PDA

View Full Version : Temperature tab in Detonator v5x.xx drivers...


Doctor Hades
10-11-03, 01:29 PM
Does anyone know how to activate the Temperature monitor tab in the GeForce FX 5600 Display Properties applet? I've seen pictures of it but for some reason I do have this enabled by default. I presume it can be forced on via a registry tweak.

Thanks in advance.

Deputy Doofy
10-11-03, 03:42 PM
http://www.vr-zone.com/reviews/NVIDIA/FX5800U/Properties-8.GIF

:confused:

volt
10-11-03, 04:05 PM
Try adding a DWORD (value of 3) to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak

Deputy Doofy
10-11-03, 07:55 PM
Originally posted by volt
Try adding a DWORD (value of 3) to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak

Tryed! nothing :/ Does the DWORD have to be called anything other than New Value #1 when u create a new one? yo.

Saint Lucifer
10-11-03, 08:05 PM
Try this if you're on Win2000/XP.

Just change the extension to .reg and run it.

Deputy Doofy
10-11-03, 08:24 PM
I now have Additional Information and AGP Settings.... Still no temp info :/

volt
10-12-03, 03:16 AM
Originally posted by Deputy Doofy
Tryed! nothing :/ Does the DWORD have to be called anything other than New Value #1 when u create a new one? yo.

Duh! I'm sorry :(
Create a new DWORD called CoolBits

I feel stupid :bash:

Doctor Hades
10-12-03, 03:41 AM
Perhaps someone who has this feature enabled could tell us what DWORD values they have in the registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\nVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak

and what their values are?

volt
10-12-03, 04:29 AM
Originally posted by Doctor Hades
Perhaps someone who has this feature enabled could tell us what DWORD values they have in the registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\nVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak

and what their values are?

CinematicPageState
CoolBits
NvCplAllowForceTVDetection
NvCplExposeWin2kDualView
NvCplThermalSettings
NvCplTvLocaleAutoDetect
OverlayPageState

Doctor Hades
10-12-03, 04:55 AM
Thanks for the info, Volt. What are their values though.

I'd already added the NvCplThermalSettings DWORD and assigned it a value of 1 (unless it's another value) but the temperature tab still does not appear. Oh well...

Deputy Doofy
10-12-03, 09:03 AM
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak]
"Coolbits"=dword:ffffffff
"NvCplEnableAGPSettingsPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAdditionalInfoPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableClearViewPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplThermalSettings"=dword:00000001



Tis whut i have done :/ nothing still.....

pars_andy
10-12-03, 10:19 AM
change the thermal dword setting to 20

Deputy Doofy
10-12-03, 01:26 PM
noooppee :(

http://www.hothardware.com/reviews/images/gffxshowcase/temptab.htm

Has anyone got it working with a 5900 with the latest drivers and open up the reg file copy and paste? :p

Sledge
10-12-03, 01:30 PM
This is what I have:

Deputy Doofy
10-12-03, 02:00 PM
:/ ahh never going 2 happen, ala pipe dream!..... :/

ricercar
10-12-03, 02:25 PM
Coolbits gives me a temperature for a NV35/FX 5900, but does not reveal the temperature tab for a NV34/FX 5200, or NV31/FX 5600.

This makes me cranky, because all NV18 and up have the thermal diode except NV25. All GeForce FX cards should be able to view the temperature.:(

Saint Lucifer
10-12-03, 02:57 PM
That's strange, Ricercar. I have a FX 5600 and I have a temperature section.

Edit: Hot damn! 100 posts!

ricercar
10-12-03, 03:10 PM
Hmm! Then it's very strange indeed.

I need another 5600 to test.
This morning I have no temperature tab in my Gainward FX 5200.
This morning I have the temperature tab in my eng. sample FX 5900 Ultra.

The Analog Kid
10-12-03, 03:11 PM
I have a FX 5600 and do not have a temprature section either. Don't know why , but I'm not going to die without it.

Deputy Doofy
10-12-03, 05:06 PM
Only guess is that not all cards have a sensor to read the temp :/ sisoft sandra'03 don't pick it up at all unlike my old gf3 :/

StefSom
10-12-03, 06:04 PM
I have a creative 5600 Ultra and I don't have a have a temperature section either.
Tried everything.

sean m
10-12-03, 07:19 PM
I have a BFG 5600 and the temputer panel is there.

sean m
10-12-03, 07:23 PM
Just checked my registry and in nvtweak section there is a dword string named NvCplThermalSettings with a value of 22.

Deputy Doofy
10-13-03, 01:51 PM
Originally posted by sean m
Just checked my registry and in nvtweak section there is a dword string named NvCplThermalSettings with a value of 22.

yeh we got dat thanks bye. :( bye.