PDA

View Full Version : Choosing ram, is Corsair 1600mhz Vengeance the right choice?


XDanger
03-13-11, 08:48 AM
is Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600mhz Vengeance the right choice for a 2500k ultimately adding 4gb at a time for 16gb or should I save some pennies by getting something a bit cheaper?

4gb Kingston Hyperx maybe.

Intel17
03-13-11, 08:55 AM
is Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600mhz Vengeance the right choice for a 2500k ultimately adding 4gb at a time for 16gb or should I save some pennies by getting something a bit cheaper?

4gb Kingston Hyperx maybe.

I use this stuff and it's pretty phenomenal:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145260&cm_re=corsair_xms_1600-_-20-145-260-_-Product

Bah!
03-13-11, 08:59 AM
I'd get the Vengeance over that stuff merely for the fact that it's 1.5v and not 1.65, which is what SB calls for.

XDanger
03-13-11, 09:15 AM
I'd get the Vengeance over that stuff merely for the fact that it's 1.5v and not 1.65, which is what SB calls for.

Didn't notice that ,Hyperx is also 1.65v


Is getting 4gb modules unwise for some reason?

Unstable OC's or doesn't it matter ?

Will be putting it in a p8p67-pro

bobkn
03-13-11, 02:26 PM
Didn't notice that ,Hyperx is also 1.65v


Is getting 4gb modules unwise for some reason?

Unstable OC's or doesn't it matter ?

Will be putting it in a p8p67-pro

4 X 4GB (two dual channel kits) of Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1866 worked well in my P8P67 Pro until the board became unbootable after I updated its firmware to v. 1305. I used manual timings and voltages for the RAM, although I didn't overclock it. (About the best I could do reliably with my I7-2600k was 4.8GHz, on air.)

XDanger
03-13-11, 03:06 PM
the board became unbootable after I updated its firmware to v. 1305.

Why did this happen?

Dazz
03-19-11, 11:43 AM
it is kinda strange as Corsair memory is used for testing all asus motherboards.

XDanger
03-26-11, 07:34 AM
Theres a new cheaper Vengence in blue now, I'm getting that, Goes with the mobo.

Taking my PSU out today to sell and upgrade so will have no proper PC for a week :(

DiscipleDOC
03-26-11, 11:36 AM
I would rather have Corsair over any other RAM. Corsair has always been more reliable than most other RAM I've used.

Pennyboy
03-26-11, 03:25 PM
I am running Corsair 1600mhz Vengeance (2 x 4gb) CL8 in my P8P67 Deluxe and its running great, no issues. You probably already know this, but just incase you dont the heat spreaders are quite high and can be a problem if you run a big after market CPU Cooler.

Redeemed
03-26-11, 03:54 PM
I'm a devote G.Skill fan, never a bad experience with them yet and I've been using them for years. :)

crainger
03-26-11, 04:41 PM
Not sure about US, but Corsair has an awesome lifetime warranty here, with cross shipping, in most cases you are back up and running the next day with new RAM.

Sean_W
03-26-11, 04:56 PM
I meant to ask.

Is there any real advantage to me getting more expensive ram than the Kingston value 4Gb DDR2 667Mhz I have?

I mean, I've got a 1333Ghz FSB which is 667 ram rated. What's the point?

XDanger
03-26-11, 05:11 PM
for overclocking your cpu if you cant un-link, if you have no interest in that then there's no point.

If you do I have 2 sticks of 2gb Dominator at a decent price ;)

more expensive PC2-5300 would be completely pointless.

bob saget
03-26-11, 06:14 PM
only used OCZ and Corsair...

Redeemed
03-26-11, 08:28 PM
I meant to ask.

Is there any real advantage to me getting more expensive ram than the Kingston value 4Gb DDR2 667Mhz I have?

I mean, I've got a 1333Ghz FSB which is 667 ram rated. What's the point?

You're rocking a 1,333GHz FSB????? HOLY CRAP! Is this Intel's Next-next-next-next-next-NEXT-gen chipset? 1.3THz... I can't even imagine! :wonder:


:bleh:

Sean_W
03-26-11, 09:01 PM
You're rocking a 1,333GHz FSB????? HOLY CRAP! Is this Intel's Next-next-next-next-next-NEXT-gen chipset? 1.3THz... I can't even imagine! :wonder:


:bleh:

LOL

1.333Ghz FSB. :p

Redeemed
03-26-11, 09:04 PM
LOL

1.333Ghz FSB. :p

:D

:lol:

XDanger
03-29-11, 09:24 AM
My 4gb stick came today (with my PSU, Corsair TX850v2) and I didn't even have to pay for express delivery!

mmm Blue
http://p.gzhls.at/619073.jpg
All I need now is a CPU and mobo...

Not sure whether to wait an extra month and put 7 on an ssd.

Not including an SSD the upgrade to SB will cost me 80 of new money which is quite reasonable.

10 per Gb for the ram is great value and less than I expect to get for my DDR2's
I just hope the price doesn't rise...