PDA

View Full Version : 3D Vision kit ordered


Pages : [1] 2

Peoples-Agent
02-12-11, 04:55 AM
Just ordered an nVidia 3D Vision kit, I couldn't resist.

Got the graphics cards, got the monitor, so it just had to be done.

Anyone here got any pointers? Seems to be a common theme to use little or no AA in games with it on. Is that because you no longer notice jaggies, or just that the performance hit is too great?

And i'm confused about this 3D TV Play thing. Is that just the new name for it? 3D Vision works the same?

Rummy
02-12-11, 05:16 AM
Talk to Grey_1 he's dabbled a bit in the 3d realm.

Rollo
02-12-11, 08:47 AM
Just ordered an nVidia 3D Vision kit, I couldn't resist.

Got the graphics cards, got the monitor, so it just had to be done.

Anyone here got any pointers? Seems to be a common theme to use little or no AA in games with it on. Is that because you no longer notice jaggies, or just that the performance hit is too great?

And i'm confused about this 3D TV Play thing. Is that just the new name for it? 3D Vision works the same?

I've been using 3d Vision and 3d Vision Surround since launch, can give you my opinions.

The AA thing is for both reasons, the blending of the two rendered images does have a "pseudo AA" effect. 3d Vision cuts framerates in half, so depending on the game, you may not want to cut it further.

3D TV Play is for HDMI 1.4 TVs, 3d Vision is for dual link dvi displays like the 120HZ monitors, DLP tvs with a 3d chip, and some projectors.

3D TV Play displays:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-play-requirements.html#3dtvs

3d Vision Displays:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/3d-vision-requirements.html

My last comments would be that the list of supported games is not all inclusive, I've played games in 3d that weren't on it before. Aslo you might want to try games that aren't in the excellent category, because they may have flaws in some areas of the game, but work great in the rest. (e.g. in Unreal 2 there are a few spots with light poles and railings that get rendered in total double vision, but 99% of the game looks great)

I like re-playing old games in 3d and seeing them in a new way.

Peoples-Agent
02-12-11, 08:48 AM
Had much luck getting Dead Space 2 to work in 3D? Can imagine that would be quite incredible.

Rollo
02-12-11, 09:27 AM
Had much luck getting Dead Space 2 to work in 3D? Can imagine that would be quite incredible.

I've never tried it to be honest. I have that game though, so I suppose I could. I never really played that one, which is odd as that is my favorite type of game and that one is supposed to be good.

I only used to for benchmarking the Christmas season it came out, then forgot about it.:confused:

The last game I played was Mafia2, played whole game in 3d Vision Surround. I've been playing Just Cause 2, UT2004, and HL2 in 3d Vision Surround lately.

I just bought Dead Rising 2 as I saw it was 3d Optimized, but haven't played much because a. stretches big time in surround b. surround slows response enough it makes it hard to break zombie's grip with that LRLRLRLRLRLRL tapping nonsense.

Maybe I'll look into ways around these maybe not. My son thinks the game is hilarious and plays in 2d at 19X10 where it's VERY responsive at 120Hz on my GTX480 SLi rig.

Talon
02-12-11, 10:05 AM
I read somewhere that you need to turn Shadows off for DS2 to work in 3D which is like...umm...what is the point of playing that game without shadows really?

Had much luck getting Dead Space 2 to work in 3D? Can imagine that would be quite incredible.

Rollo
02-12-11, 10:51 AM
I read somewhere that you need to turn Shadows off for DS2 to work in 3D which is like...umm...what is the point of playing that game without shadows really?

I'd have to play it both ways to answer, and I've never played the game.

I can say that real 3d adds more immersion than any AA, light effect, or shadow ever could, so on the games the drivers state I need to turn off an effect, I do so without a thought.

Playing in 3d makes your monitor a window- you're looking at what appears to be a scene of action figures. When you play on normal monitors, it's like watching tv- pictures of action figures. That's the best way I can explain it.

