PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading my MBP Hard Drive

six_storm
02-21-11, 11:01 AM
Got some extra cash to spend lately, decided to get a Seagate Momentus XT 500GB HDD:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003NSBF32/ref=ox_ya_os_product

Should be here on Wednesday. I'm going to clone my current hard drive over to it and let it ride, hopefully there won't be any issues. I've had pretty good luck with cloning hard drives so I'm not worried about it. Time Machine ftw.

(nana2)(nana2)(nana2)

ViN86
02-21-11, 11:11 AM
Those drives are interesting. Once they fix the issues I will definitely look into one.

zoomy942
02-21-11, 11:34 AM
I absolutely love mine in my mac. SD24 fixed lots of problems. you will love it.

darkrider01
02-21-11, 11:34 AM
I've been using one as my OS drive on my main PC for a few months now. I have not had any issues with it. It's a pretty snappy drive and scored a WEI equal to my previous Raptors.

nekrosoft13
02-21-11, 12:05 PM
stopped buying seagate drives a while ago, still have few that work, but will be replacing them with samsung or hitachi in near future.

six_storm
02-21-11, 02:29 PM
That's probably a bad idea with the current Firmware, especially for Mac users:

http://www.engadget.com/2011/02/20/momentus-xt-hybrid-drive-causing-headaches-seagate-working-to-f/

I've been reading about that all day, half of the reviews saying it's awesome and the other half have the chirping and no spin down issues, but I don't regret my purchase. We will have to see how it acts when I get it in the MBP. Seagate seems to be staying active in their forums and they are actually working on a fix, not just saying screw you to the customers.

Again, we will just have to see.

I debated between this and a RAM upgrade (to 8GB) but that will happen in a few months.

I'm going to use Super Duper to clone my current drive just to make sure. Don't want to have to start from scratch if I don't have to, ya know?

six_storm
02-22-11, 10:17 AM