PDA

View Full Version : Core 2 Quad Roll Call!!!


Pages : [1] 2

snowmanwithahat
06-25-11, 11:01 AM
Am I seriously one of few the still running this series?

... I just picked up another GTX 470 in anticipation of keeping this config for a while... Seems to be I'm pretty much alone in my architectural choice lol

MaXThReAT
06-25-11, 12:57 PM
Not at all bro. My Q6600 and P45 are rocking everyday. This has been my longest used platform ever built back in 08 I think. That thing still chews through just about any game I can throw at it. I'm thinking some time before the end of the year I'll go ahead and upgrade my video card but we'll see.

Redeemed
06-25-11, 12:59 PM
I've still got a G0 Q6600 that's just sitting here. Hoping to throw together a cheap rig that I can use to start dabbling with various linux distros, server os's, etc. And when my main rig is down it'll serve as a backup rig. :)

Not sure if "laying around" counts though. :p

six_storm
06-25-11, 01:10 PM
I'm still rocking a 6600 in my main gaming PC/server. Will be running it until the rig breaks.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

Redeemed
06-25-11, 01:15 PM
Yeah... my opinion is that the C2Q series was well ahead of it's time. For most people, a stock Q6600, if all the other components aren't lacking, is more than enough. It may not encode HD video the fastest, and it may not allow you to play video games maxed with three 3GB GTX580s on a triple screen setup- but those who could afford that many monitors and expensive graphics card can afford a newer mobo and CPU. Regarding the HD encoding it's fast enough for most.

I think anything beyond that is overkill for the vast majority of people, PC gamers included. My 920, I bet I could disable HT and Turbo and not even notice it. Only a small group of people actually need the horsepower available in today's rigs. :)

Heck, take a Q6600, 8GB of RAM, and a single GTX560 or 6970 and you'll have a beast gaming rig that'll last awhile. Slap a good SSD in there as a boot drive and it'll feel like a brand new rig. :)

GIGARAM
06-25-11, 01:39 PM
i still have both my old quad core systems one is a Q6600 with 4 gig ram 200 gig harddrive ati 4850 1 gig in crossfire all in a lian-li pc60 ali case,
and system 2 is a QX6800 Etreme edition with 4 gig ram 250 gig drive asus striker xtreme motherboard nvidia 460GTX 800 watt psu in a themaltake shark case

Feyy
06-25-11, 01:58 PM
Mine is still going well... see sig below :D

Yaboze
06-25-11, 02:04 PM
My 'spare' PC is doing pretty well, I have a Q9650, P35 Asus, GTX 285 and 4 GB of DDR2 GSkill. I'm running Vista x64 SP2 on it because I have one Windows 7 license and that's on my rig below. My son uses the Q9650 rig mostly.

Dazz
06-25-11, 02:32 PM
To be fair Core 2's are still decent after my QX9650 died i ended up getting a phenom II they perform very much the Same QX9650 @ 4.33GHz and Phenom II 4.2GHz it is still more then enough to do pretty much anything games and what not.

Sandy is a power house but over hyped at 1o80p rez you will be more video card limited then CPU thats for sure. My GTX470 runs at a 100% GPU usage in games and thats overclocked to 800/1600 core and 3800MHz memory.

I can under stand people moving to the Core i range if you run SLI, nVidia chipsets where horrible for the intel platforms. I had gone through 4!! either DOA, memory slots dying or just ended up dying altogeather. ANd then there was no TRIM drivers where well outdated with no after support.

grey_1
06-25-11, 05:06 PM
E8400 @ stock clocks paired with my 480 here. It's a surprisingly capable cpu. :)

cmsmith
06-25-11, 05:18 PM
Yeah, props to the Core 2 Quad series. My previous system was based on AMD's Athlon series (dang fine CPU as well...). I went to a Q6600 and ran it almost since the day it was released up until last September. I saw an OEM Q9650 CPU priced good. I hopped online to consider buying. The etailer selling the CPU (forget which one...) had a special where everything was an additional 25% or so off for the weekend meaning I got the CPU for about $240. It was to good for me to pass up so I jumped on the CPU and upgraded. Still rocking along.

