PDA

View Full Version : EVGA 570 WORST CARD EVER


Pages : [1] 2

gulizard
04-21-11, 09:59 PM
I ordered my first card from newegg, it worked for a bit, I didn't O/C it once. I did use a patch to make the fan 100, but never put the fan to 100%. It worked for about a month and then started artifacting during windows. I sent it back, cost me 15 bucks because EVGA make you pay for the shipping label now as I am writing this message, its messing up during firefox. It seems to be DX11 related. I bet EVGA will make me send the card back at my own cost, even though I really cannot afford to. This will be the second card. I seriously am considering never buying another EVGA product... This new card played fine the other night for BC2, and tonight it started artifacting real bad during BC2 menu, restarted fix the menu issue, then went in-game it ****ed up in-game this time. Trees were grey, and lines from the gun. Crysis 2 runs fine, again its DX9. Firefox and BC2 are fubared. Can barely seem to type this, the txt keeps flickering...

bob saget
04-21-11, 10:03 PM
have you tried evga forums?

gulizard
04-21-11, 10:25 PM
I tried all over... no one knows why they do this crap. Its getting a tad bit old. I doubt i'll be making any more purchases from EVGA unless they can do something about this crap. I mean I literally have had this card maybe 2 weeks... and used to game maybe twice. I haven't o/ced it once.

Roadhog
04-21-11, 10:25 PM
I would make EVGA pay shipping and refund you for the first time.

gulizard
04-21-11, 10:29 PM
I hope they will just pay for the shipping this time. I paid 15 bucks the last time, and got it back for this to happen. What is sad is there is people who are O/Cing these cards and frying them, I haven't even O/ced mine. I have precision installed, but only to monitor the temp. Card is currently idle at 44c as I write this. The minute I put something involving flash on the screen my text flickers, and it artifacts. Earlier when I posted, I used the full post thing rather then the quick reply function that I can now, and the flashing emoticons were causing my screen to artifact... Also while browsing facebook 10 minutes ago, my screen went black, and I got a message telling me my nvidia display drive had crashed, and had recovered... I tried re-seating the card, tried swapping the monitor the other dvi port. None of which fix the issue.

Rollo
04-22-11, 06:02 PM
I ordered my first card from newegg, it worked for a bit, I didn't O/C it once. I did use a patch to make the fan 100, but never put the fan to 100%. It worked for about a month and then started artifacting during windows. I sent it back, cost me 15 bucks because EVGA make you pay for the shipping label now as I am writing this message, its messing up during firefox. It seems to be DX11 related. I bet EVGA will make me send the card back at my own cost, even though I really cannot afford to. This will be the second card. I seriously am considering never buying another EVGA product... This new card played fine the other night for BC2, and tonight it started artifacting real bad during BC2 menu, restarted fix the menu issue, then went in-game it ****ed up in-game this time. Trees were grey, and lines from the gun. Crysis 2 runs fine, again its DX9. Firefox and BC2 are fubared. Can barely seem to type this, the txt keeps flickering...

Try restoring defaults on that 780i and running everything at stock. I'd put the cause more likely on something else in your system than the two 570s were bad. The 780i board is sort of vintage, and they weren't exactly known for their longevity OCd.

DiscipleDOC
04-22-11, 09:53 PM
I have two evga 570's and they are working fine for me....

tweaked
04-22-11, 10:42 PM
the 780i is likely the issue. unstable voltage BBQ'ing the cards.

gulizard
04-22-11, 11:49 PM
Well I unplugged the cables, and power source. Like I read on a forum, apparently this is a bug or something? A few select people have to do this every month? I lowered my voltage back down anyway. My issue with artifacting is gone thus far. I honestly doubt its this board doing anything to this card, as my 470 from pny worked fine, with no issue. I sold it to a friend and got the 570. Which is giving me loads of issues...

Rollo
04-23-11, 04:36 AM
the 780i is likely the issue. unstable voltage BBQ'ing the cards.

Years of OCing that 780i have likely damaged it. I can remember a fair amount of posts on the NVIDIA forums where people had their 680 and 780 boards die or flake out after over volting them.

I have a 980a in my secondary rig now and have owned around half a dozen 680s and 780s with no issues, but I never over volted them.

My guess here is the 570s are more sensitive to the unstable voltage than the 470 was for some reason, the odds the OP got two defective 570s are pretty astronomically small.

john19055
04-28-11, 12:18 AM
I have a 680i SLI with my Q6600 in it and it has always ben overclocked from day one and never had any problems.But I would set everthing to default with a new card just to rule that out.

Rollo
04-28-11, 07:05 AM
I have a 680i SLI with my Q6600 in it and it has always ben overclocked from day one and never had any problems.But I would set everthing to default with a new card just to rule that out.

YMMV with all OCs.

My point was that to actually get two defective cards from any company is "winning the lottery" or "getting struck by lightning" odds. Something else is the problem here.

nekrosoft13
04-28-11, 08:24 AM
I have two evga 570's and they are working fine for me....

card after card, doesn't die for no reason, there is something screwy going on with this rig. My friend hard drives kept dying, end up being the PSU.

Roadhog
04-29-11, 02:02 AM
YMMV with all OCs.

My point was that to actually get two defective cards from any company is "winning the lottery" or "getting struck by lightning" odds. Something else is the problem here.

Really? Because I have gotten 3 dead motherboards in a row from asus a while ago.

Rollo
04-29-11, 06:52 AM
Really? Because I have gotten 3 dead motherboards in a row from asus a while ago.

Did you get someone else to put in the 4th one and that worked fine?

