PDA

View Full Version : wow, low fsb...

Matthius
08-27-03, 08:43 AM
hey ah, about a few days ago, that crazy 2400xp vs 2.6 thread was closed, and i needed to ask one more thing, yet i am a bit of a noob, and im pretty sure i know the answer to this question, but im askin anyway.

my 2400xp's fsb is at 266 i think :eek: if i put it to 333, or the next one up, is it gonna make my cpu all unstable n stuff? or just oc it enuf to be...faster? (sorry about this question, it almost doesn't make sense:rolleyes: )

EciDemon
08-27-03, 09:05 AM
Well you need to lower the multiplier so it all still adds up to ~2ghz as that is the speed of xp2400+ But then, the xp2400 is ment to be used with a 266 fsb

But you would need pc2700 memory
Pc 2100=266mhz
Pc2700=333mhz

So in short, dont do that.

When OCing, you just set the fsb alittle higher, like 270mhz. One thing to remember is that when you raise the speeds like that it affect everything, ram speed, bus speed for pci slots, agp etc. So every thing in your computer must be able to handle this, else the computer will reboot, or lockup.

On my mobo the multiplier is fixed so I cant oc very much.

In theory its very easy to OC.

The Baron
08-27-03, 10:20 AM
A. Previous poster's comments were wrong.

B. You can go KRAZY with the FSB. Technically, the FSB runs at 133 for you right now (DDR makes it act as if it were 266, but in the BIOS, it SHOULD be called 133). Since you have PC2700 RAM, you could set your RAM to their recommended timings (2.5-3-3-7 or what have you) and then bump up the FSB to 150, and if that works, bump it up to 166. Run the Prime95 stress test and Memtest86 both times to make sure your CPU and RAM are stable.