PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading RAM


Cesium
04-10-11, 06:40 AM
Hey nvnews, I'm new at this forum and also at all the hardware stuff. I have 2GB ram currently, and I was wondering, what specs do I need to know before buying more. This is what I know:
Technology: DDR2;
Max bandwith: 400MHz;
Module size: 1024Mbytes. (2 modules total)
I wanted to know if I need anything else to know before buying? Does manufacturer matters? Also, can you give me examples, of what RAM I'm supposed to buy? And If I got 2x 1Gb now, do I have to buy exactly 2x 1gb more? Thank's in advance :) Sorry for my bad english.
Adding a screenshot too, so you can see if I'm not mistaken:
http://img845.imageshack.us/img845/8122/ramik.png

XDanger
04-10-11, 09:43 AM
how many un-used memory slots do you have?

What version of windows do you use x86 x64?

If you have 2 spare slots and are using a 64 bit OS then 2 more of the same will be the easiest option for you, If you are using 32 bit (x86) then just get 1 more, A 32bit OS cant see all of 4gb but x64 can.

Eastern European?

Cesium
04-10-11, 10:14 AM
how many un-used memory slots do you have?

What version of windows do you use x86 x64?

If you have 2 spare slots and are using a 64 bit OS then 2 more of the same will be the easiest option for you, If you are using 32 bit (x86) then just get 1 more, A 32bit OS cant see all of 4gb but x64 can.

Eastern European?

I'm using x86 win, so I should get 1 more GB right? But I still want to know what type exactly I should buy, cause I got almost no clue.
And yes, Eastern Europe (Lithuania to be exact).

XDanger
04-10-11, 11:05 AM
You should get the ram with the same ratings voltage ect. 6 5 5 18 23 @1.8v

The exact same ram module if available would be sure to work 100%

Goodram GR800D264L5/1G

Cesium
04-10-11, 11:57 AM
You should get the ram with the same ratings voltage ect. 6 5 5 18 23 @1.8v

The exact same ram module if available would be sure to work 100%

Goodram GR800D264L5/1G

Wow thanks a lot, btw is it possible that the model you recommended only costs like 14$?..

XDanger
04-10-11, 12:07 PM
I wouldn't know since they don't sell them where I live but that's about the right price for 1gb.
http://www.deze.lt/beta/PC-Komponentai-32/Atmintis--DDR2-ram-memory--169/GoodRam--Wilk-elektronik--836/038274-GOODRAM-1GB-DDRII-PC2-6400-DDR800-Retail--Lifetime-warr---GR800D264L5-1G---11GRD4GR800D264L5-1G--/PD2GH2GREGCSR-Modu%C3%B9-pami%C3%A6ci-Memory-2GB-USB-2-0-EDGE-Cobapi.379792;pi.178440

Cesium
04-10-11, 12:10 PM
I wouldn't know since they don't sell them where I live but that's about the right price for 1gb.

Ok, thank's a lot dude. :)

Cesium
04-10-11, 12:12 PM
Oh, one more thing: can you name any other models? Because I can only find 2 shops around and both of them has sold out this model.

XDanger
04-10-11, 12:18 PM
What is the motherboard? There is usually a list of compatible ram from the maker of the motherboard.

Anything that says PC2-6400 5-5-5-18 1.8v should be ok though but its a gamble.

Cesium
04-10-11, 12:23 PM
Here's the list I managed to find: http://download.gigabyte.eu/FileList/Memory/mb_memory_ga-ma74gm-s2h_4.0.pdf