PDA

View Full Version : Steam problem with IE9?


grey_1
04-19-11, 02:44 PM
I figured this would go better here as the problem is exclusively with Steam. Anyone else getting this?

http://i.imgur.com/r1Jiz.jpg

I found quite a few hits relating to IE problems with steam through almost every version of IE, but the only solid fix is to restore default settings, and that doesn't work.

Any tips are appreciated - I figure there's a ton of steam users here, hopefully one will have an answer.

Oh, all the links seem to be there, you just can't tell what you're clicking.

TIA

|MaguS|
04-19-11, 02:49 PM
Try installing the flash for steam if you havent yet. Also try restarting steam, I only get a screen like that when the service is running slow.

grey_1
04-19-11, 02:59 PM
Try installing the flash for steam if you havent yet. Also try restarting steam, I only get a screen like that when the service is running slow.

Did that, and I get this intermittently, but more often than not for a couple weeks now. :(

grey_1
04-19-11, 02:59 PM
Just do what it says there: "Apple logo. Mac. Recommended for you." and you'll be fine :D
Can't go wrong with that anyway :)

:p

Redeemed
04-19-11, 04:00 PM
Wow Grey- that's a wierd problem. Just fired up the steam store and it showed up fine for me.

Maybe completely remove IE9, then re-install it? Completely remove Steam and then re-install it as well? Just tossing ideas out there to be honest. :o :(

Hope you get it resolved soon, buddy. :)

t3hl33td4rg0n
04-19-11, 04:13 PM
I have IE9 on win7 x64, no problems with steam at all.

I would move your games to another folder, uninstall steam, delete the steam folder, install steam, install flash, fin.

grey_1
04-19-11, 04:29 PM
I have IE9 on win7 x64, no problems with steam at all.

I would move your games to another folder, uninstall steam, delete the steam folder, install steam, install flash, fin.

That's about the only thing left to try - I'll give it a whirl, thanks.

[AK]Zip
04-19-11, 04:55 PM
http://i.imgur.com/T8p7p.jpg




Sorry I just had to... :)

grey_1
04-19-11, 05:13 PM
:rofl Nice :D

I have IE9 on win7 x64, no problems with steam at all.

I would move your games to another folder, uninstall steam, delete the steam folder, install steam, install flash, fin.
No go, thanks for trying though.

WeReWoLf
04-19-11, 05:18 PM
No problems with ie9 and steam here. I know the Steam interface was designed around a Webkit, so who knows.

grey_1
04-19-11, 05:28 PM
ell, rolled back to IE8 and it's still doing it. This is maddening.

nekrosoft13
04-20-11, 11:13 AM
It can't be IE, because steam stopped using IE for the web browser at the same time when they redone the whole steam interface.

Reinstall steam (backup games, just in case), install stuff like flash (non IE type, since steam doesn't use IE).

grey_1
04-20-11, 12:45 PM
True, the latest Steam version uses Webkit. IE shouldn't interfere with Steam.

Grey, are you sure that this is a IE problem?


It can't be IE, because steam stopped using IE for the web browser at the same time when they redone the whole steam interface.

Reinstall steam (backup games, just in case), install stuff like flash (non IE type, since steam doesn't use IE).

Nah, you guys are right. I thought it was due to the number of posts I found citing IE as the issue.

What I've done so far.

Reinstalled Steam to a different folder with old deleted.

Reinstalled flash, both IE and Steam required types, per instructions on steampowered FAQ.

Rolled back to IE8.

Threw laptop out window.

Threw dog out window. j/k :lol:

It has to be flash related, but nothing works. What's screwy is that once in a while I'll refresh the page, or when opening steam from a cold boot, it works just fine. Restart steam and it's crap again.

I don't know what else to check.

nekrosoft13
04-20-11, 04:33 PM
"Reinstalled flash" reinstalled on top if it?

try uninstall both, and search the windows, system32 and syswow64 folders for files left over by flash, i don't remember the names, have to look them up.

I would also recommend installing Secunia PSI, this will scan if all major components are up to date
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal/

grey_1
04-20-11, 04:51 PM
"Reinstalled flash" reinstalled on top if it?

try uninstall both, and search the windows, system32 and syswow64 folders for files left over by flash, i don't remember the names, have to look them up.

I would also recommend installing Secunia PSI, this will scan if all major components are up to date
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal/

Yep, the bolded is exactly what I did, found the names and uninstalled, then manual delete what's left over. Wasn't much.

Going to run Securia now - thanks nekro :)

EDIT: Thanks for the heads up on Securia - love it. VLC was the only program that needed an update.

nekrosoft13
04-20-11, 06:04 PM
I like secunia, also Sumo (http://www.kcsoftwares.com/?sumo) is a great program.

Secunia only finds major programs and vulnebilities. Sumo finds a tons more programs and updates, problem with sumo it tells you there is a update, but not what it does or where to find it.

grey_1
04-20-11, 07:11 PM
I get this now, pretty consistently. Better, but still not formatted correctly. This is irritating mostly because I didn't change or update anything between when it worked properly and when it stopped. :o

http://i.imgur.com/TLnfo.jpg

t3hl33td4rg0n
04-20-11, 07:38 PM
Something tells me its not using applying the stylesheet. Wonder which DLL is used for that?

nekrosoft13
04-20-11, 09:32 PM
or it also looks like not fully loaded webpage, this sometimes happen when you have connection issues and browser has trouble resolving address.

try pining steam webstore see what you get. disable firewalls and av.

nekrosoft13
04-20-11, 09:43 PM
ok, found this example on google.

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/9894/picture203l.png

this is what your issue reminds me. basically webpage tries to load, but times out and only loads partially.

could be software issue, could be network issue, could be DNS, high ping etc..