PDA

View Full Version : UT2003 demo impressions


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Crake
09-10-02, 11:49 AM
Go to
http://www.ina-community.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=201466

WOhoooooooo

Crake happy now :)

Mojo
09-10-02, 03:39 PM
BOO YEAH!

and about bloody time :rolleyes:

-Mojo

Crake
09-10-02, 03:50 PM
...
first game that will use my capabilities of my puter (athlon xp1700+ , leadtek ti4400) but so much that its too slow again...
anyway im glad to hear the news from master mark himself :)

Crake :cool:

nin_fragile14
09-10-02, 04:25 PM
Ha ha. I hope so.

SavagePaladin
09-10-02, 05:21 PM
Wheeha :)

StealthHawk
09-10-02, 07:27 PM
Originally posted by Crake
...
first game that will use my capabilities of my puter (athlon xp1700+ , leadtek ti4400) but so much that its too slow again...
anyway im glad to hear the news from master mark himself :)

Crake :cool:

hmm, i thought UT2003 had pretty high framerates with a gf4 myself :D

if you want something that makes your computer "too slow" try Tenebrae Quake.

volt
09-10-02, 09:56 PM
haha
http://brodiemac.freewebspace.com/images/leftnav_01_01.jpg

check out this thread:
http://www.ina-community.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=197066&perpage=30&pagenumber=1

Matthyahuw
09-10-02, 10:51 PM
Originally posted by d1rX
check out this thread:
http://www.ina-community.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=197066&perpage=30&pagenumber=1 That's like THE BEST THREAD I've EVER seen!!! HAHAHA :D

volt
09-10-02, 10:57 PM
Yea, some of the art is pretty funny hehehe
I like this one too:

http://www.ful-fet.nu/msmi/finished.jpg

Mojo
09-11-02, 05:52 AM
http://www.ful-fet.nu/msmi/gollum.jpg
-Mojo

SavagePaladin
09-11-02, 12:23 PM
I don't expect this game to really 'push' my gf3ti200 :P:)
Hehe.
I'd love an upgrade, but theres no money and no point...so...

Gator
09-11-02, 12:38 PM
Originally posted by SavagePaladin
I don't expect this game to really 'push' my gf3ti200 :P:)
Hehe.
I'd love an upgrade, but theres no money and no point...so...

you're joking right? a GF3 TI200 is practically the minimum for this game. I'm recommending to most poeple to get a GF4 TI4400 for this baby

Mojo
09-11-02, 01:22 PM
Im not even convinced my ti 4400 is going to be able to run this baby smoothly at 1024*768, medium details... :o

hopefully itll run a bit better than the ... *ahem* other versions

-Mojo

sytaylor
09-11-02, 03:47 PM
Originally posted by Gator


you're joking right? a GF3 TI200 is practically the minimum for this game. I'm recommending to most poeple to get a GF4 TI4400 for this baby

waaaay ahead of ya gator ;) got mine a few months back :D :cool:

SavagePaladin
09-11-02, 05:10 PM
Originally posted by Gator


you're joking right? a GF3 TI200 is practically the minimum for this game. I'm recommending to most poeple to get a GF4 TI4400 for this baby
That explains the benchmark I saw I guess
:rolleyes:
keep your leak talk to yourself
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1647&p=8
42fps
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1647&p=13
92fps
And that's with a build made in late July.
This isn't late July anymore.

de><ta
09-11-02, 05:33 PM
Originally posted by Gator


you're joking right? a GF3 TI200 is practically the minimum for this game. I'm recommending to most poeple to get a GF4 TI4400 for this baby

I doubt it. Knowing Unreal they probably are going to optimize the engine a helluva lot then what it was when it was beta. A gf3 would do the job fairly decently minus the extensive eye candy.

Mojo
09-11-02, 06:06 PM
the benchmarks they are using are just the fly-by's they dont take into consideration weapons/player skins ingame nor do the tests have to deal with the overhead of AI and Karma physics...

believe me, the real game performance is far less that those benchmarks you have seen...

