PDA

View Full Version : AMD64 legit Benchmarks!


Pages : [1] 2 3

ReDeeMeR
09-08-03, 11:22 AM
http://www.tbreak.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=19317&perpage=15&pagenumber=1

:cool:

druga runda
09-08-03, 12:29 PM
Tx... but the site is a little slow ;)

heh... it must be all the images...

but this is crazy

587 FPS in Q3 :lol:

:afro:

this must be a record - 2.3 sec for the demo :angel:

Dazz
09-08-03, 12:56 PM
That was what i said lol.

CaptNKILL
09-08-03, 03:40 PM
Holy &*@#$Y#Y!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I cant wait to see more benchies of this baby! This thing is one amazing CPU.

I better start saving up the pennies now...... :D

bkswaney
09-09-03, 03:05 AM
Now I see why Intel is releasing there new chip. :eek:They r going to need it if these scores hold up. :)

WarheadMM
09-09-03, 09:31 AM
Here's the mobo
KT800 (http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=110201&Category_Code=NA)

B&R
09-09-03, 04:56 PM
:lol: i read this yesterday.. that is really AMAZING.

I jus want to know wat u guys think abt the how legitimacy of those benchies.

CaptNKILL
09-09-03, 09:06 PM
Originally posted by B&R
:lol: i read this yesterday.. that is really AMAZING.

I jus want to know wat u guys think abt the how legitimacy of those benchies.

Well, I was a bit skeptical at the almost 600fps in Quake 3, but I was thinking that we are still in the 250fps range for Pentium 4s.

WRONG

Top P4s get around 400fps in Quake 3, so as amazing as 600fps sounds, its very believible considering we already have over 400.

Im sticking with my current setup (besides video card) and not upgrading a single thing until I have enough cash to buy one of these CPUs :)

How much do you think one of these will cost? Probably like $400 for the "low end" chip sounds realistic.

ReDeeMeR
09-10-03, 07:30 PM
hah well Intel is still having problems with Prescot or so I hear while these bad asses are already on the shelf, wtg AMD :)

I think they are pritty pricey, these are server chips after all ;)

I'll let the process mature abit, motherboards look worse then Nforce2 was when it first became available.

CaptNKILL
09-10-03, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by ReDeeMeR
hah well Intel is still having problems with Prescot or so I hear while these bad asses are already on the shelf, wtg AMD :)

I think they are pritty pricey, these are server chips after all ;)

I'll let the process mature abit, motherboards look worse then Nforce2 was when it first became available.
No these arent out yet.

The Server version for the AMD 64 is the Opteron and that is available right now.

The Athlon FX (desktop version) isnt available yet.

AthlonXP1800
09-12-03, 08:31 PM
Almost 600fps on Quake 3 for Athlon 64 is really amazing but I think it will be very expensive when it will be launch next week and it will be in very limit supply. It best to start saving now and buy Athlon 64 next year when it will be in full supply with 0.09 micron Athlon 64 at cheap prices plus PCI Express motherboard. I am sure Athlon 64 will be the best CPU to play Half Life 2 at 100fps or over next week compared to around 50fps on Pentium 4. :D

I think 600fps on Quake 3 is equal the perform of a future 4Ghz or 5Ghz Pentium 4 that CPU do not exist.

Riptide
09-13-03, 10:01 AM
Originally posted by AthlonXP1800
I think 600fps on Quake 3 is equal the perform of a future 4Ghz or 5Ghz Pentium 4 that CPU do not exist.
Well see what prescott brings to the table. This thing isn't over yet... ;)

ReDeeMeR
09-13-03, 01:06 PM
All I really care now is the price and since AMD is still alive we can hope for good competition. :D

Dazz
09-13-03, 01:32 PM
Well heres a AThlon 64 3200+ review w/ nForce 3 board http://www.ocworkbench.com/2003/gigabyte/k8nnxp/k8nnxp-1.htm

Fotis
09-13-03, 04:29 PM
It looks like Athlon 64 3200+ goes head to head with Pentium 4 3GHz.
Kinda disapointing:(

Riptide
09-14-03, 01:00 AM
Yeah, not really all that stellar. I'm sure performance will improve but if the northwood can hold it's own against it in these benchmarks it makes me think that the prescott might be a challenge once it's out.

Fotis
09-14-03, 04:19 AM
AFAIK Prescott(100mil trans) will have almost twise the trans count of Northwood(55mil trans).Prescott is no minor improvement.I've heard predictions about it beeing 20-25% faster than Northwood on the same clock.
The 3.2GHz version of Prescott will cost as much as Athlon64 3200+so I fail to see how AMD can compete effectively putting these cpus against each other.
IMO AMD should drop the price of Althon64 FX and put it against Prescott.

StealthHawk
09-14-03, 08:21 AM
Originally posted by Fotis
AFAIK Prescott(100mil trans) will have almost twise the trans count of Northwood(55mil trans).Prescott is no minor improvement.I've heard predictions about it beeing 20-25% faster than Northwood on the same clock.
The 3.2GHz version of Prescott will cost as much as Athlon64 3200+so I fail to see how AMD can compete effectively putting these cpus against each other.
IMO AMD should drop the price of Althon64 FX and put it against Prescott.

Isn't most of that transistor improvement added cache? It's not like they doubled the amount of core logic.

Dazz
09-14-03, 10:19 AM
Yeap it's due to doubling the cache which increases the die size, also the Athlon 64 is to compete with Northwood core while the Athlon 64 FX is to compete with Prescott.

borntosoul
09-14-03, 11:19 AM
damn impressive scores !!!!!! after being sooo close to buying a p4 2.8c/865 combo i settled and bought a barton 2500+/nforce2 just to fit my needs!!
IM GOING TO SUPPORT AMD AND ITS ATHLON 64 'if' AMD dont change their price policy too much, i know they will be priced higher :( AMD is going for a YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR approach (if its expencive it must be good). i just hope they will still offer the best bang for buck cpu's.

Dazz
09-14-03, 04:34 PM
More then likley yeah, UT2003/4 will support 64bit in a patch Half life will and more likly HL2, should expect anything from 10~30% performance increase from 32 to 64bit

-=DVS=-
09-14-03, 06:46 PM
Originally posted by Dazz
More then likley yeah, UT2003/4 will support 64bit in a patch Half life will and more likly HL2, should expect anything from 10~30% performance increase from 32 to 64bit

Why would you want 64bit support for old HalfLife its gonna be dead once HL2 comes out.

Dazz
09-14-03, 07:01 PM
It's mostly for servers and CS.

Fotis
09-15-03, 01:32 AM
Carmack said the Doom3 wouldn't benefit from 64bit but I guess its a matter of the engine used.

nVidi0t
09-15-03, 03:20 AM
I dont think I could ever support AMD again after putting up with the issues I had with my last system. I'm sure the Via chipset was to blame though.

Great benchmark scores though, looks to be an Intel beater for sure.