PDA

View Full Version : Get FXAA in DX9 games NOW


Pages : [1] 2 3 4

JaylumX
07-31-11, 08:18 PM
Update 3: Beta 6 has introduced DirectX11 games support

Linkage (http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=8868406&postcount=250)

Check out my Just cause 2 Screenshot

Off
http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/7668/97908344.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/707/97908344.jpg/)

On
http://img703.imageshack.us/img703/1154/offx.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/703/offx.jpg/)


(nana2)

It bloody works. It is a little buggy when exiting games and a bit ghetto raw to initiate but hot dog it works. Check the linkage for the thread where i stumbled on this and check his screenshots

Linkage (http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4057543&postcount=59)


Original poster

Hi, I'm some dude and just wanted to see how fxaa looks on my notebook. But oh noes, I have only two old games and both use d3d9.
So instead of complaining I wrote some code and play those games with fxaa
now. It's faster than with the aa provided by the games.

Post your experience.
Read the readme for more info. If it doesn't work for you, maybe I can fix it later. The logfile may be helpful.

Roadhog
07-31-11, 08:21 PM
Tell me when this is dx11 capable.

JaylumX
07-31-11, 08:54 PM
Trine

I have disabled Frozenbytes custom supersampling AA which i understand is extremely taxing on some systems.

Check out the stairs for some nice comparisons

FXAA Off

http://img543.imageshack.us/img543/5093/trineoff.th.png (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/543/trineoff.png/)

FXAA On

http://img5.imageshack.us/img5/7418/trineon.th.png (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/5/trineon.png/)

knghtwhosaysni
08-01-11, 12:35 AM
awesome, thanks for this :) just tried it out in NFS: Shift and it worked great. It did make the loading screen last longer and crashed on exit, but I think the loading screen problem can be fixed by turning it off when you're not racing (press Insert to turn it on/off). Gonna go try Oblivion with graphics mods...


http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/7990/shift2011073122285403.th.png (http://img707.imageshack.us/i/shift2011073122285403.png/)
http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/2430/shift2011073122285734.th.png (http://img263.imageshack.us/i/shift2011073122285734.png/)

mailman2
08-01-11, 08:00 AM
I love how some guy can write code to do this... but Nvidia or ATI wouldn't bother. Here's an idea - they've given us useless FAA modes before why not give us something like this that really doesnt take a huge hit and is better than any other AA mode available??

Nice job OP - love how the little guys can seem to get it done better than the "pros"

|MaguS|
08-01-11, 09:48 AM
Would this work on Alpha Protocol? That game has horrid jaggies and normal AA breaks the conversation system.

Vardant
08-01-11, 10:25 AM
I love how some guy can write code to do this... but Nvidia or ATI wouldn't bother.
You must have missed this - http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=201821&st=260&p=1248230&#entry1248230

mailman2
08-01-11, 11:18 AM
You must have missed this - http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=201821&st=260&p=1248230&#entry1248230

yea, I knew this...

Then FXAA will be available in the Nvidia Control Panel. But FXAA currently works only in OpenGL.

Still no working DX11 solution but the OP has figured out how to do it for DX9 titles. Nvidia only has it working for OGL.

Redeemed
08-01-11, 11:21 AM
yea, I knew this...

Then FXAA will be available in the Nvidia Control Panel. But FXAA currently works only in OpenGL.

Still no working DX11 solution but the OP has figured out how to do it for DX9 titles. Nvidia only has it working for OGL.

Or maybe nvidia is focusing on getting it done for DX9, DX10, and DX11. What reason do you have to believe they don't have it working for DX9 internally? Can you imagine the crying from all the ignorant users out there if they released a driver with this option, people used it but then complained like babies that it wasn't working on their DX10 and 11 titles? Heck, nVidia could even put a disclaimer stating such, but you know people wouldn't read it.

I think they're doing the best thing, waiting till they have it working across the board, then include it in the driver control panel. :)

mailman2
08-01-11, 11:47 AM
Or maybe nvidia is focusing on getting it done for DX9, DX10, and DX11. What reason do you have to believe they don't have it working for DX9 internally? Can you imagine the crying from all the ignorant users out there if they released a driver with this option, people used it but then complained like babies that it wasn't working on their DX10 and 11 titles? Heck, nVidia could even put a disclaimer stating such, but you know people wouldn't read it.

I think they're doing the best thing, waiting till they have it working across the board, then include it in the driver control panel. :)

We dont - but for Joe Nobody to come out of nowhere with a fix just amazes me that it takes companies like Nvidia with multiple programmers so long to implement things. yay for the community.

