PDA

View Full Version : [Upgrade] GPU vs CPU


Pages : [1] 2

whorable
02-22-11, 11:20 PM
I cannot afford to do both. So right now Im looking at CPU or GPU.

Im looking to get an Nvidia 4xx series or AMD Phenom II X6 series cpu.

I currently have an Nvidia GTX 275 and an AMD Phenom II X4 645

4 Gigs of DDR3

I get about 20-40fps in BF.BadCompany 2 Online 1440x900
I get about 20-50fps in Bulletstorm Online 1360x720

whorable
02-23-11, 12:38 AM
anyone :afro2:

bob saget
02-23-11, 12:43 AM
for gaming, i believe a GPU upgrade would benefit you more than a CPU one, but dont quote me on that, wait for the REAL experts to voice their opinion :D

Bah!
02-23-11, 12:46 AM
I'd buy the video card.

I wouldn't buy a 400 series card at this point. If you are looking at a 470 or lower, I'd get a 560. If you are looking at a 480 I'd get a 570 unless you need the extra ram.

Are those the resolutions you play at? If that's the case I don't really think you need either.

bob saget
02-23-11, 12:54 AM
even something like a used 285 or 295 would be fine if those are the resolutions you like.

italy2010
02-23-11, 02:50 AM
4 sure upgrade the GPU buy the GTX560TI it is a good deal ur cpu is more enough 4 games u need a GPU not a CPU comrade

grey_1
02-23-11, 06:59 AM
Agreed with everyone if gaming is your main use. My 955BE still performs fine in every game, but going from my HD4870 to a GTX 480 was a huge leap.

Dr.Nick
02-23-11, 10:16 PM
Check out the bfbc2 bench here (http://www.guru3d.com/article/amd-phenom-ii-x6-1075t-970be-645-processor-review/17) and then order a new video card:)

mojoman0
02-23-11, 10:27 PM
yea i dunno tho, games like bc2 are extremely cpu dependent and would benefit more from a cpu upgrade than gpu, but most games would benefit more from a gpu

candle_86
02-23-11, 10:35 PM
oc that Athlon II, mine hits 3.7 fine and its already unlocked to quad, makes a big diffrence

ragejg
02-24-11, 12:19 AM
x3 and x4 Phenom and Athlon IIs are awesome performers @ 3.4 and up.

Honestly your FPS seem a bit low for the strong GPU that a 275 is. A phenom II x4 645 3.1 ghz is no slouch, even in gaming... but yeah, definitely put a small investment in some good cooling, like $25 for a Kingwin XT-1264 which really does perform on par with the better coolers on the market (http://www.google.com/products/catalog?hl=en&q=kingwin+xt-1264&bav=on.1,or.&um=1&ie=UTF-8&cid=11769082336766856630&sa=X&ei=A_dlTb-oL4OB8ga-552VCw&ved=0CDEQ8wIwAA#)...

So get that Athlon sped up, definitely. It's a good chip begging for an OC, if your mobo and PSU is up to the task.

Now as for the 275... a GTX 470, HD 5850, 6850 and GTX 560 ti would all be basically the lowest cards you could get that would actually give you better GPU performance that would be dramatically noticeable... so I'd price all those out if I were you... or maybe head over to the nV News for sale/for trade section and check out vin86's HD 5870 for a paltry $180...

Do you want to sell your 275? Maybe think abotu how much you could get for it, and then figure out how much on top of that you have to work with, so you can get a better cooler and then a GPU...

... but yeah, how's your mobo and PSU for overclocking?

ViN86
02-24-11, 01:05 AM
Yea that CPU is fine. Go with the GPU.

ragejg
02-24-11, 01:32 AM
6870 & core2duo 2.93ghz ...gpu or cpu upgrade?

uhh, are you being sarcastic?

GTA 4, Bad Company 2 & StarCraft II should have taught you by now that for the most part, for enthusiast-level gaming, 3+ cores is kinda needed.

ragejg
02-24-11, 02:32 AM
so meaning i need to upgrade my mobo, memory and processor... :(

You can't put a good Quad in that motherboard and overclock it? If you could you'd be pretty close to matching some i7 CPU performance, I think...

Bah!
02-24-11, 02:51 AM
You can't put a good Quad in that motherboard and overclock it? If you could you'd be pretty close to matching some i7 CPU performance, I think...

Specs say it can hold a Quad, Q8300 or so would be the cheapest bet. Depending on his budget, though, it might just be best to spend a little more for something he can upgrade again in the future.

whorable
02-24-11, 03:19 AM
Wow guys! I was going to upgrade and Ive been spending a few days looking at benchmarks comparing GPU's and CPU's. I realized that there was not that much difference in FPS with high end CPUs and newer end GPUS. I knew something was fishy.


I took apart my computer and noticed a bunch of dust. I cleaned out all the dust by taking off the cover of my GTX 275 and the Heatsink on CPU. I scrubbed them clean with a bristle brush and slapped them back in.

I ran Battlefield Bad Company and something amazing happend. I gained about 45+ FPS!

I went from 26 fps on average during multiplayer 32 players to 45+ reaching 80fps in some areas! :cool:


I dont remember loosing this much performance over time, I guess I gotta clean stuff more often :headexplode:

whorable
02-24-11, 03:25 AM
Wow, Total War:Shogun

went from 14fps zoomed in battle, to 65

bob saget
02-24-11, 03:27 AM
awesome!

Revs
02-24-11, 03:39 AM
The cheapest upgrade of all time :D

whorable
02-24-11, 03:50 AM
now I just cannot get on to Games for Windows Live account....

whorable
02-24-11, 03:56 AM
Yozaw's!

Call of Duty Black Ops Multiplayer 32 limit


went from a super laggy/jittery/frustrating 30-60fps to 50+fps and smoother than a teenagers tuna snatch

whorable
02-24-11, 03:57 AM
I dont know what to do with all these games now, I feel reborn. Ha.

ragejg
02-24-11, 05:13 AM
I think you should now become a practician at observing you voltages and temperatures so you can get a good feel for how things are holding up, and the effects of temp/voltage variation on performance.

I have a feeling you might want to do a thorough CCleaner cleaning as well...



... and what kind of CPU cooler, power supply and motherboard do you have?

ViN86
02-24-11, 08:50 AM
Cleaning your heatsinks boosted your FPS that much? I'm skeptical. Unless your temps were near threshold and it was throttling the devices a lot, then I doubt it was cooling that did it. It was probably something else you did but may not realize (e.g. new drivers, uninstalling incompatible software, etc.)

I mean your case must have looked like an old haunted house if your performance was really caused by a simple cleaning...

whorable
02-24-11, 04:56 PM
The heatsink on the 275 was pretty caked in a brownish carpet of dust. The area I live in accumulates alot of dust naturally.

The only thing I can think of that increased my performance was Clear my CMOS settings and reset them. Other than that, I think it was really the heat slowing me down.