will make my 3008wfp go offline and I have to reboot to re-initialize.

Just got some food and will try and figure this out for the next hour before I go to work.