Vardant
08-01-11, 12:47 PM
They have a better looking version in the works, it also needs to support more than just DX9/OGL and it breaks some games, so they have to either fix that manually on case by case basis or make new profiles for every game and only support some of them.

If somebody makes it kind of work, it's perfectly fine, but NV can't exactly do the same thing.

JasonPC
08-01-11, 03:21 PM
Doesn't work in Crysis 2 DX9. Causes game to crash.

JaylumX
08-01-11, 03:37 PM
OP has updated tweak. See my first post for details

Roadhog
08-01-11, 04:07 PM
yea, I knew this...

Then FXAA will be available in the Nvidia Control Panel. But FXAA currently works only in OpenGL.

Still no working DX11 solution but the OP has figured out how to do it for DX9 titles. Nvidia only has it working for OGL.

**** yeah, make it work in minecraft. :D:D:D

knghtwhosaysni
08-01-11, 04:28 PM
I love how some guy can write code to do this... but Nvidia or ATI wouldn't bother. Here's an idea - they've given us useless FAA modes before why not give us something like this that really doesnt take a huge hit and is better than any other AA mode available??

Nice job OP - love how the little guys can seem to get it done better than the "pros"Just for the record, it was a dude from Nvidia who is actually developing the algorithm for FXAA. This "some guy" just found a way to inject it into a DX9 helper dll...

|MaguS|
08-01-11, 06:36 PM
Someone test it with some Unreal Engine games.

JaylumX
08-01-11, 07:19 PM
If you browse to the 3DCenter forum some of the members have been posting FXAA comparison shot of Mass Effect 1 and 2 - Unreal tech games with no AA support.

I have four Unreal Tech games but MSAA works in the respective DX9 modes (Bioshock 1+2, Mirrors edge and Gears of War) so i figued it is pointless installing them to test.

I was searching earlier for Unreal tech game demo that are notorious for not supporting AA but they are to big for me to DL now since i have work early tomorrow. One problem Unreal demo i may try after work later today is Stranglehold. Timeshift is another deffered rendering game with no AA support although that is not an Unreal tech game.

I am just dling Splinter Cell Chaos Theory demo (unreal Tech) and see how the HDR and FXAA fair since the demo is not that big

Edit: Works with Chaos Theory and will get NoAA, MSAA and FXAA comparison screenshots later today. This tweak would have been a God send last year when i went ATI and got the 5870 and posted a thread here on enabling AA with HDR on Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory with no success :o

Will also try the Timeshift demo

The hack works on ATI cards from what i have heard

|MaguS|
08-01-11, 09:01 PM
Doesn't work for Alpha Protocol, makes the game insanely dark. Weird thing is that screen shots look normal.

Seems to happen with all Unreal Engine 3 games for me... once enabled the screen gets way too dark.

Arioch
08-02-11, 03:20 AM
This works great in Arcania and with the last update, the blurriness is gone too. Posted these elsewhere to show what it does for Arcania. Please note that these were taken from the previous beta, and the blurriness is no longer there.

Without FXAA
http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/1571/noaau.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/52/noaau.jpg/)

With FXAA
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/1282/48645843.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/233/48645843.jpg/)

JaylumX
08-02-11, 03:52 PM
Updated to version 4 :D

Edit: I am guessing version 4 improves compatibility even more for now that Nimbus works with it (go to Steam now and Download the demo NOW) and Tombraider Guardian of Light now works also (just to test for the sake of it :D)

Also the tweak works on Timeshift which imho is one of the best uses of deffered lighting when it was released and now looks better now with AA.

I wonder if it fixes the Unreal tech gamma issues. The guy is certainly improving on the hack :alc:

dikinher
08-02-11, 10:53 PM
It would be nice if it were compatible with DX10 so I could finally play Crysis with AA on everything.

mailman2
08-02-11, 11:23 PM
This is the kind of thing we've needed. Almost free anti aliasing. Lets hope we see all games switch to this and maybe enable it by default so that we don't have a choice.

fivefeet8
08-03-11, 11:24 AM
It would be nice if it were compatible with DX10 so I could finally play Crysis with AA on everything.

Now you can. The hack has been updated to support FXAA in dx10 applications.

http://hotfile.com/dl/125764390/1cef915/injectFxaa_by_some_dude_5.7z.html

Roadhog
08-03-11, 11:44 AM
Now you can. The hack has been updated to support FXAA in dx10 applications.

http://hotfile.com/dl/125764390/1cef915/injectFxaa_by_some_dude_5.7z.html

Oh hell yah. FXAA works in BC2 with dx10... Now all I need now is dx11 support. :D

ryoohki
08-03-11, 01:01 PM
Someone test it with some Unreal Engine games.

It works, i tested it with Transformers : War at Cybertron with is a UE game...