PDA

View Full Version : How high can a 2.4GHz P4 go?


coolguy
08-25-03, 02:26 AM
I am using a ASUS P4P800 mobo with Transcend 256mb PC2700 DDR RAM.

I have a P4 2.4GHz CPU with HT. How far can I overclock it, safely, without using any additional cooling?

I am using the heat sink and the fan that came with the processor. The cabinet is ventilated with 2 fans at the side and one at the top (plus the one in the power supply). The power supply is 350W.

Dazz
08-25-03, 04:38 AM
Depends on what CPU it is? 2.4B or 2.4C, all willl do 2.8GHz although you will have to watch how far you pust your memory also.

B&R
08-25-03, 10:16 AM
U say 2.4 with HT so i am assuming u have a 2.4C.

2.4C are really good OC'ers ..I heard it can go upto 3.2Ghz.

But it can only go that high with voltage increase and by adding extra good cooling.

Without voltage increase and extra cooling u can go upto 2.7-2.8Ghz i guess.

The Baron
08-25-03, 10:19 AM
5150 Joker here got his up to 3.49Ghz, I believe. But, that might be a 2.6C. Check his sig.

coolguy
08-25-03, 10:21 AM
Its a 2.4C processor. I used the preset 5% increase from the BIOS and the system seemed to run well. I reverted back to the default values shortly though.

B&R
08-25-03, 10:37 AM
Originally posted by coolguy
Its a 2.4C processor. I used the preset 5% increase from the BIOS and the system seemed to run well. I reverted back to the default values shortly though.

:lol: that is not that much of a increase but good enough to start of at. U should be able to 200 Mhz more atleast without any probs.

Malfunction
08-25-03, 11:00 AM
His limitation is the memory ratio. That AI overclocker in Asus is not real over clocking. You have to alter the actual FSB instead of raising everything together which is all the the Auto o/c does.

The reason his memory is the limitation is:

1) it might be increase speed beyond memory spec: 1:1 ratio instead of a 5:4 or 4:3

2) Not enough voltage going to memory to support that 1:1 ratio

3) The AGP/PCI buses are also increase together with the FSB thus potentially creating errors as well.

Check out what Slappy did over here: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16758

He took my advise and was successful with it, you might be as well.

Peace,

:)

Dazz
08-25-03, 11:27 AM
All Intel boards are AGP & PCI locked :)

Malfunction
08-25-03, 12:52 PM
Originally posted by Dazz
All Intel boards are AGP & PCI locked :)

No they are not

Peace,

:)

Dazz
08-25-03, 03:35 PM
They have been since the Pentium 2/3 days, all Intel boards are PCI/AGP locked while VIA and SIS are not. Trust me there no way in hell you would ever be running at a 250MHz FSB with deviders.

Malfunction
08-25-03, 03:42 PM
Originally posted by Dazz
They have been since the Pentium 2/3 days, all Intel boards are PCI/AGP locked while VIA and SIS are not. Trust me there no way in hell you would ever be running at a 250MHz FSB with deviders.

Hmmm... ok then. I believe you. :)

Peace,

;)

Dazz
08-25-03, 04:31 PM
INfact i think the recent SIS boards are PCI/AGP locked also, 655/FX boards.