PDA

View Full Version : Nforce 2 Single channel faster then Dual???


Pages : [1] 2

ReDeeMeR
09-11-03, 06:22 PM
On http://www.nforcershq.com/ and read some in the forums

stncttr908
09-11-03, 06:59 PM
Nforce 2 Single channel faster then Dual???No.

Dazz
09-12-03, 07:17 PM
It is really, read the reviews, bare in mind the Athlon doesn't have the bandwith to support Dual DDR and will more then likly create some latency. However the nForce2 400 only supports the basic features, sound and no SATA.

CaptNKILL
09-12-03, 07:38 PM
How do I disable Dual Channel? Id like to see what the real difference is.

ChrisRay
09-12-03, 08:46 PM
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
How do I disable Dual Channel? Id like to see what the real difference is.

err You're motherboard should have its Dual Channel memory highlighted or have a 3rd memory bar away from the other 2.


Just use the memory side by side rather than in a DUal Channel config.

StealthHawk
09-12-03, 09:12 PM
Benchmarks done by various hardware sites have shown dual channel to be faster than single channel. Check old threads or use the search function in the forums.

Dazz
09-13-03, 03:49 AM
Yes, it's to do with the chip set, the nForce 400 is faster then the nForce 400 Ultra. So with the dual channal chipset to increase speed you need to use dual channel. However the nForce 400 is faster due to the layout of the board.

ReDeeMeR
09-13-03, 12:25 PM
If you read Nforcers forums it says that mobo's with MCP are faster then with MCP-T

ReDeeMeR
09-13-03, 12:28 PM
Originally posted by StealthHawk
Benchmarks done by various hardware sites have shown dual channel to be faster than single channel. Check old threads or use the search function in the forums.

That's old news, the new chips are actualy different.

Dazz
09-13-03, 12:30 PM
Nope you people are getting it confused.

nForce 2 Ultra 400 is faster in dual channel then single.
nForce 2 400 is single channel only and is faster then a nForce 2 Ultra 400 in dual mode.

ReDeeMeR
09-13-03, 08:39 PM
That's what I said:

MCP-T = nForce 2 Ultra 400

MCP = nForce 2 400

MCP > MCP-T

:)

borntosoul
09-14-03, 10:41 AM
i didnt know that :) i got my nforce 2 400 board and thought i was about 10% or so slower than the dual nforce 2, i didnt bother to read the reviews or test. so that good news for me atleast

CaptNKILL
09-14-03, 11:33 AM
Originally posted by ReDeeMeR
That's what I said:

MCP-T = nForce 2 Ultra 400

MCP = nForce 2 400

MCP > MCP-T

:)
You left out one important detail though.

MCP-T = Soundstorm (good) audio
MCP = Generic (ass) audio

:tongue2:

Dazz
09-14-03, 03:36 PM
And thats the trade off, although the MCP Audio an't that bad really i use it. I perfer it over my SB Audigy :D

ReDeeMeR
09-14-03, 06:30 PM
You can overclock higher with onboard audio disabled ;)

And I like EAX3 + SBA has bit higher quality audio.

Dazz
09-15-03, 07:06 AM
I'll end this here and now http://www.amdmb.com/article-display.php?ArticleID=244&PageID=3

ReDeeMeR
09-15-03, 03:46 PM
Pretty farked up eh? Well it's Nvidia, I kinda start to like them now, I mean my Ti4600 is pretty damn good compared to FX and my "budget" NF2 400 kicks high end :afro:

ChrisRay
09-15-03, 07:25 PM
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
You left out one important detail though.

MCP-T = Soundstorm (good) audio
MCP = Generic (ass) audio

:tongue2:

Hmm I have the Generic Onboard (ass) audio as you have described. Even tho I think it's fine.

Anywho, Does that mean I have an NForce 400 Ultra? or Nforce 400 Non Ultra.

I'm on an ABit NF7. which doesnt include soundstorm.

CaptNKILL
09-15-03, 08:52 PM
Originally posted by ChrisRay
Hmm I have the Generic Onboard (ass) audio as you have described. Even tho I think it's fine.

Anywho, Does that mean I have an NForce 400 Ultra? or Nforce 400 Non Ultra.

I'm on an ABit NF7. which doesnt include soundstorm.
Its probably the 400 non-ultra. Anything that doesnt have the Soundstorm chip (whether they call it that or not) is the MCP. If it has Soundstorm (NF7-S, A7N8X Deluxe) it has MCP-T which I guess is the 400 Ultra.....
I dont know, I bought my board as the Nforce 2 MCP-T chipset. They added the Ultra 400 crap after I bought it.... never in my life have I heard of a company changing the name of a product (especially a chipset) after its been out for 6 months. Why did they do this???

Rytr
09-15-03, 10:02 PM
The NF7-S version 2 board is the Ultra, IIRC. I almost got one but I already had the Soltek FRN2-L which had the Ultra chipset.

The dual channel supposedly gives you a 3-5% increase at a given clock setting. Like has been said it just does have the bandwidth like the Intel boards. Anyway, I can run a much higher fsb in non dual channel and make up the difference, 235fsb in single channel vs. 216fsb. For running any higher I need better cooling. Either of these settings are stable in my system.

ChrisRay
09-16-03, 11:00 AM
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
Its probably the 400 non-ultra. Anything that doesnt have the Soundstorm chip (whether they call it that or not) is the MCP. If it has Soundstorm (NF7-S, A7N8X Deluxe) it has MCP-T which I guess is the 400 Ultra.....
I dont know, I bought my board as the Nforce 2 MCP-T chipset. They added the Ultra 400 crap after I bought it.... never in my life have I heard of a company changing the name of a product (especially a chipset) after its been out for 6 months. Why did they do this???

K. Cuz Mine "is" a Version 2.0 board. Where 400 mhz FSb is supported. I noticed that I was getten decent Single Channel performance out of the box at 266 DDR,. (I decided to run synch to my FSB due to latency issues I was haven)

Where I was scoring 11,400 3dmark out of the box. (2001) which was about 400 faster than my Kt400 in Single channel.

What I'm not understanding here is. Should I expect a performance increase with Dual Channel DDR or not? Thats the entire reason I bought the board was to get 2 Dual Channel DDR later on.

Rytr
09-16-03, 04:04 PM
You can expect a slight increase running DC at the SAME FSB settings. It varies but I would guess somewhere around 3-5%. You can compensate for this running single channel but at a higher fsb. I have a system running DC for several months now and it performs well and is perfectly stable so I leave it alone (until the next time I get the urge to tweak it!).

Intel chipsets benefit more from DC than the current NF2 chipsets.

stncttr908
09-16-03, 07:54 PM
I can tell you from my experiences that dual channel is indeed faster. I had a mismatched stick of Corsair due to bad timing programming, and it would only run single channel. I noticed my apps running slower.

ReDeeMeR
09-17-03, 10:56 AM
DOH! that's because you're runing Nforce 2 400 Ultra, the Vanila 400 is faster then 400 Ultra.

kruiser
03-28-04, 08:09 AM
i don't see a pci bus divider option for overclocking - only the memory option. when you adjust memory divider does it also impact the pci bus?