Or was it just "Willkers! I read some guy online overvolted the CPU and RAM 30% to get a big OC, so I tried motherboards till I found one that worked like that!"?

I've cycled through more hardware than most people ever will. I've never gotten a defective part of any type.

On the other hand I don't usually OC anything, and when I do, it 's always very small, stock volt OCs.

I used to work in a box shop, we didn't see many actually defective parts out of the box, we never saw two.

So when I see a post like this I think "this guy had a problem he didn't realize with something shorting out" or that you're one of the "voltage specs are only there for people who aren't true computer engineers like me" crowd.

CoSWill
04-29-11, 07:00 AM
When I first got my Gigabyte GTX570 it didn't want to boot, but I fixed that part by installing a Corsair HX850 PSU. It worked fine for about a month, but then it started some anomalies in Crysis 2. Spikes coming off weapons and stairways. I checked GPU temp and found it to be running over 90c in Crysis 2. Installed MSI Afterburner and set fan speed minimum to 70% and put it on auto with increasing fan speed as temp goes higher. Now it is working fine.

I have good air flow through my case and in reality I shouldn't have to use a 3rd party program to make a stock video card run correctly.

I wouldn't say that the 570 is the worst card ever, because I remember problems with the 5800's and my 4600ti had terrible artifacting until I adjusted the aperature settings in the bios.

jcniest5
04-29-11, 12:41 PM
Really? Because I have gotten 3 dead motherboards in a row from asus a while ago.

It could be that your PSU kept killing them. I find it very hard (but not impossible) to believe that.

Roadhog
04-29-11, 01:13 PM
It could be that your PSU kept killing them. I find it very hard (but not impossible) to believe that.

Nope, PSU was within spec.

Logical
04-29-11, 02:10 PM
Two brand new defective cards in a row with exactly the same defect is very very highly unlikly. As previously mentioned the root of this problem is something else...

Get a voltmeter and test the PSU and mobo outputs, failing that get a new mobo.

gulizard
04-30-11, 12:05 AM
Two different areas for each problems. Running stock now. I did that reset that was talked about on a few websites and it seems to have fixed it for now. I just put a new PSU in as well... its the same brand, same kind... all the voltages are reading fine... I'd like to believe its the card.

sillyeagle
04-30-11, 01:41 AM
Did you get someone else to put in the 4th one and that worked fine?

Or was it just "Willkers! I read some guy online overvolted the CPU and RAM 30% to get a big OC, so I tried motherboards till I found one that worked like that!"?

I've cycled through more hardware than most people ever will. I've never gotten a defective part of any type.

On the other hand I don't usually OC anything, and when I do, it 's always very small, stock volt OCs.

I used to work in a box shop, we didn't see many actually defective parts out of the box, we never saw two.

So when I see a post like this I think "this guy had a problem he didn't realize with something shorting out" or that you're one of the "voltage specs are only there for people who aren't true computer engineers like me" crowd.

:rofl Great post.

Rollo
04-30-11, 04:07 PM
:rofl Great post.

It probably came off meaner than I meant it to, but that is what I think when I see "I had 9 straight motherboards fail! It must be a bad batch, so I'm warning you all!"

There are bad parts, but even people who know what they're doing can have something shorting or failing. And when you run power out of spec, all bets are off, YMMV.

Roadhog
04-30-11, 04:11 PM
It probably came off meaner than I meant it to, but that is what I think when I see "I had 9 straight motherboards fail! It must be a bad batch, so I'm warning you all!"

There are bad parts, but even people who know what they're doing can have something shorting or failing. And when you run power out of spec, all bets are off, YMMV.

You're extremely good at blowing things out of proportion, twisting the words of what people say to better suit you, and being a drama queen in general.

Runningman
04-30-11, 07:17 PM
It probably came off meaner than I meant it to, but that is what I think when I see "I had 9 straight motherboards fail! It must be a bad batch, so I'm warning you all!"

There are bad parts, but even people who know what they're doing can have something shorting or failing. And when you run power out of spec, all bets are off, YMMV.

ya, ive changes alot of hardware in my time and seen alot of expensive parts come in defective but chances are after two or three failures, I would then start to look at myself for the problem.
Had something happen like this when I was working on a DASD(raid array for you youngsters), changed out a control card twice.(keep in mind these things cost at least 20k each after all this is IBM we are talking about here) when the third one crapped out, well, I was forced to remove myself and let a specialist in to look at the problem (should have done it after the second one). turns out that when I put the card into the system, i needed to kill a lead manually that powered the system, which i failed todo. To my own defense, the system was supposed todo that when the proceedure was initiated to change out the card. yes, it was a bug with the system but I should have taken precautions...

Renzo
05-25-11, 07:15 PM
I wouldn't say that the 570 is the worst card ever, because I remember problems with the 5800's and my 4600ti had terrible artifacting until I adjusted the aperature settings in the bios.
That is different, because manufacturers didn't really follow AGP standards properly. Remember ATI cards having trouble with fast writes? On NVIDIA fast writes worked all right (and even increased performance) but enabling sideband addressing had the opportunity of making things go bad. Also, on some motherboards that had chipset from VIA (for example KT800), it was possible that you would see black triangles flashing on some games. Having a motherboard with different chipset (like nforce) pretty much got rid of the problem. I mostly saw this problem with chipsets supporting AGP 8x (or 3.0 if you will). The day I got myself a motherboard that had new enough chipset to support PCI-express, I was a happy man, and I've been that ever since. I haven't seen a single problem with PCI-E graphics cards that has been PCI-E related.