PDA

View Full Version : Processor and potentially motherboard died, getting Sandy Bridge


newparad1gm
06-20-11, 10:00 AM
Suddenly had a hard lock while on the desktop yesterday on my main machine, and when I did a manual restart I saw I only had 4GB out of my 6GB being detected on startup. First I thought it was a memory problem, but then when I did a various combination of slots and sticks, I found out all my memory was being detected fine, it was just the first 2 memory slots on the mobo closest to the CPU that were not working.

OK, so it was a motherboard problem. I was prepared to just go buy a new X58 board, but then I read online that memory detection problems might be caused by the processor not being in complete alignment in the socket and the pins for the memory controller might not be lining up. So I figured, why the hell not try this first before dropping dough on a new mobo first. I popped the CPU out of the socket and then saw that a couple of the pins on both the socket and the CPU were burned, and that there was a little bit of this strange blue substance that seemed like melted plastic on the bottom of the CPU around the burned pins. Didn't have much hope for the whole thing after that. Cleaned the CPU off a little bit with a lint free cloth, and reseated it. Now all 6GB were being detected, but the computer now BSOD's even at stock settings.

Looks like I'm going for an early upgrade.

Just ordered a Core i7 2600K
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 motherboard (would like to try out the Quick Sync features and maybe SSD caching)
and 8GB of G.Skill RipJaw DDR3-1600 RAM
along with a 1156/1155 bracket for my Thermalright Ultra Extreme.

Wish me luck with this new build.

fasedww
06-20-11, 06:31 PM
That should kick butt. Sounds good to me.:)

Rummy
06-20-11, 07:30 PM
I have the same ram and got the 2500k. My TRUE bolt kit I got from Performance Pc's. Nice set up.

Q
06-20-11, 07:31 PM
I would put that new system in the ankle lock until it taps.

newparad1gm
06-21-11, 01:42 PM
I have the same ram and got the 2500k. My TRUE bolt kit I got from Performance Pc's. Nice set up.

Yeah I got the bolt thru kit from performance pcs as well. Are you overclocking your 2500K? How high could you push the multiplier on stock voltage?

newparad1gm
06-21-11, 01:56 PM
That should kick butt. Sounds good to me.:)

Same thing here, how was your experience OCing that 2600K?

fasedww
06-21-11, 06:32 PM
Same thing here, how was your experience OCing that 2600K?

4.7ghz. easily, can do 4.8 with more volts but don't need it.:)

Rummy
06-21-11, 08:51 PM
Yeah I got the bolt thru kit from performance pcs as well. Are you overclocking your 2500K? How high could you push the multiplier on stock voltage?

I am at 4.3 for now will push it more this weekend.

newparad1gm
06-24-11, 09:47 AM
Just spent all night doing my build. I installed my Vertex 3 240GB as well. Haven't overclocked, but it idles at 25C and around 10 minutes of Prime95 brought it only up to 50-55C. Gonna try to push it after I get all my drivers and some games installed.

Dazz
06-24-11, 11:42 AM
from what i have seen with a GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 motherboad you will be topping out at 4.5GHz overclock. Only has 6 phases while others have 12+.

Depends on how much of a overclocker you are.

newparad1gm
06-27-11, 09:19 AM
I managed to get it up to 4.4GHz this weekend with 1.22V CPU Voltage set in the BIOS and some LLC. IntelBurnTest and Prime95 stable it seems, for a few hours of each test at least. Temperatures are around 30-35C idle and 65-70C load on the highest core. This is with an ambient temperature of around 24C. Although in both BIOS and in Gigabyte's TouchBIOS Windows program, it reads the CPU voltage as 1.25-1.28V. CPU-Z isn't working for me, as it seems to be reading QPI/VTT volts as the CPU voltage (~1.05V)

Dazz
06-27-11, 08:02 PM
Sounds about right.