PDA

View Full Version : HL2, Geforce 4


Head_slinger
09-14-03, 06:01 AM
Im pretty pleased that HL2 is gonna run fairly decently on my GF4, :). However on many of the benchmark tests the GF4 uses the DX8.0 path i thought the GF4 was a DX8.1 card or was i mistaken?

EDIT: http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.html?i=1863&p=8

Thanx

Toaster
09-14-03, 06:07 AM
dx8.0 only goes up to ps1.3 (witch is what the gf4 supports)

dx8.1 needs ps1.4 (rad8500)

StealthHawk
09-14-03, 06:57 AM
Originally posted by Toaster
dx8.0 only goes up to ps1.3 (witch is what the gf4 supports)

dx8.1 needs ps1.4 (rad8500)

PS1.3 is part of DX8.1.

But yes, the DX8.1 path for HL2 requires PS1.4.

Head_slinger
09-14-03, 06:59 AM
ahh right. Damn. Is the IQ difference much from PS1.1 to 1.4?

Dazz
09-14-03, 07:22 AM
Not very much at all, hence the performance hit is very little, there is a big diffrence from 1.4 and 2.0 however.

Bopple
09-14-03, 07:28 AM
IQ difference is very little or so I heard.
Performance difference was about 10-15% in 3DMark03 and theoretical difference is 100% IIRC.(1.4 is faster)

Head_slinger
09-14-03, 07:40 AM
ahh, cool. Ill probably have a new gfx card by the time HL2 comes out anyway. Thats if its coming out after November.

Thanx for all the help.