Talon
02-12-11, 11:01 AM
I'm on the fence about it. I think I just really need to experience it first-hand. On a 3D TV or monitor. I'm worried that the ghosting/crosstalk that people report will drive me nuts. Always thinking I should wait until the tech matures a bit more.

Peoples-Agent
02-12-11, 11:34 AM
I'm on the fence about it. I think I just really need to experience it first-hand. On a 3D TV or monitor. I'm worried that the ghosting/crosstalk that people report will drive me nuts. Always thinking I should wait until the tech matures a bit more.

It only really occurred to me this morning that I already have the rest of the kit and in not doing so it's a wasted chance. Let you know what I think prob Tuesday.

Got Mafia 2, Dead Rising 2, HAWX 2 and Batman installed ready to run at it.

Rollo
02-12-11, 12:52 PM
Dead Space turns out to be a good example of the nature of this tech.

It's not listed at all on the 3d Vision Surround compatible list, yet I just downloaded it straight from EA and switched it to 5760X1080 @ 120Hz in the Visual options.

It says it's "Fair" due to 3d placement issues in the 3d Drivers, but other than a little ghosting around the two characters standing in front of the window with the sun behind it on the way in, it seemed pretty flawless to me. (granted I've only played to where you run in the lab, so I'll report more later)
Note: this is often the case with the ghosting on non 3d Vision enhanced games- you notice it most on dark objects silhouetted against bright backgrounds. You can reduce this by lowering the amount of depth.

And that's the way it goes with this stuff- sometimes the stuff you wouldn't think is supported ends up working pretty well. Sometimes it won't work at all. Always a bonus to come up with a new one.

This game isn't listed as Eyefinity compatible either, but I bet it is.

Peoples-Agent
02-12-11, 01:28 PM
How do you find getting use to the depth? Do you usually just ramp it up and force your eyes into it? lol Or have it low, and increase slowly during gameplay?

Rollo
02-13-11, 09:20 AM
How do you find getting use to the depth? Do you usually just ramp it up and force your eyes into it? lol Or have it low, and increase slowly during gameplay?

I usually leave the depth at default or close to it, and don't increase it during gameplay. My eyes don't have to adjust, I have no eyestrain, and I don't have to play around with it.

EDIT:
I should note I'm playing DeadSpace in Surround only, turned off the 3d after seeing things like shadows above the objects that cast them. NVIDIA's 3d guru warned me of issues with that one as well, so I wouldn't plan on the flawless 3d experience with that one.

Muppet
02-13-11, 11:42 PM
I always start at the default depth and then slowly move it to 100%. For me it is fine as I don't suffer from headaches or nausea. 3D vision adds a whole new dimension to immersion in gaming. IMO it is the biggest thing to hit the PC gaming since the Voodoo chipset.

Peoples-Agent
02-14-11, 03:15 PM
I always start at the default depth and then slowly move it to 100%. For me it is fine as I don't suffer from headaches or nausea. 3D vision adds a whole new dimension to immersion in gaming. IMO it is the biggest thing to hit the PC gaming since the Voodoo chipset.

Those are bold claims. I'm a former Voodoo fanatic. lol

Euphoria
02-14-11, 03:26 PM
It sound crazy to me that they can charge $200 for shutter glasses when they use to give them for free with the video cards.

Well I just got back to the Nvidia's side with the GTX 570. I've been a happy ATI 4700 crossfire owner for two and a half years, loved it.. I was going to switch to 6970 but could not justify spending $40 more for something that performs less and that sounds louder than GTX 570...

Anyhow, I was looking into getting the 3D Vision set but changed my mind after seeing the cost difference... I'll wait for a bit longer till prices go down to $30 - $40....

Rollo
02-14-11, 07:11 PM
It sound crazy to me that they can charge $200 for shutter glasses when they use to give them for free with the video cards.

