PDA

View Full Version : Which processor to buy ofr my new board.


Tuork
09-06-03, 12:44 PM
I am 2 steps away from selling my current Athlon xp 1600+ and I just bought and FIC AN19e board.

I'm wondering what is the max processor this board can handle.

I think I can get my hands on a 2100+ for approx. $90 (yeah, prices suck in colombia) and possibly overclock it if it's possible.

Any advice/comments?

mariuz
09-06-03, 01:46 PM
Originally posted by Tuork
I am 2 steps away from selling my current Athlon xp 1600+ and I just bought and FIC AN19e board.

I'm wondering what is the max processor this board can handle.

I think I can get my hands on a 2100+ for approx. $90 (yeah, prices suck in colombia) and possibly overclock it if it's possible.

Any advice/comments?
My advice is to NOT buy the 2100+ , better buy
a barton 2500+ , it overclocks better :)
After the athlon64 launch in september 23 maybe
the price of bartons will go down a little ,
So better wait a little than to cry after :cool:

B&R
09-06-03, 02:02 PM
BARTON 2600+ not 2500+.. 2600+ is jus like 10 buks CAD more thats it. So first choice could be 2600+ then a 2500+.

Also if u want to take a chance then u should wait for athlon 64's and see if the price of barton's will go down more.

digitalwanderer
09-06-03, 02:06 PM
I think the Barton 2500+ is currently the best bang for the buck, that's why I got it. :)

Tuork
09-06-03, 03:01 PM
Thanks for the tip, I'll now wait until sept 23 to see which prices drop.

I'll be hunting for a barton 2600+.


BTW, I've never quite understood what a "barton" really is, and what's the difference with a normal one. I hate sounding like an idiot, so please sort my mind out.


(update) I found out my board can withstand up to 2.1 GHz. :D

mariuz
09-06-03, 04:29 PM
Originally posted by Tuork
Thanks for the tip, I'll now wait until sept 23 to see which prices drop.

I'll be hunting for a barton 2600+.


BTW, I've never quite understood what a "barton" really is, and what's the difference with a normal one. I hate sounding like an idiot, so please sort my mind out.


(update) I found out my board can withstand up to 2.1 GHz. :D
It has 512K cache L2 more than the old Athlon (256K) core and the fsb is 333 (it works to 400 and more) also it is a very good overclocker :)
Hexus has a review of the barton , I think is a good info about what a barton can do http://www.hexus.net/content/reviews/review.php?dXJsX3Jldmlld19JRD02MTQ=
there are of course other reviews on the net
http://www.ocaddiction.com/reviews/cpu/barton_2500/

digitalwanderer
09-06-03, 04:31 PM
Originally posted by Tuork
BTW, I've never quite understood what a "barton" really is, and what's the difference with a normal one. I hate sounding like an idiot, so please sort my mind out.
Truth be told, neither do I....I just had too many people recomend it to me as the best CPU to get and that it OCed like a mofo. (Which has all been true from my experiences so far. :cool: )

The Baron
09-06-03, 04:47 PM
Barton has double the cache of a Thoroughbred. 512k instead of 256k.

Tuork
09-06-03, 05:20 PM
I just read the review on the Barton 2500+ AQ whatnot.

:eek: Pretty impressive. Now I'm convinced which processor is best buck.

I'll see if I can get it where I live. :(


Any idea where I can get an idiot's guide to overclocking?
(board: AN19e + Athlon xp 1600+)

At least I wanna give it a try with my 1600+

B&R
09-07-03, 12:37 PM
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
I think the Barton 2500+ is currently the best bang for the buck, that's why I got it. :)

Not anymore barton 2600+ is jus like 10 buks more.

B&R
09-07-03, 12:38 PM
Originally posted by The Baron
Barton has double the cache of a Thoroughbred. 512k instead of 256k.

and a FSB of 333Mhz compared to a FSB of 266Mhz of a throughbred.

Tuork
09-07-03, 03:57 PM
Originally posted by B&R
and a FSB of 333Mhz compared to a FSB of 266Mhz of a throughbred.


Neat!
hahaha

ReDeeMeR
09-07-03, 04:21 PM
Yeah, these 2500+'s are great, I set 200FSB right off when I got home and the temps went only 2-4C up, currently my kingston are on the way and I'm using ****ty PQI 400 so I didnt try to any higher, but I'm sure with good ram you can do 230+ FSB

Tuork
09-07-03, 07:23 PM
BTW:
How the hell can I OC?

(I know this should probably go on the modding section)


Is it using a program, or through the BIOS?
I really have no idea... :(

demonized
09-08-03, 10:32 AM
through the bios.

CaptNKILL
09-08-03, 03:34 PM
When did AMD start making 2600+ Bartons? I have never heard of this CPU before and NewEgg doesnt sell them.
:confused:

EDIT: I just did a search on Price Watch for 2600+ Barton and there is no such thing.... are you guys sure its not a 2600+ TBred?

Tuork
09-08-03, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by demonized
through the bios.

Thanks. I'll give it a try.

B&R
09-08-03, 10:45 PM
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
When did AMD start making 2600+ Bartons? I have never heard of this CPU before and NewEgg doesnt sell them.
:confused:

EDIT: I just did a search on Price Watch for 2600+ Barton and there is no such thing.... are you guys sure its not a 2600+ TBred?

Sorry for the confusion.

The following site threw me off. There was a 333FSB 2600+ which is not a barton. I thought it was.

Btw to clear everytin up... there are throughbreds that have 333FSB which were released. As i know of now they were 2400+, 2600+ and 2700+.

So the main diff between a barton and a T-bred is the cache. So u should get a 2500+ barton. If u are wondering how 2600+(333FSB T-bred) compares to a barton 2500+.. well still the barton is better because of the cache.


Again sorry for the confusion and i hope i dint make any more mistakes.:o
Oh btw thanz CaptNKILL.