PDA

View Full Version : Is this a RAM problem?


tjohn
10-02-11, 02:13 PM
Having some problems with my new build, worst one is no post. This is what I've done.

Tried all 4 ram sticks in 4 slots = no post
Tried 1 stick of each in all 4 slots = no post
Tried 2 sticks in slot 1-3 = no post
Tried same 2 sticks in slots 2-4 = no post
Tried 2 of the other sticks in slots 1-3 = post
Tried the same 2 other sticks in slots 2-4 = post

Should I RMA my ram?

Johnny C
10-02-11, 09:04 PM
RMA time

grey_1
10-03-11, 08:26 AM
Can you borrow a stick from someone? Just seems unlikely that all 4 sticks would be bad.

Have you disconnected absolutely everything other than video? I've had mobo related issues with hdds and optical drives that prevented post before.

Gfx card reseated nice and tight?

Just tossing suggestions out there - 4 bad sticks just doesn't sound right.

EDIT: If all else fails remove it from the case and see if it posts. Make sure something isn't shorting in there.

tjohn
10-03-11, 09:55 AM
Thanks, yeah tried all that and some. It is 2 defective sticks cause the other 2 work in all slots. I'm RMA'ing today. Along with my Cooler Master V8! Stupid thing will not tighten down properly, two of the screw heads are stripped.

grey_1
10-03-11, 11:27 AM
Oh my bad. I thought all 4 sticks caused problems.

It would help if I read a little more closely :lol:

water3212
01-05-12, 01:29 AM
just change your Ram and Ram slid

dukenukemz
01-24-12, 11:46 AM
If you bought a 8GB set of 2x2x2x2 it doesnt matter which one fails so just return the whole thing if you bought two 2x2 sets of ram then you will have to narrow down which sticks are causing the issue. if its newegg just say the ram failed and send it back they dont really care all that much

tjohn
01-25-12, 09:52 AM
It was a 16 GB kit 4x4x4x4 and one was bad. New set working great.

john19055
02-03-12, 11:49 AM
I bought a set of G.Skill RipJaws X DDR1333 16gigs kit and they work great .good for overclocking . They run 1333Mhz at 7-7-7-21 1.5v and 1600Mhz at 8-8-8-24 1.5v and 1866 at 10-10-10-30 1.5v ,they scale great.Pretty good for a cheap set of memory at $80,I see they done went up some more.I have never used G.Skill ,I usally go with corsair but these run great.

Redeemed
02-03-12, 11:51 AM
I only buy G.Skill. Have for at least the past 3 years. :)

Robs07M6S
02-03-12, 11:59 AM
I only buy G.Skill. Have for at least the past 3 years. :)

Same here, they usually have the best prices and I have yet to ever have a single issue using that brand.