PDA

View Full Version : Is my ti500 performance a fluke? (xp2400, XIII demo, 4XAA/4XAF)


ragejg
08-15-03, 07:42 AM
I'm runnin this card @ 260/520... that's a decent clock IMO for a hot running ti500... but here's the deal...

In the XIII demo, I can run with EVERYTHING set to highest quality in the nvidia control panel, plus texture sharpening, 4XAA, and 4XAF ... (oh yeah, vsync off)... I run the game @ 10x7, and get VERY smooth gameplay... COMPLETELY playable...

I'm using 45.23's...

Now, on my machine for some reason, I can't run Unreal2 at these settings... it crashes... I've submitted 2 bug reports so far... The DEMO plays fine though... albeit choppy... I gotta turn the slider and mipmaps to the middle setting, and kick AF/AA down to 2X to get smooth... This isn't a problem... the crash issue... well that's poopy, and I'll just have to run it at lower settings for the time being...

But XIII!!! holy crap! Sorry but I like nvidia's 4XAA!!! And the AF appeared to be working correctly as well!!

Someone else with a GF3: please try the XIII demo... see if you can play @ these settings... let me know... I know, 10x7 isn't the gamer's resolution of choice anymore, but throw 4xAA/4xAF in there, and it's not too shabby IMO...

BTW I considered putting this thread in "games" but this has more to do with GF3 cards...

Solomon
08-15-03, 10:25 AM
It's hard to say, Your computer specs in your signature are weird. How come you have 2 CPU's listed? :)

Regarding the performance. Not entirely sure to be honest with you. We noticed in Battlefield 1942 that the GeForce 3 Ti seemed to run better then the 9800 Pro on a low-end system. (This is with no AA/AF)... The GeForce 3's seem to be pretty awesome on low-end systems.

I'm still puzzled about your question? Why would you be asking? Aren't you happy with the performance?

Regards,
D. Solomon Jr.
*********.com

ragejg
08-15-03, 10:55 AM
I'm REAL happy with the performance... It's just odd seeing an Unreal Warfare Engine game run THAT good on a GF3...

The system I ran it on isn't anything special... XP2400 @ stock speeds, gigabyte kt266a mobo, 256mb samsung PC2700 @ normal timings...

I'm gonna throw the demo on my higher bandwidth Abit KR7A-133R, put the ti500 in there, and see if it gets any better still.. . Yeh I'll lose 100mhz, but I'll be gaining LOTSA fsb...

I'd just like to see how other ppl with GF3's are faring with this game...

:)

Kev1
08-15-03, 11:12 AM
About the GF3's. I have a Gainward GF3 Ti200 overclocked to 245c/515m (faster than Ti500 speeds), and it will play any current first person shooter @1024 x 768, 32bit color, no AA/AF awesomely :)

I want to eventually upgrade, but since Doom3 will not be released till next year now I am going to hold off to get the NV40 or Radeon R420. All my games play great so I see no need to buy any video card at the moment. I will upgrade my cpu and get more memory however :)

What is XIII demo Ragejg? I will try it. Is it that X-Isle Dino Demo? Cause if it is it runs awesome on my setup :)

ragejg
08-15-03, 11:43 AM
XIII demo thread:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16075

:)

PreservedSwine
08-15-03, 11:57 AM
Well, to know if it's abnormal or not, how about an fps counter???

"Smooth and playable" could mean anything from the mid-20's to the 100's, depending on the user:)

ragejg
08-15-03, 12:08 PM
I'll run FRAPS on it tonite and post the results here...

:)

ragejg
08-15-03, 05:25 PM
1280x960, all quality options maxed, 2xaa/8xaf...


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?s=&postid=176086

ragejg
08-15-03, 05:31 PM
here's my frapssec... 1st one is 1280x960, 2xaa/8xaf, second one is 1024x768, 4xaa, 8xaf...

:)

ragejg
08-15-03, 09:35 PM
here's a frapslog...

1st one is 10x7, 4xaa, 8xaf...
2nd one is 10x7, 4xaa, 4xaf...

