PDA

View Full Version : the role of pixel shaders...

penner
09-13-03, 02:01 PM
this may be a dumb question but im an amateur so bear with me...

does pixel shading have any role other than making water effects look better? in most comparison shots ive seen between dx8 & dx9 PS the only difference i notice is in the water.

Skuzzy
09-13-03, 02:15 PM
Pixel/Vertex Shaders can be used for anything. It all depends on what you want to accomplish. They are ideal for generating psuedo-random effects, which can add a more life like appearance without using enormous amounts of static data.

Shaders are present in every DX game today. Every drawprim has to have one of each. The default pixel shader just combine alpha, diffuse, and a specular component to generate the color you see on the screen.

Pafet
09-13-03, 06:44 PM
And to this day, no ingame PS effect was impressive enough :o

Bumpmaps are the best usage i've seen and it's not that new, there are bumps in Tomb-Raider 3 (the non-PS kind)

people seem to care more for the pixel-sized quality differences than original and gameplay-enhancing new features. The potential in PS effects is hugh... and it's still in potential mode ;)

Edge
09-13-03, 06:50 PM
Pixel shaders CAN be used for many different types of effects, it's just that it's primarilly used for water effects in most games. But for example, Splinter Cell and Doom 3 use them for the shadows, and HL2 uses them for a large variety of surface shaders (which includes water).

DX9 is basicly an extension of DX8. You can do the same general type of effects in DX8 that you can do in DX9, but the DX9 stuff will look much better if done right. For example, in HL2 DX9 effects can make a character with reflection and diffusion maps, but in DX8 it can only make a reflection map. And of course, the water effects look better because they can use diffusion maps with DX9 (I might be wrong about that though, correct me if I am).