Well I just got back to the Nvidia's side with the GTX 570. I've been a happy ATI 4700 crossfire owner for two and a half years, loved it.. I was going to switch to 6970 but could not justify spending $40 more for something that performs less and that sounds louder than GTX 570...

Anyhow, I was looking into getting the 3D Vision set but changed my mind after seeing the cost difference... I'll wait for a bit longer till prices go down to $30 - $40....

I had the shutter glasses of old, there was considerably less to them. These kits have an infrared emitter and lithium ion rechargeable batteries. Those glasses plugged in to your computer. Also, there is a lot of software optimization going on now, which wasn't happening then.

Is that worth $200? Who knows. OTOH as there is no competition in the market, so what will drive prices down?

I think you'll wait a while to see them at $30.. I got them in December 2008, and they were $200.. In February 2011, they're still $200.. (or close)

Muppet
02-14-11, 07:35 PM
Those are bold claims. I'm a former Voodoo fanatic. lol

Me too. I was one of the first down here to grab an Orchid Righteous Voodoo card. Later I got 2 Diamond Monster 2 cards in my first SLI setup. Love them cards.

I was similarly blown away when I first started playing in 3D. Amazing technology.

Peoples-Agent
02-15-11, 04:32 AM
Me too. I was one of the first down here to grab an Orchid Righteous Voodoo card. Later I got 2 Diamond Monster 2 cards in my first SLI setup. Love them cards.

I was similarly blown away when I first started playing in 3D. Amazing technology.

Going to be bold and try and slideshow Arma 2 in 3D hah

Muppet
02-15-11, 05:04 AM
Going to be bold and try and slideshow Arma 2 in 3D hah

Yeah that game is tough even without the 3D.

Peoples-Agent
02-15-11, 06:21 AM
Ok, they are plugged in and charging.

Do you need to install the software that comes with it, or is it all included in the drivers nowadays?

Rollo
02-17-11, 06:32 AM
Ok, they are plugged in and charging.

Do you need to install the software that comes with it, or is it all included in the drivers nowadays?

So how do you like gaming in real 3d?

Euphoria
02-17-11, 09:16 AM
I think you'll wait a while to see them at $30.. I got them in December 2008, and they were $200.. In February 2011, they're still $200.. (or close)

Actually prices are going down. Amazon has them for $158 (http://www.amazon.com/NVIDIA-GeForce-Glasses-Emitter-Starcraft/dp/B0045Y1JI4/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1297951934&sr=8-2)
I wouldn't say that IR transmitter and a pack of batteries are worth $200 or even $158.

If this product is to help them sell their high end cards I would include them with the GTX 580 and 570 for 50% - 60% off. Their markup on this kit is huge...

Peoples-Agent
02-18-11, 01:47 PM
Never got the chance to appreciate 3D. In all her wisdom my gf decided to move the PC in the morning to make room to pack some boxes, were moving soon. SHE DROPPED IT! I told her not to move it because its too heavy, and she's too pregnant. But oh no.... stubborn as can be.

Waiting on the home insurance to come through. Never had to claim on it in six years, and hate doing so tbh.

The Coolermaster HAF X didn't take much to fall into pieces btw.

Muppet
02-18-11, 06:57 PM
Never got the chance to appreciate 3D. In all her wisdom my gf decided to move the PC in the morning to make room to pack some boxes, were moving soon. SHE DROPPED IT! I told her not to move it because its too heavy, and she's too pregnant. But oh no.... stubborn as can be.

Waiting on the home insurance to come through. Never had to claim on it in six years, and hate doing so tbh.

The Coolermaster HAF X didn't take much to fall into pieces btw.

Gosh. You and the word PC in the same sentence= Bad Luck :p

Peoples-Agent
02-20-11, 09:10 AM
Gosh. You and the word PC in the same sentence= Bad Luck :p

Next one will most likely be a Sandy Bridge apparently so perhaps light at the end. Seems the supplier who arranges the replacements don't stock i7 950s anymore.