PDA

View Full Version : help me choose a sata 3 raid controller,please


wheeljack12
04-16-11, 11:41 AM
As Slawter pointed out to me in the vertex 3 thread, amd's sata 3 controller just doesn't cut it. I have picked out 3 4 port sata 3 controllers to purchase and just wanted some feedback on what to buy.

Here they are:

1. Highpoint RocketRaid 640 $100-190 CDN from various retailers
http://www.highpoint-tech.com/USA_new/series_rr600.htm

2. Adaptec Raid 6405 kit $420 MSRP
http://www.adaptec.com/en-us/products/controllers/hardware/sas/value/sas-6405/

3. LSI Megaraid SAS 9240-4i kit $269 US from the LSI store

http://www.lsi.com/storage_home/products_home/internal_raid/megaraid_sas/entry_line/megaraid_sas_9240-4i/index.html

AngelGraves13
04-16-11, 01:45 PM
I didn't know Adaptec was still in the game. Haven't seen anything by them in a while.

My dad uses RocketRAID, though he's had problems before with drive and RAID array failure. It may have just been the drive.

wheeljack12
04-16-11, 02:34 PM
also thinking of this highpoint controller:

rocketraid 2710:

http://www.highpoint-tech.com/USA_new/series_rr272x.htm

Bman212121
04-16-11, 03:26 PM
No love for Areca?

http://www.areca.us/products/1880.htm

EDIT: Areca is a bit pricer as the smallest one is 8 drives, so it's ~$600.

The first highpoint you linked to is just a low end addon card. It's probably not much better than the onboard you already have.

One thing that quickly gives away which chips have hardware acceleration are the ones with heatsinks over the processors. The other is you need to have at least a PCI-E 4x slot in order to have enough bandwidth for those SSDs. Even a 4x PCI-E 2.0 slot is going to hit a limit around 2GBps. (Not likely you'll have to worry about that)

The adaptec card is the only one listed with onboard cache. This will still make a difference even with your SSDs as DDR2 is still faster. It might also have better algorithms to reduce write amplification by caching writes.

I'd say out of the list the Adaptec card is the best one (should be as it's in a different price range) but the areca I listed is also a good choice.

Here is a comparible card by LSI: http://www.lsi.com/storage_home/products_home/internal_raid/megaraid_sas/6gb_s_value_line/sas9260-4i/index.html

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816118106&cm_re=LSI_9260-_-16-118-106-_-Product $330 They also have the kit with the cable for $370.

The 2nd highpoint card you listed is much better than the first but still lacks onboard cache.



EDIT: So I'd say either the Adaptec or the LSI card I linked are good choices. Both of them have high end processors, DDR2 cache, SSD support, support for battery backup modules if you desire.

wheeljack12
04-17-11, 01:05 PM
I'll will go with either the 9260 lsi kit or the adaptec 6405. BTW, can you use any manufacturer's mini sas to 4 sata cable with those cards? I know the 9260 comes with one but I was wondering about the adaptec as it only comes with a sas to sas cable and not a breakout sas to 4 sata cable. The reason I ask is that if I went with the adaptec, I thought I might be able to use highpoint's mini-sas to 4 sata cable that newegg has for $30. Someone let me know if the cable with adaptec is possible or does adaptec or other companies make similar products that would work with the 6405?

wheeljack12
04-18-11, 06:41 PM
I ordered the LSI megaraid sas 9260-4i kit. Should be here tomorrow! Can't wait to see my vertex 3's at near full speed!

Bman212121
04-19-11, 03:26 PM
Sweet can't wait to see how it performs. :captnkill:

wheeljack12
04-19-11, 10:08 PM
the thumbnail is raid 0, 64kb stripe. Boot time after BIOSes load, 10-11 seconds! had to keep amd sata controller enabled along with having the 9260 enabled or I got a BSOD stating my bios was not acpi compliant. Something to do with AMD as it only happens when the amd sata contoller is disabled.

wheeljack12
04-20-11, 09:20 PM
here is the performance with a 512kb stripe raid 0.

Bman212121
04-21-11, 01:36 PM
Wow that's pretty crazy! It's interesting to see how much of a difference the strip size makes. Wonder what it would look like at a higher queue depth.