-Mojo

SavagePaladin
09-11-02, 06:07 PM
You haven't played the real game, have you? I guess I'll find that out when I do.

Mojo
09-11-02, 06:08 PM
we'll see eh? ;) Ill save you all the 'i told you so's later on..

-Mojo

SavagePaladin
09-11-02, 06:11 PM
I'm not trying to argue that it'll be THAT, I'm just arguing that making a game that onlyu people with gf4s could use would be lame. There are a hell of a lot of budget users out there.
And since their minimum spec is a tnt2/voodoo3....
I think my gf3 will do fine.
:rolleyes:
___
speaking of not much I know just as manhy people with gf3s that say the leaks play fine as the ones who say 'only gf4s can play it'
___
btw I'm just going to end this and say 'we'll see' arguments are really stupid and I believe the developers more than I believe you.
no more arguing here for me

Mojo
09-11-02, 06:20 PM
im not contesting with you being able to run it fine on a Geforce 3, i just think that you wont be playing at the high detail settings that they use for the benchmarks...

heh, as for being able to run it on a TNT 2, they (Mark Rein) said that a 1GHz TBird and a TNT2 would get generally about 20fps constant (their idea of playable) - and thats at 512*384, 16 Bit colour and low detail

technically, the 'minimum specs' is what you need to get the game to load up :P

but yeh, good point, they would hardly sell any copies if it wouldnt run well on even top end machines...

-Mojo

/edit - whos arguing? :rolleyes:

volt
09-11-02, 06:26 PM
I'll be happy with 50 FPS at 1280x1024 2X AA :>

SavagePaladin
09-11-02, 07:51 PM
bah...sorry....I always assume everyones arguing....most of the time i'm correct, I think, but anyway :)

Gator
09-12-02, 07:20 AM
ok ok sorry my bad, didn't mean for anyone to take what I said so to heart. Yes, I made my judgements from build 927 which seem terrible on my former R8500, and bad on some of my friends GF3's (And of course I don't really have build 927 because after all having a leaked demo would be wrong and naughty) ;)

SavagePaladin, you're right. Try the game on your GF3TI200 and let us know how it is. Who knows, maybe they really will tweak the heck out of the engine before realease. I sure hope they do because it'll make as GF4 peeps own :D Seriously though, I hope it works well for you, I happen to think game requirements these days are getting out of hand and pricey.

And hey, if it do stink on GF3, the good news is GF4 TI4200 is only $119us these days, and GF4TI4400 is only $190us. Not nearly as high as it was a month or so ago :cool:

Kev1
09-12-02, 08:39 PM
And then you'll know how your machine will do in UT2003. Of course, wait a day or 2 and you'll know anyway :rolleyes:

My system plays America's Army very FAST. I am running a GF3 Ti200, oc'ed to beyond GF3 Ti500 levels. How many people with GF3 Ti200s do you think run the card at STOCK SPEED! DUH!

The worst of the Ti200s clock at regular GF3 levels. Most go well beyond that perfectly stable. I'm sure there are some people who don't overclock their Ti200s, but not doing so just throws a good deal of performance out the window.

I don't plan on using AA, but I will use ansio (or -LOD patch) as it has very little impact on my setup. I run America's Army at 1024 x 768, in 32 bit color, all details maxed and I never have any slow ups. 50 to 100 fps seems pretty good to me.

A GF3 cannot run at the higher res's or really use AA, but otherwise if you have a 1.2ghz cpu or above with a GF3 of some kind your not gonna have many problems.

I won't upgrade my video card till XMas time or early next year, maybe even later than that. I just cannot see a need to.

Besides, I want to see how the NV30 compares to the Radeon 9700 :confused:

And I'm getting kindof mad at every GF4 owner saying how friggen great their damn card is and how everything else is s**t!

The term "Bite Me" comes to mind :mad: