PDA

View Full Version : Half Life in direct3d

Badboy_12345
08-08-03, 08:47 AM
k I have been running halflife in opengl and it works flawless great fps (99 constant) and all but now I must use it in direct3d for something but I get like under 30 fps in that mode WTF?
I wonder what could be wrong? I have never used it in d3d before so I didnt know about this until now..
But this is unbelivable something MUST be wrong..
I play it in 1024x768
FFS I get the same fps in Doom 3 as I get in HL d3d mode... :mad:

I use the 44.04 drivers
My PC:
AMD XP 2000+
512 mb ram
GF4 4200 64mb

Edge
08-08-03, 09:12 AM
The D3D mode in HL was never very good. They only added it for extra compatability with cards that didn't support OpenGL (which was a very quick addition they did to the Quake engine). But I remember having to use D3D on my Voodoo 3 and I don't remember the framerate having much trouble, so you shouldn't have that problem on a TI4200. I'm guessing it's just a bug in HL's code, but I don't think they're going to update the D3D code anymore. Hmm, maybe try turning off AA and aniso and such and see if that helps. If that doesn't affect it, hmm, maybe try reentering the max_fps 100 and see if that does it. Otherwise, I can't really think of what else you can do besides run in OpenGL (or software...)

Oh, and I haven't gotten a chance to play the full version of Doom 3, how is it :rolleyes:

Badboy_12345
08-08-03, 09:23 AM
I meant Doom 3 Alpha :p
I have everything off and I have tried max fps it dosesnt work..
Ive heard that the d3d is bugged but not that it makes your fps like ****.. I would be able to play it 60+ with my machine its HL for gods sake not Doom 3 or Unreal 2...

stncttr908
08-08-03, 09:39 AM
So why do you have to use it anyway? Is it really THAT important?

Badboy_12345
08-08-03, 10:41 AM
I bought 3dglasses and hl in opengl dosent work so good with it..
and 90% of my gaming time I play hl and its mods sooo YES! ;)

Edge
08-08-03, 01:05 PM