PDA

View Full Version : Dissapointed with Sandy Bridge in general


Pages : [1] 2

red777star
12-22-11, 07:44 PM
Intel ****ed up overclocking with Sandy Bridge in my book big time. Is there a way to force Sandy Bridge - E to keep all cores on overclock speed. I don't care about power saving, really don't. I tried to disable C crap and even C1E and Speedstep but it still lower clock speed based on load. This is bull****.

Roadhog
12-22-11, 07:44 PM
waaa

red777star
12-22-11, 07:47 PM
waaa

I don't want Intel to tell me when CPU speed is going to kick to full speed based on load. I want to run it at 4.4Ghz all the time, even if i play Crysis 2 or playing ****ing Solitaire. Sorry, it just pisses me off.

Roadhog
12-22-11, 07:55 PM
I don't want Intel to tell me when CPU speed is going to kick to full speed based on load. I want to run it at 4.4Ghz all the time, even if i play Crysis 2 or playing ****ing Solitaire. Sorry, it just pisses me off.

Did you disable turbo mode...

red777star
12-22-11, 08:17 PM
Did you disable turbo mode...

There is no option to disable Turbo Mode. ASRock Extreme4 x79.

Redeemed
12-22-11, 09:18 PM
May seem obvious but did you update to the latest BIOS?

jcrox
12-22-11, 11:21 PM
I was able to set mine to stay at 4.4GHz with no power saving....


You're doing it wrong

mullet
12-23-11, 12:00 AM
There is no option to disable Turbo Mode. ASRock Extreme4 x79.

http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/4480/asrock_x79_extreme4_intel_x79_motherboard_review/index4.html

red777star
12-23-11, 12:43 AM
http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/4480/asrock_x79_extreme4_intel_x79_motherboard_review/index4.html

If i don't overclock turbo option shows up and even that still doesn't do a ****. It still changes clock based on load. Sandy Bridge CPU is so gay.

red777star
12-23-11, 12:44 AM
I was able to set mine to stay at 4.4GHz with no power saving....


You're doing it wrong

i7 3930K is different than 2500K. Power management is different.

red777star
12-23-11, 12:52 AM
Choosing Asrock for a highend platform :rofl

Lol. Board is very stable with 4.6Ghz overclock. I guess i will have to wait to see if this is a bug.

mullet
12-23-11, 12:54 AM
Choosing Asrock for a highend platform :rofl

lol

Shatmusket
12-23-11, 11:14 AM
Windows power settings?

red777star
12-23-11, 11:50 AM
Windows power settings?

I set to High Performance. Basically it always throttle to 1200Mhz no matter what setting i put in Bios. If i disabled Turbo, Overclocking is disabled and even then with C6, C3, Speedstep, C1E disabled still throttles to 1200Mhz on idle and on load goes to full speed but sometime a bit less than full speed if game is more GPU demanding. Of course voltage is all over the place along the way. In game like Crysis 2 all cores go to full speed of 4.6Ghz.

There are two explanations:

1. Sandy Bridge - E power management is different than 2000K series
2. Some bug with Bios

Some people like power saving option but i don't care. I always run CPU at full overclock speed regardless computer being on idle or load. I never had CPU failure of course as long as voltage and temperature is at reasonable level. Infact any voltage spike is not good for any electrica component. Overclocked CPU at full speed and steady voltage will last longer than this crap, nothing that we will encount during its usage since it will be replaced before it actually any potential failure happens.

fasedww
12-23-11, 12:36 PM
I set to High Performance. Basically it always throttle to 1200Mhz no matter what setting i put in Bios. If i disabled Turbo, Overclocking is disabled and even then with C6, C3, Speedstep, C1E disabled still throttles to 1200Mhz on idle and on load goes to full speed but sometime a bit less than full speed if game is more GPU demanding. Of course voltage is all over the place along the way. In game like Crysis 2 all cores go to full speed of 4.6Ghz.

There are two explanations:

1. Sandy Bridge - E power management is different than 2000K series
2. Some bug with Bios

Some people like power saving option but i don't care. I always run CPU at full overclock speed regardless computer being on idle or load. I never had CPU failure of course as long as voltage and temperature is at reasonable level. Infact any voltage spike is not good for any electrica component. Overclocked CPU at full speed and steady voltage will last longer than this crap, nothing that we will encount during its usage since it will be replaced before it actually any potential failure happens.
I got mine at steady 4.699Ghz 4.7Ghz steady all the time.(xmastong)

red777star
12-23-11, 02:00 PM
I got mine at steady 4.699Ghz 4.7Ghz steady all the time.(xmastong)

Can you tell me what settings you had set? I saw that Asus and ASRock pretty much have same options in UEFI.

Thanks.

mullet
12-23-11, 02:51 PM
You need a good bios update.

fasedww
12-24-11, 09:09 AM
Can you tell me what settings you had set? I saw that Asus and ASRock pretty much have same options in UEFI.

Thanks.

Yeah ok but I'm on another computer right now for awhile. My ATI gaming rig with two 6970 powercooler LCS, crossfire baby.(xmassign2
http://img820.imageshack.us/img820/8719/001mdr.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/820/001mdr.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

snowmanwithahat
12-24-11, 12:20 PM
Choosing Asrock for a highend platform :rofl

lol agreed....

Maybe things are different now but asrock used to be complete garbage... if you wanted a decent platform you stayed away from them and went with Abit, DFI, ASUS, Gigabyte.... Maybe an MSI depending on the year / socket... but not Foxconn or Intel or asrock lol

ViN86
12-24-11, 03:33 PM
So, how is this Intel's fault again?

mullet
12-24-11, 06:41 PM
fasedww, super nice dude.

fasedww
12-24-11, 07:11 PM
Can you tell me what settings you had set? I saw that Asus and ASRock pretty much have same options in UEFI.

Thanks.

Ok I got cpu power saving mode disabled, and under cpu features have intel speedstep technology disabled. turbo is on by all cores.(cheers)

Bah!
12-25-11, 10:07 PM
lol agreed....

Maybe things are different now but asrock used to be complete garbage... if you wanted a decent platform you stayed away from them and went with Abit, DFI, ASUS, Gigabyte.... Maybe an MSI depending on the year / socket... but not Foxconn or Intel or asrock lol

You guys have obviously not been keeping up lately. The ASRock Z68 and X79 boards are some of the best enthusiast boards on the market.

frenchy2k1
12-27-11, 01:08 PM
Reviews of latest ASRock boards are excellent. Abit is pretty much dead by now, same for DFI that gave up the enthusiast market. I'm afraid the info here is a *bit* outdated...

wheeljack12
12-29-11, 03:23 AM
asrock mb's warranty is region and vendor specific according to their website. Newegg lists the asrock extreme 4 as 1 year warranty. I originally had that mb but I exchanged it for the gigabyte x79-ud3. Mainly due to the "5 year warranty" over 1. In reality, if you try to register the ud3 mb on the gigabyte website, gigabyte says that model is not eligible for 5 years warranty. So, I still get 3 years regardless and better quality. Maybe that's why asrock gets knocked, because they seem to put out a ok product but crap warranty.