PDA

View Full Version : Can I flash nvidia 8400gs graphic card with different brand but same model 8400gs ?

one_love
11-10-11, 08:51 PM
I have a galaxy brand nvidia 8400gs 512mb graphic card which is not booting. I have my friend graphic card which is BIG nvidia 8400gs 512mb but the company is BIG. I had tried to dump his graphic card bios and I tried to flash my card bios with it. But it gives error message something like "device ID not same".

I am new in flashing graphic card so anybody who knows and can help ???
I am using these programs to flash and edit the bios, nvflash and nbitor.
These nbitor is used to edit bios but I am new can anybody help me in editing bios???
And I am using nvflash to flash the bios.

frenchy2k1
11-11-11, 02:40 PM
yes, you can *IF* you are sure they are the same cards (same GPU, same memory types).
the command will be nvflash -i <gpunum> -4 -5 -6 <biosname.rom>

If you want more bios with the same chip (but not galaxy), try here:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?page=1&architecture=NVIDIA&manufacturer=&model=8400+GS&interface=&memSize=0

Be very careful in editing your bios Why do you even need to edit anything? Know that a really BAD flash can brick your card...

one_love
11-11-11, 03:17 PM