Shortly after I jumped on the Q6600 bandwagon, I upgraded the firmware on my mobo (Gigabyte as I recall...) and it hosed my system as the upgrade utility crashed while running under Windows. I replaced it with an Asus board. Since then, outside of a purchase of additional memory upgrade, an upgrade to a Q9650 CPU, and a purchase of a GTX580, I've been running basically the same system for however long the Q6600 has been out, 3-4 years? Still runs like a champ.

I plan on doing a total system upgrade next year sometime as by then my system will have more than served its purpose and I will be looking at SSD, USB 3,etc.. I'm keeping an eye on the Bulldozer CPU line from AMD and am watching Sandy Bridge, of course. I hope my next system lasts half as long as this one. Awesomeness.

nV`andrew
06-25-11, 05:31 PM
Replaced my e6750 with this C2Q a couple years back and it's still strong.

Hogrider
06-25-11, 06:17 PM
Q9550 and 8 gb ram with a GTX 275 here. More than enough for what I use it for. Don't see upgrading anytime in the future... well except maybe an SSD when they get to a decent price point for a good size.

jkmetal
06-25-11, 08:03 PM
q9950 here. Gonna hold the line with this.

LT.Schaffer
06-25-11, 08:18 PM
I'm still using my Q9650.

I've got a Q6600 in my Dad's rig i built.

My Mom is using my Old E6600 in her gaming rig.


and i just built my Bro a new rig with a Q9450 powering it:)

mojoman0
06-25-11, 09:18 PM
Only had mine for about a year

Roadhog
06-25-11, 09:43 PM
I has a core 2 duo kicking around somewhere.. The cat or dog might have ate it though.. After than I went to an i7. Pretty large jump. lol

Hogrider
06-25-11, 10:32 PM
The thread is about Core 2 Quads not Duos. GTFO!

snowmanwithahat
06-25-11, 11:39 PM
I'm also using a Q6600 G0. Great CPU. Got a used one for cheap to replace my E6600.

But SLI on the 775 platform was a very annoying. You needed one of those crappy nVidia chipsets. I guess that's why a lot of SLI users moved to newer Intel platforms very quickly.

Yeh, I'm hoping and praying that this sli-patch will work well for my system... I'm definitely going to report back to let you guys know how it goes

http://www.slipatch.com/

I'm sticking with this P45 chipset... so no "official" sli for me

snowmanwithahat
06-26-11, 02:06 PM
Back in the day, there was a hacked driver set available which enabled SLI on Intel chipsets. I used it for a while to run SLI on my i975X board. It was by far the best SLI experience I had during the whole 775 socket era. But after a few months that driver was badly outdated and I had to update. So I had to make a decision: either go back to another 680i board or downgrade to single card setups. I gladly picked the later.

I really hope it works out for you. Would be nice if you can post some feedback about this!

Thanks! From what it sounds this seems like it will work fairly well. It creates a 2nd boot option in the bootloader which is really just the same OS with a modified string identifying the motherboard to the nvidia drivers as a X58 chipset.

According to most reports it seems like to be working with the newest drivers so I have pretty high hopes

$n][pErMan
06-26-11, 04:23 PM
Still rocking on my OC'ed Q6600 man. Solid chipset and CPU ;)

Wolken007
06-26-11, 06:53 PM
Still have machines running strong using Q6600 and Q9450. Both working great on P45 chipsets.

crainger
06-27-11, 02:32 AM
I just retired my Q6600, prob will go into a media centre.

Vincentx77
06-27-11, 04:32 AM
been running a q9550@3.8 since late 2008. Recently upgraded to a GTX 580 a few months ago. It still handles most games beautifully, and so far, I haven't been able to justify upgrading it.

pross
06-27-11, 04:38 AM
No need to upgrade here.