PDA

View Full Version : Halo - newb questions - 640x480?


Gator
10-02-03, 10:34 AM
I'm reading of terrible reviews as far the game's programing, but that the game is still fun as hell. Now I have an AXP2600 on the way, combined with my GF4TI4400. What I want to know is is the game worth $50us + tax? And more importantly, will it run at 640x480 and still be fun and playable that way? I know, 640x480 is a HUGE sacrafice, but the bottem line is I'm not gonna enjoy a game where the FPS dips into the teens or lower :eek:

Halo at 640x480 - is it supported? Is it a nightmare to play that way or does it work perfectly fine?

Vash
10-02-03, 10:43 AM
I wouldn't worry, Gator. My PC runs it just fine (check specs below) at 1024x768 with all the details turned up. THERE IS SOME SLOWDOWN, but you can turn down the graphical options to compensate (and the slowdown only occurs when inside Covenant structures/vehicles and there's a lot of specularity going on). There is some tweaking that needs to be done (check the Halo impressions thread for some linkage) for the mouse and stuff, but it's definitely playable, tons of fun, and I haven't had a chance to try MP yet.


My system (no overclocking):

1.4Ghz Thunderbird C
1Gig Corsair TwinX PC 3200
Abit NF7-S 2.0 Nforce 2
GF4 Ti4600, latest release drivers
Vsync off (important)


It is a little slow in places where specularity's used a bunch, but I'm getting a Barton 2500+ soon, so I'm not worried too much about it. The only problems that I had getting it running was I have Reforce forcing the refresh rate to 75. At the moment, the game won't start if the refresh rate isn't what it's expecting (you can change what it's expecting on the command line). Other than that, it's been stable and looks great!

ragejg
10-02-03, 10:49 AM
ha ha, methinks now due to it's shader strengths, my AIW8500dv will prolly run this pretty good @ 8x6 on my tv... no need for AA @ 8x6 on a tv...

I'm gonna take the plunge here shortly...

Hunter32
10-02-03, 05:09 PM
You should be able to play it @ 1024x768. Of course turn off all AA/AF. I'm play it at 1024x768 with no problems at this time.
I refuse to play games @ 800x600. I haven't played a game at that res. since Voodoo2.

Gator
10-02-03, 09:29 PM
i finally got it tonight, works fine, not sure what everyoen is complaining about

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&postid=206470#post206470