2003-08-15 17:47:39 - XIII
Frames: 5202 - Time: 96359ms - Avg: 53.985 - Min: 1 - Max: 80


2003-08-15 17:49:17 - XIII
Frames: 6395 - Time: 113516ms - Avg: 56.335 - Min: 1 - Max: 77

I went into heavy combat in both... IMO the results are validly indicative...

NickSpolec
08-15-03, 10:15 PM
You sure AA is working?

Because from that shot, it doesn't look like there is any anti-aliasing.. It's a dark picture though..

Solomon
08-16-03, 12:08 AM
AA shots are so mis-leading it's not even funny. There is a difference of AA in snap shots vs actually moving in the game. If you noticed his screenshot. There is evidence of AA though...

Regards,
D. Solomon Jr.
*********.com

phial
08-16-03, 12:14 AM
Originally posted by NickSpolec
You sure AA is working?

Because from that shot, it doesn't look like there is any anti-aliasing.. It's a dark picture though..


hah! i bet you its NOT working



me and a few people have been having problems with AA and current detonator revisions.

of course the "experienced" people just disregarded that rediculas idea

phial
08-16-03, 12:15 AM
ah yse ifyou look closely on the side of the door you can see some blending



time to try those new drivers

ragejg
08-16-03, 01:21 AM
Here's an outdoor shot... 10x7, 4XAA, 4XAF...

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?s=&postid=176248

ragejg
08-16-03, 01:29 AM
my gameplay on the outside level was as smooth as before... no noticeable performance drop like I expected...

gawd i wish i could post some png's...

The Baron
08-16-03, 01:30 AM
Originally posted by phial
hah! i bet you its NOT working



me and a few people have been having problems with AA and current detonator revisions.

of course the "experienced" people just disregarded that rediculas idea
Yes, because you're whole 40.72 multisample masking blah blah blah blah blah blah blah I have no idea what I'm talking about blah blah blah I'm a genius and everybody else is a fool blah blah blah has been proven completely wrong by StealthHawk. And since you have helpfully provided no evidence to the contrary, you are therefore wrong. Kthxbye.

Behemoth
08-16-03, 04:54 AM
Originally posted by ragejg
here's a frapslog...

1st one is 10x7, 4xaa, 8xaf...
2nd one is 10x7, 4xaa, 4xaf...

2003-08-15 17:47:39 - XIII
Frames: 5202 - Time: 96359ms - Avg: 53.985 - Min: 1 - Max: 80


2003-08-15 17:49:17 - XIII
Frames: 6395 - Time: 113516ms - Avg: 56.335 - Min: 1 - Max: 77

I went into heavy combat in both... IMO the results are validly indicative...
yeah your results look valid indeed because.... take a look at my fx5800/P4 3G scores on the military base map: :D

1024x768 4xAA/8xAF(qual.)
2003-08-16 16:07:19 - XIII
Frames: 80039 - Time: 679328ms - Avg: 117.820 - Min: 1 - Max: 130

1024x768 no AA/AF(qual.)
2003-08-16 16:20:10 - XIII
Frames: 63028 - Time: 517625ms - Avg: 121.763 - Min: 91 - Max: 129

1280x960 4xAA/8xAF(qual.)
2003-08-16 16:31:06 - XIII
Frames: 38134 - Time: 445438ms - Avg: 85.610 - Min: 45 - Max: 115

AA is working perfectly as well.

Behemoth
08-16-03, 05:20 AM
i love the headshot effect :thumbsup:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?s=&postid=176291

Ruined
08-16-03, 08:47 AM
I bet this game runs so well because it was designed to run on the XBOX, which has a modified p3 733mhz and a geforce 3.5

NickSpolec
08-16-03, 10:35 AM
ragejg,

Man are those screen shots dark. I hope you're not playing the game that way. How could you see anything :P

NickSpolec
08-16-03, 10:39 AM
I bet this game runs so well because it was designed to run on the XBOX, which has a modified p3 733mhz and a geforce 3.5

Not necessarily true.

Several X-Box conversion games run like relative crap on GeForce3 hardware, especially Metal Gear Solid 2: Substanced (even with a 2.13ghz Processor, I should know).

A PC setup similar to an X-Box would not be able to play X-Box games at the same level as the X-Box does.